Customer Reviews for

Brothers in Arms (Bluford High Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Breanna

This ihs a really good book... this ihs one of my favorites

posted by Anonymous on January 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

The worst book in the series

I hated this book so much, and i usually love the books. I do NOT recommend this book, but i will recommend Blood is Thicker and Search for Safety!!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on October 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Paul Langan & Ben Alirez have done it again ladies and gentl

    Paul Langan & Ben Alirez have done it again ladies and gentlemen.(mostly gentlemen). Martin Luna is a troubled teenager who soon realizes life is too short to go down the wrong path when his little brother is shot and killed right before him. Martin lives in a Chicano neighborhood and hangs out with his trouble making friends also known as the “The Family”. Martins mother doesn’t want to lose another son so she moves them  to a different school and neighborhood. Martin’s first day of school is a rough one until he meets Vicky (one of the smartest and prettiest girls in school. But he soon realizes that one of “The Family” is guilty for the death of Martin’s little brother Huero. If I had to rate it I would give it 4.5 because to some people the storyline is great, the energy of the book is great, everything is great in my opinion. His  troubles were only the start of a new chapter. Seriously this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Good

    Good book. Recomend to anyone trying to find their way out of trouble and the hood lifestyle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Wonderful read

    The book hits home to what the kids in the city see every day some of them see this kind of life as normal and it gives great in-sight to what will be expected of you and how making good decision Vs bad ones will change your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    R.I.P HUERO

    Marton is a cool kid.he never gave any one any trouble.He had friends, chago and frankie, that he always hung out with. Martons little brother huero all ways wonted to hang wit his brother. Then one day tragedy struck. Huero followed him one day . Then a white car rassed up the allie . Huero on his bike peddling as fast as he could.By time huero got to marrtin the white van started shooting. One of the bullets hit huero and killed he died right in his brothers arms. Marton wanted revenge. His mom noticed a change in him. He joined a gang, fought at parties, and stayed away from home.His moms friend officer martinez tryed to keep him from goin down the wrong path. Martons mom was so woried that she would lose him to so she moved him to bluford high school. His friends found out who shot huero and told martin he had a choice to make to kill them or walk away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Cool book!

    This book is great. Martin had a problem. His little brother was shot and he wanted to get revenge on the shooter. We know who the shooter is, but you need to find out by reading this book. Will Martin make the right choice? Will he get revenge?
    By: KK The Boss, Young Money, B Weezy, and Stargirl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    Brother in Arms

    Have you ever read a book that started slow but the ending was great? In the book Brother in Arms this is the case. This book is a quick read that starts slow but ends with action. When Martin Luna's little bother Huero is shot and killed Martin wants revenge. His buddies or gang are ready to help him get it too. Then all of a sudden his mom makes Martin move leaving his buddies and his school. Martin is rebellious about moving but keeps in touch with his friends who are trying to find the person who shot Huero. Will they find him? Will they kill him? You'll have to read the book to find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2008

    My Book Review

    This book is a very oustanding and fun book to read. I enjoyed it the most because it has lots of action in it. For example, theres shooting and also gang violence. I loved how the main character, Martin was so caring about his brother by trying to get revenge on the guy who killed his brother but that had all changed toward the end of the book because he meets a very nice girl named Vicky. This was one of the best books I've read and definitely recomend it to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    Great

    In my opinion this book was pretty good. I was expecting a better ending, but at the same time theres a sequel so I'll just wait for that. Towards the beginning it was moving but not as fast then the middle was getting better. I liked it. Not one of my favorites, but it was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    Marvelous!

    This book was like amazing. i am not used to reading books were people died and there's gang's etc. But this was awesome. The suspense is way beyond normal. Also the metaphor's and smilies in this book are so discriptive and really help me understand the charater is talking about. My personal opinion is that i really didnt like the ending. It was kinda expected, i want more. but al in all this was such a good book. MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    Are you your brothers keeper?

    Martin Luna A young hispanic teenage living the of a son, an older brother to his younger and only brother Huero,and being in a gang with his bestfriend Frankie. One afternoon hanging outside becomes fatal and will change Martin's life forever, there's a drive-by and shot out and it wasn't Martin or Frankie who got shot only an innocent person in the wrong place and wrong time, but someone close and dear to Martin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1