Customer Reviews for

The Brotherhood of the Holy Shroud

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

terrific Italian police procedural

The latest blaze in a series of suspicious fires at the Turin Cathedral over several decades concerns the chief of the Italian Art Crimes Department, Marco Valoni because he knows a great prize resides inside the church, the Shroud. The arsonists have always been found...
The latest blaze in a series of suspicious fires at the Turin Cathedral over several decades concerns the chief of the Italian Art Crimes Department, Marco Valoni because he knows a great prize resides inside the church, the Shroud. The arsonists have always been found with their tongues removed including the latest tongue-less suspect. Valoni begins to see a conspiracy of sorts, but not by whom. Valoni decides enough is enough as he fears there is more than just isolated arson behind the fires. He assigns his top talent to seek clues and begins to investigate scientists who have studied the Shroud over the years. His top art expert Sofia Galloni persuades Valoni to free the current jailed tongue-less suspect so they can trail him expecting he will return to his co-conspirators. Valoni learns that back in ancient times, King Abgar of Edessa sends his childhood friend Josar to Jerusalem to persuade Jesus of Nazarus to come to his kingdom to heal him of leprosy. Josar remains in Jerusalem as a disciple of Jesus. Years later he returns to Edessa with the Shroud, but his friend¿s heir demands he hand over the Shroud to him. Instead Josar cuts out his tongue so he cannot reveal where he hid the Shroud. Centuries later the Templars possessed the Shroud during the Middle Ages, but Valoni wonders whether some modern day descendents want it back. --- This is a terrific Italian police procedural that uses the Shroud of Turin as the motive for arson and attempted thefts. The story line is action-packed with fabulous subplots especially the biblical era tale. The cast is solid whether they are in ancient times or the present. Not just for the Brown crowd, THE BROTHERHOOD OF THE HOLY SHROUD is a delightful rendition using a modern day criminal investigation as the means to provide a deep thriller. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

who, now?

the plot isn't bad at all, but this book has way, way, way too many characters that are doing nothing in three distinct time periods. i'm sure some will find this book descriptive, lush and engrossing. i found it muddled.

posted by Anonymous on January 24, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Would recommend to anyone who loves religious thrillers

    I absolutely LOVE this book. I am now reading the Bible of Clay also by Julia Navarro. Both of these books are page turners and are very hard to put down!! She needs to write more books and FAST!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2008

    who, now?

    the plot isn't bad at all, but this book has way, way, way too many characters that are doing nothing in three distinct time periods. i'm sure some will find this book descriptive, lush and engrossing. i found it muddled.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    terrific Italian police procedural

    The latest blaze in a series of suspicious fires at the Turin Cathedral over several decades concerns the chief of the Italian Art Crimes Department, Marco Valoni because he knows a great prize resides inside the church, the Shroud. The arsonists have always been found with their tongues removed including the latest tongue-less suspect. Valoni begins to see a conspiracy of sorts, but not by whom. Valoni decides enough is enough as he fears there is more than just isolated arson behind the fires. He assigns his top talent to seek clues and begins to investigate scientists who have studied the Shroud over the years. His top art expert Sofia Galloni persuades Valoni to free the current jailed tongue-less suspect so they can trail him expecting he will return to his co-conspirators. Valoni learns that back in ancient times, King Abgar of Edessa sends his childhood friend Josar to Jerusalem to persuade Jesus of Nazarus to come to his kingdom to heal him of leprosy. Josar remains in Jerusalem as a disciple of Jesus. Years later he returns to Edessa with the Shroud, but his friend¿s heir demands he hand over the Shroud to him. Instead Josar cuts out his tongue so he cannot reveal where he hid the Shroud. Centuries later the Templars possessed the Shroud during the Middle Ages, but Valoni wonders whether some modern day descendents want it back. --- This is a terrific Italian police procedural that uses the Shroud of Turin as the motive for arson and attempted thefts. The story line is action-packed with fabulous subplots especially the biblical era tale. The cast is solid whether they are in ancient times or the present. Not just for the Brown crowd, THE BROTHERHOOD OF THE HOLY SHROUD is a delightful rendition using a modern day criminal investigation as the means to provide a deep thriller. --- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting take on the Templars.

    The story drags a bit initially but not that I am a little over half way through, the pieces come together. Without giving away the story, it begins at the time of Christ and traces the ownership and care of the Shroud of Turin from Jesus' death to modern times. The story includes what seem to be disconnnected events that eventually begin to make sense. Bear with the early part for the tension that builds.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    Another DaVinci Code type novel

    I enjoyed this book but then I like most historical intrigue/archaeological thriller type novels. The book jumps around somewhat due to the cast of characters and trying to cover both the modern events and the historical ones but overall is quite enjoyable. I will be getting the author's second book - The Bible of Clay - because I did enjoy this one and would like to see more of the characters. I would recommend to anyone who enjoys this genre.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Tbxgvao¿ristmasrra

    The 12 days of christmas

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    FANTASTIC

    This book was amazing. Highly recommend this one. Got better with every turn of the page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Very thrilling to read, with many twists and turns to the plot.

    Once the story got going it was hard to put this book down. I have read many books with similiar story lines and this is one of the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    UNIQUE TWIST

    The book offered a new spin on the shroud. Flashbacks into the ancient past that explained the present added to the sense of history, interest level, and drama and were highly effective. However, I was a bit amused at the idea that a secret Christian organization could exist that is powerful enough to control governments and financial institutions at a time when churches can run into legal difficulties if they erect a nativity scene on the front lawn. I enjoyed this book but was disappointed in the rushed ending. The main characters were abruptly dismissed and at least one loose end was never tied up. It was hinted throughout the book that there was an insider on the team, but the identity of the spy was never revealed. This was a good read, but it fell short of great at the end.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2007

    Better than Da Vinci Code

    I liked this book because offends nobody and because opposite to Da Vinci Code the history facts are correct. The writer is able to mix fiction with non-fiction in a very intelligent way. I bought this book while in France since everybody recommended and I was not disapointed it made sense all along and even when it is not as quick in the thriller as Da Vinci Code the story makes more sense all along. Good best seller. You will enjoy it. I am going to buy the next book if I find it in English. Julia Navarro is able to put it together without giving the same happy ending as other authors.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2007

    Wonderfully Enlighting:

    Best book since Dan Browns last one. Looking forward to more,you will love it too if you like history. Thank you B&N for having these great books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2006

    N. Cole - Love to read

    The history of the Shroud of Turin is the subject of this religious suspense thriller.The author tells the tale of the Shroud beginning with the resurrection of Christ to the Crusades, the Knights Templar and onward to the modern day. The detective inspecting suspicious fires in the cathedral where the Shroud is kept, is the Chief of Italian Art Crimes. He and his crew decide that there is a conspiracy to steal the treasure. The race to apprehend the thieves and to also protect the Shroud, kept my intense interest. This is a spellbinding book which I have enjoyed immensely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2006

    Compelling story, lavishly detailed

    Absorbing mix of fact and fiction, The Brotherhood of the Holy Shroud is a history lesson within a mystery. Julia Navarro's journalistic instincts are evident in this fascinating re-telling of the origin of the Holy Shroud of Turin. The story is so rich in detail, with historical characters so vividly portrayed, that the reader can forget these events happened centuries ago. Skillfully relating crimes in present-day Turin, Italy with the ancient storyline connects a scheme that deals with secret societies, hidden relics and ancient intrigue to resist the passage of time. This thriller should not be missed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2