Customer Reviews for

A Brother's Journey: Surviving a Childhood of Abuse

Average Rating 4
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The really disgusting brother was Scott who was still abusing Ri

The really disgusting brother was Scott who was still abusing Richard at 17.
Like David's books Richard's story is just too detailed, too surprising, too complex and has too much psychological depth to have been fabricated.
The book will grip you from beginning to end b...
The really disgusting brother was Scott who was still abusing Richard at 17.
Like David's books Richard's story is just too detailed, too surprising, too complex and has too much psychological depth to have been fabricated.
The book will grip you from beginning to end but be prepared to be a little disappointing by the ending, there is obviously another book waiting in the wings. I am sorry that Pony felt ill to see Richard receive praise for his bravery, but I, on the other hand, felt ill for the obvious reasons when I read this book. I felt ill knowing that these boys suffered so much at the hands of someone who was supposed to protect them. It's about time one of David's brother stepped up to the plate and admitted the abuse occured and this book is a shining achievement. I am disgusted with anyone who could read this book and then deny the truth it expresses.
From my own personal experience of an abusive mother the pattern that both Dave and Richard describe and their responses to it are psychologically accurate.
But the interesting part of this book is the insight it provides for psychologists, social workers and the families of abused children concerning the impact of abuse on the more favored children in the family. Most books about child abuse don't get into this aspect of family life, and I found the added perspectives to be very revealing and interesting.    

posted by XXXOOOBookwormOOOXXX on September 30, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A Web Of Lies

Richard waited about 30 years after his brother's book to write this. Many of the things aren't true according to David's stories and despite the fact that there is a quote from David on the front, I don't believe it because David said he never talked to any of his brot...
Richard waited about 30 years after his brother's book to write this. Many of the things aren't true according to David's stories and despite the fact that there is a quote from David on the front, I don't believe it because David said he never talked to any of his brothers after the death of his mother and she died in the late 80s, early 90s and this book was published in 2005.

Although it is heart wrenching and sad, it resembles David's story all too much and I don't think that he should have waited this long if it were real.

David's books triumph this book any day and I believe Richard made the whole thing up for money.

posted by a_david_fan__ on October 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    The really disgusting brother was Scott who was still abusing Ri

    The really disgusting brother was Scott who was still abusing Richard at 17.
    Like David's books Richard's story is just too detailed, too surprising, too complex and has too much psychological depth to have been fabricated.
    The book will grip you from beginning to end but be prepared to be a little disappointing by the ending, there is obviously another book waiting in the wings. I am sorry that Pony felt ill to see Richard receive praise for his bravery, but I, on the other hand, felt ill for the obvious reasons when I read this book. I felt ill knowing that these boys suffered so much at the hands of someone who was supposed to protect them. It's about time one of David's brother stepped up to the plate and admitted the abuse occured and this book is a shining achievement. I am disgusted with anyone who could read this book and then deny the truth it expresses.
    From my own personal experience of an abusive mother the pattern that both Dave and Richard describe and their responses to it are psychologically accurate.
    But the interesting part of this book is the insight it provides for psychologists, social workers and the families of abused children concerning the impact of abuse on the more favored children in the family. Most books about child abuse don't get into this aspect of family life, and I found the added perspectives to be very revealing and interesting.    

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    You must read

    Excellent book,highly recommend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Wonderfully Written!

    I think this was a beautiful addition to his brother's book. I think Richard Pelzer did a wonderful job on this memior and was very careful not to try to step on his brother David's toes. He was looking for a way to have closure in his life too. The mother was evil and most people would wonder about David's siblings and what happened to them. This book also helped me understand how sick their mother really was. I would recommend this book to everyone. This book was hard to put down. Would love to one day find out what happened to the rest of the Pelzer children!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A great follow-up to Dave Pelzer's books!

    As I read Dave Pelzer's books, I often wondered what his brothers were up to and whether they were also abused by their mother. Richard Pelzer's book is honest and emotional. He does not hold back and shares with the reader his most shameful thoughts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Outstanding Book

    This book was amazing. The courage that it took to write a book like this and to relive all the horrid moments in his life is a feat in itself. So in depth you could almost picture what he went through. Hard to put this book down. I applaud Richard for the courage and strength that it took to write this book but moreso the courage and strength it took for what he lived. I cried for all that he endured.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A must Read

    This book was written from the brother of the author David Pelzer "Child Called it" and the book carries on from where things were left when David was taken away from the house. Davids brothers is the next to get "mothers" wrath. It is almost unbelieveable what these boys went through and barely survived. Very good series of books!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    More then good.

    This book was a really good book. I found that it was better then ALL of Dave Pelzers books. This had a better point-of-view and more details. I found that it was crude what the mother did to her child but I bet it made him feel to good to give his side of the story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2008

    Insightful and heart-wretching

    I've read Dave Pelzer's memoirs so I was avid to read the memoirs of his younger brother. I read an editorial review that said that the story was horrific like a Stephen King novel. I don't know if I would go that far with the abusive accounts. If anything was horrific it was the abuse Dave Pelzer recieved by his mother. Besides that trivial point, they story was heart-wretching. Reading how Richard was beaten until he was unconscious was hard to read. I work in the social service field and I like reading memoirs like these because they give insight into the feelings and thought processes of the victims experiencing the abuse. Richard's memoir was very insightful into the mind of an abused child and I appreciate him taking the courage to write it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2008

    Intense

    Richard is an inspiring person and I find it very brave for both brother's to face their demons head on and share their story with the world. This book is a little different than the first....this brother fights back, deals with feelings of guilt. I can relate more with him. I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2008

    A reviewer

    A Brother¿s Journey, written by Richard B. Pelzer, the brother of Dave Pelzer who wrote the book A Child Called ¿IT¿. It was written in New York, Boston and printed in the United States of America, January 2005. Overall the book is worth reading because who would have ever thought a mother would treat her children like some type of animal and get away with it. You¿re always going to have your ups and downs with your family, if you look on the bright side and stay positive you¿ll make it through and come out as a stronger person. A Brother¿s Journey is a book based on Richard life from a young child to a teenager. In every detail he describes his life and what his mom put him through, hell. He remembers being his mom Nazi when David 'his brother' was in the house, ¿In order to stay where I was, I had to keep him down¿ '19'. And how he always used to get him in trouble and make up lies so he wouldn¿t get hit or beaten half to death. When their mother made David perform terrible activities or punishments, Robert was the first one to laugh and made sure it was always David and never him. ¿As long as David was still around, I felt almost safe, knowing that Mom would much rather beat him senseless or abuse David than me.¿ '17'. When David left the horrid house his Mom had a new target, Robert. She would make sure Robert was embarrass when he went to school and felt lower than what he was, and she did a good job of doing so. She made him wear the same two outfits every year even if they had the smell of blood, urine or throw up on it. He was allowed to eat after his brother Keith was finish. Here¿s the catch, she¿ll take both of their plates away when his brother was done so he only had a couple of seconds to eat and get full. Robert lived a life how a child should not have been brought up. Beaten half to death, smelly, getting severe punishments over little things, staying up late in fear because of his mom, sleeping with his eyes open, punched and kicked all over his body, getting his face slammed on the concrete ¿¿she grabbed the hair on the front of my head and shoved my head into the concrete¿ the sound of the bone hitting cement rings in my mind, even till this day¿I could taste the metal fillings in my teeth and salt.. I could tell that my hair was wet with blood¿ '200-201', is an example of what he went through on a day to day bases living with his mom. Even through all this trouble and being mistreated by his ¿mother¿ he found happiness ¿A place where his immortal father lives, a place known as heaven, a place called home¿ '262'. Throughout the book Robert apologies for the way he treated David, but the way he was raised forced him to mistreat his sibling so it wasn¿t totally his fault. I like the book because Robert doesn¿t leave out any details about his past life. Even though he¿s ashamed of it, he wants the world to know and in his heart he wants his brother to forgive him. There¿s so many details you need to know about the Pelzer brothers and by reading A Brother¿s Journey will give you a better understanding of how harsh their life really was. So take the journey with Robert and I can assure you it will be an experience you¿ll never forget.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    amazing book...sad story line, though

    This was an amazing book, probably one of the best memoirs. It's about a boy named Richard, and his mother abused his brother. Until one day the social services took his brother away, leaving him with his mom. He had three other brothers but his mom never hurt them. His mother started to abuse him, treating him as bad as she treated David. At the age of 8, he was taught to fear and run away from his mom. He was given food only when she wanted to give it to him. She beat him to an inch of his life. Richards¿s friends ignored what went on in their friend¿s home life. Sometimes they got to see their friend beaten, but just blocked out the horrible images. You must read the book to find out how is deals with it, and how he gets out, or stays in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2005

    Loved the courage of this child

    It Seems like everyone is trying to compare him with his brother. It shouldn't matter who got beaten the worse, their both strong and brave because they survived. I think the brothers should have help each other alot more. And their dad was a disgrace. It's just ashamed the community let this happen, And did not put her in jail for all the harsh stuff she did and they also had proof of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2005

    Through the Looking Glass of A Child Called 'It'

    A Child Called 'It' moved the world to appreciate the extent that child abuse can take . . . and the need to do more to stop it. Over 2 million copies of that vivid memoir have been sold. In that story, Dave Pelzer described the role his brothers were forced to play in his abuse. Younger brother Richard was a particular problem as he would tell lies about Dave that led to more beatings by their mother. But Richard would also leave food for the starving Dave. In A Brother's Journey, Richard tells his perspective both on what happened to Dave, his guilt for his role, and how the family functioned after Dave was taken away to a foster home. In limited ways, Richard was selected by their mother to replace Dave as the butt of her alcoholic rages. Although his abuse was horrific, it failed to be as bad as Dave's. Thank God for that. But the interesting part of this book is the insight it provides for psychologists, social workers and the families of abused children concerning the impact of abuse on the more favored children in the family. Most books about child abuse don't get into this aspect of family life, and I found the added perspectives to be very revealing and interesting. Naturally, no one can read this book (or A Child Called 'It') without wondering how a grandmother, a father, neighbors or the school could have permitted this to go on so long. The lesson seems to be that if you suspect even the possibility of abuse, you'd better do something. What you see is probably less than 1% of the problem. Professionals can learn from this book the importance of on-going observation and the need to build trust in those who are suspected of being abused. The abusers will have terrified the abused with all kinds of lies to keep them quiet . . . and not seek help. One of the most fascinating parts of this book is Richard's description of how hard it was for him to realize that he could stop his mother physically. You will be haunted by the two occasions when Dave reaches out to Richard and the family . . . and how those turned out. If you are looking for a story to top A Child Called 'It', you will be disappointed. If you want to better understand what you learned from A Child Called 'It', I strongly recommend that you read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2005

    Now we know!

    So many of us wondered what happened to the other boys in the Pelzer family. What did THEY think? Did the mother abuse them too? Did anyone outside the home know? How did they survive? This book gives another perspective on what happened behind closed doors in the California home. Well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2005

    The Perfect Book

    I think this book is soo awesome. It,like the other books by David Peltzer, is an awesome book of a boy who was just trying to get by and do whats right. It ust have taken a lot to write the book...but PROPS to Richard!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2005

    A touching book

    This book was one of the most heart breaking books because a child was growing up in a home without love and struggled in his life. this book is one of the best that i have read and i read it over and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2