Customer Reviews for

The Brotherhood (Precinct 11 Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 129 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyed it!

Very interesting book! Got my attention from page one and couldn't wait to keep going. This went into a territory I know nothing about such as cops and gangs. I learned a lot and enjoyed it. It was a great story of how God brings you through the hard times and will ...
Very interesting book! Got my attention from page one and couldn't wait to keep going. This went into a territory I know nothing about such as cops and gangs. I learned a lot and enjoyed it. It was a great story of how God brings you through the hard times and will be by your side no matter what. I do hope there is another book that will tell whats next for Boone.

posted by tatormc on July 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

To me it was a Bible study masquerading as a police procedural. I was disappointed, and glad it was a free book.

posted by dwgizmo on October 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 129 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    This was a big surprise!

    Interesting mystery. Believable characters and good plot. I didn't realize this was a Christian book when I ordered it, so it was a very pleasant surprise. I will definitely buy books #2 and #3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Must read

    This book was one I could hardly put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    THIS WAS A WELL WRITTEN BOOK. A GREAT READ, KEEPS YOU SPELL BOUN

    THIS WAS A WELL WRITTEN BOOK. A GREAT READ, KEEPS YOU SPELL BOUND. I WOULD READ MORE FROM THIS AUTHOR. KEEP THE GREAT WORK UP.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    This book only got interesting in the last 40 to 50 pages. There

    This book only got interesting in the last 40 to 50 pages. There was at least 50 pages accounting how the death of his family effected the lead character, Boone Drake. How many ways and times can we read this over and over.
    It will be difficult to read any other books in this series.
    Sorry Jerry, I am a big fan,but this left me wanting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Very good read!

    Very good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Good story

    I really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    Rush out and get it

    Wonderful book as was Series #2, I would recommend it to anyone of my family and friends

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good read

    It's a book that drags you in and won't let you go. I really enjoyed the series, although it's a children's book. A lot of 'blood & guts'.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2011

    I am not sure about it.

    I have not been able to really get into it. I have kept it and may try again later.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    First book in 50 years that i had no wish to complete reading. so bad.

    see above

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing

    I couldn't put it down. I love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    Great Read

    I am not much of a reader but I enjoyed this book more then any other book I have every read. If you are in Law Enforcement or interested in it then you need to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Cheers for brotherhood

    An overall good book. It drags a bit towards the end, but mostly an enjoyable read with many truths expressed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    Dealing with Tragedy

    Jerry Jenkins has some personal experience with the life of a policeman through his relationship with his father and brothers which was used to give the novel, The Brotherhood, credibility as he tells the story of Boone Drake in the months following the tragic loss of his wife and young son in a house fire. The period of grieving seemed to be accurately portrayed as he tells of one trying to continue on with his life while attempting to make sense of what he must endure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Very good read!

    Being a fan of the Left Behind Series I was really glad to find this book. It is written in the same style as that series and keeps you wanting to read more. I love the fact that Jerry Jenkins is not afraid to be honest about how hard it is to be faithful. The main character Boone Drake is confronted with a terrible situation that would make anyone crumble. God seems far away to Him and Boone is not sure He ever understood God or ever will again. Through the friends that surround him and one dedicated pastor Boone finds his way back. Boone is written as a real person - anyone who considers themselves a Christian will appreciate this book and the lesson that God is with us through it all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Police Thriller -- Suspense, Redemption and Forgiveness

    Jerry B. Jenkins in his new book "The Brotherhood" Book One in the Precinct 11 series published by Tyndale House Publishers takes us to Chicago late 2011.

    Boone Drake is a rookie cop for the Chicago Police Department. This is a dream he has nourished for a few years and now he is fulfilling his dream. He is going to make a difference and help clean up the streets of Chicago. However a tragic accident changes Boone's life and he deals badly the death of his loved ones and the guilt of believing he could have prevented it. This causes Boone to have anger toward God for allowing it to happen and deteriorates his faith. He then falls victim to routine and the bottom of a bottle. However, God is not going to leave one of His children so desperate. Boone meets a young lady and slowly begins to heal with the help of Pastor Sosa and his partner, Jack. Then the tension and suspense mount as Boone finds himself doing what he started out to do, putting an end to the gangs in Chicago.

    Where is God when there is tragedy? Does tragedy make us run from God or towards Him? This is one of the issues Boone has to face as well as many of us. Another issue is what do we do when "bad" people choose to repent and accept God's forgiveness? Do we have the mercy and our forgiveness to allow this or not? It is easy to allow for so-called "good" people but do we draw a line somewhere and say not you; you have done too much? "The Brotherhood" is a great read with Mr. Jenkins making us flip the pages as fast as we can because we want to know what happens with Boone and see if he can stand all the tests God puts him through. I do not recommend starting this book late at night because it will cost you sleep as you will not want to put it down. Mr. Jenkins is an excellent writer and knows how to twist your nerve endings as she tightens the suspense. I am looking forward to book two in this series.

    If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.

    To listen to 24 Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    A Book With an Impact!

    Boone feels like he has the start to an awesome life - what more could he ask for? He has the prettiest wife and the cutest kid. Ever since he was young he wanted to 'stop the bad guys' and he couldn't be happier with his job as a Chicago Policeman. After several life-altering events, Boone see's his life collapsing around him. He wants to turn from God, to hate Him, but when God continually shows his hand in his life, Boone sees that God isn't finished with him yet. He didn't bring trials into Boone's life just to watch him crumble, but to build him stronger and prepare him for things to come.

    I was wowed with this book. Just 50 pages into the story and I was in tears. My heart ached for what Boone was going through. Such an event would forever change a person - both inside and out - that it literally made me stop and think. The sting operation was really neat, too! I was cheering the OCD (Organized Crime Division) on as they plotted to pull a sting that would land them the biggest gangster leaders ever. Talk about some tension! And Jenkin's writing just brought everything to life!

    One thing that stood out to me toward the beginning of this book is how short life can be. Life is a vapor. There's no rule that says it's for sure that you will live to be a hundred. And some people live their lives as if they had that many years to spend, but often such is not the case. We can be here one day and gone the next. It makes you want to embrace every new morning with thanksgiving to God. We should never take a day for granted.

    The book was a bit graphic at times when explaining a certain characters wounds, which might disturb younger readers, but that is it. It holds great lessons and when you finally close the book on the last page.it stays with you. Jerry Jenkin's did a wonderful job on this book and I will be keeping my eye out for more of his books in the future.

    I reviewed this book for Tyndale House Publishing. It was not required that I give a positive review, but solely to express my own thoughts and opinions of this book, which I have done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    This was a really good book. It was very hard to put the book down. Can't wait for the 2 in the series to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    Great book by a great author

    This police thriller incorporates themes of faith, real life and tragedy in it. No easy answers here, no platitudes. Very interesting reading. You won't be disappointed. I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    Exciting Story!

    This work gives a look into the life of a young policeman in Chicago.It grabs your attention immediately & is emotionally challenging!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 129 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7