Customer Reviews for

A Brother's Journey: Surviving a Childhood of Abuse

Average Rating 4
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Worth reading

Echos of David's book but from a different time (post David).

posted by 1000111 on February 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Web Of Lies

Richard waited about 30 years after his brother's book to write this. Many of the things aren't true according to David's stories and despite the fact that there is a quote from David on the front, I don't believe it because David said he never talked to any of his brot...
Richard waited about 30 years after his brother's book to write this. Many of the things aren't true according to David's stories and despite the fact that there is a quote from David on the front, I don't believe it because David said he never talked to any of his brothers after the death of his mother and she died in the late 80s, early 90s and this book was published in 2005.

Although it is heart wrenching and sad, it resembles David's story all too much and I don't think that he should have waited this long if it were real.

David's books triumph this book any day and I believe Richard made the whole thing up for money.

posted by a_david_fan__ on October 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    Worth reading

    Echos of David's book but from a different time (post David).

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Great book but really sad

    This was a really good book and i really liked it, except for it was really sad! :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Sad

    I think no child should go through this karma will get their mother

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2012

    "A Bother's Journey Surviving a Childhood of Abuse" is

    "A Bother's Journey Surviving a Childhood of Abuse" is a sad story of a boy named Richard suffering a childhood of abuse. After David from "A Child Called It" left Richard replaced him and was tortured for several years bu his mother. Before David was taken away Richard acted like mother's "little Nazi." When David left Richard was terrified he was going to take his place but deep down inside he knew it was going to happen and he couldn't do anything about it. Richard spent most of his time avoiding his mother's beating while studying her every move from afar. Richard wanted an upper hand. He came to the conclusion that his mother suffered from a mental disorder and the drinking just made it worst. Mother always found a way to discourage Richard's hope and it worked. Richard felt alone in the world without anyone to help him. Richard's father, David and his older brother Ross had abandon him. He slowly began to loss hope and hated everyone. Everyone knew what was happening to him but no one did anything to help. Soon after Richard discovered that he was never going to win this war between his mother he committed suicide. All he ever wanted was for his mother to live him but that was never going to happen.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    very good read!!

    I loved the story. It is so sad and breaks your heart but is so well written. I have read all his brothers books "A child called it" and so on. Its really nice to get another look at thier lives from another point of view. A must read if you have ever read A child called it. 4 thumbs up!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    Incredible book

    Sad, but a very great read shows you how much courage everyone has to overcome large obsticles

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2009

    Great book

    I personally like this book, the detail is so well put, and I couldn't and didn't want to put the book down, each chapter kept me on the edge of my seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2007

    Is he guilty forever??

    This is a very good book, a truly personal account. However, I do hope there is a follow-up. The ending is a bit cliff hanger-ish and you have to wonder how he got where he is now. I am definitely getting the books about Dave, his brother. I do not have children but have had to let go of a friend whose parenting style bordered on abuse. You can't talk to those types of people because she kept throwing in my face that I do not have children, so I wouldn't know how to raise them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2006

    A harsh reality

    This book was about child abuse. It consisted o a family of five boys. Each of the boys held a certain position to their mother. David,at the beginning of the book was not even considered family. He recieved all the abuse.Richard,at the beginning was known as her 'little Nazi.' Ross was the 'handsome one' and Scott was the 'man of the house.' Keith was the baby. There appointed roles began to switch when David was removed from the house and Richard became her target of abuse. Richard was now in David's posititton, not considered part of the family. There are no clues of where the father is and the book mentions that the grandma is kept out of family events. She is also not allowed to have any visits alone with the boys. The authorities try to step in a few times, but the boys are brainwashed into not telling what really is going on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2006

    Review of A BROTHER'S JOURNEY

    In the memoir, A BROTHER'S JOURNEY by Richard B. Pelzer it discusses the horrible experiences the author had to encouter as a child. The point of this novel is to inform others about child abuse and the harsh reality those children have to face everyday. The abuse the author took on, starting at the age of 7, affected him in many ways, emotionally, physically, spiritually and mentally. The author had great courage to reopen the wounds of his childhood for others to discover. It's strength is that it's a powerful and discriptive book that tugs on your heart and evokes sympathy. This novel is aimed to give others the strength and courage to take a stand against child abuse. The only weakness it contains is that it needs to give a little more backround information, maybe pertaining to his father or the relationship his mother had with her mom. Other than that it was a great read that kept me entertained.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2005

    Finaly

    As if we all couldn¿t tell that there was more to the Child Called IT story ¿ now we have the truth. Life continued for several of the brothers and was worse for some. A Brother¿s Journey is well written and keeps the readers attention. Unlike A Child Called IT ¿ I couldn¿t put this one down. I do hope there is another book coming from Richard Pelzer that takes us through his teenager years and after. What happened to the child that became a teenager and so on? Rick- NY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2