Customer Reviews for

Brothers in Arms (Bluford Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Breanna

This ihs a really good book... this ihs one of my favorites

posted by Anonymous on January 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

The worst book in the series

I hated this book so much, and i usually love the books. I do NOT recommend this book, but i will recommend Blood is Thicker and Search for Safety!!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on October 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Breanna

    This ihs a really good book... this ihs one of my favorites

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    This is a good book

    This is a great book because i can relate on it and feel for other people because this stuff can happen to them

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Greatest book in the world

    Very good book strong and sad mintute to minute your heart is racing what is the protagnainst going to do next

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    It's great!

    It's great!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    awesome book

    this book is good for teens who like drama. Brother in arms as tragities that gets martin in a bunch of trouble because he wont to killed the person who killed his brother in the ally.If you lost someone close to you and you tried to find revenge you can relate to how this character is feeling is feeling . The mom try to move to get him away from his friends because she think he is going down the wrong path.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Great

    BEST BOOK EVER U SHOULD READ IT !!!!!! LIKE NO JOKE :):)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Brothets in Arms

    I read this book in 3days it iis wonderful. The you read this book the better it gets.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    I do recommed for everybody to read this book!

    Brother's in Arms is a heart touching story about a boy and his brother, growing up with a hard life that they carry in their memories. Hakeem is a very loving person who tries to take revenge on the boys who killed his little brother. This book is by far the best book I have ever read and I am looking forward to reading all the bluford high series I know the will be very interesting. I love the way the author make's this series unexpected and as a real life story, as soon as you start reading the book get interesting! I absolutely love this book I truly recommend teens to read these series it has affected my life in some ways and I promise you will fall in love with it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2010

    Right Decision

    Martin was a cool guy to hang around if u actually knew him. His mom did like the friends he hung around because she thought they were gangbangers. Martins
    brother Eric also known as Huero loved hanging wit Marty even when he didnt want hinm to. One day Huero was wanting to see wat Marty was doing. Then everything went wrong. Someone in a white sedan
    came up the alley and shot at Marty and the homies and ended up shooting Huero. Laying their motionless Marty ran and held his brother in his arms as the blood from his head ran down his hand. Marty
    wanted revenge. To keep from losing another son his mom quickly moved across town. He had to attend Bluford High School where he met a beautiful girl name Vicky. When the homies found out who killed
    Huero Marty was faced with a decision. Kill the person who took his brothers life or continue to live the good life. He payed for not shooting the guy but it was the right decision

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    Brothers in Arms Book Review

    Martin Luna, a teenage boy who always chooses his gang over his little brother goes through hard decisions. His younger brother gets shot and passes away, so it causes Martin to be a cross roads. Martin has to choose if he wants revenge or his friends, his mother, or a pretty girl named Vicky.

    Well here it is, I absolutely love this book. It was one of my favorite. All teens should read it because it says how to deal with problems everyday in high school. The book used a lot of description which made me feel like I was there and I was going through the problems with him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2009

    The Brothers In Arms Book Review

    Have you ever avoided something but when it's gone you realize how bad you needed it? Well the book Brothers In Arms is a good example of that. This book is about a boy named Martin Luna and he chooses his homeboys over his little brother Huero witch mean light-skinned in Spanish. But one day his brother comes looking for him to try to hang out with him But Martin chases him away. As Huero is leaving an all white Sudan is coming towards them. So Huero comes back to warn them. But they are faster than him. As he was riding his bike he jump into Martins hands and he is shot in the head. He dies in Martins own hands. But it turns out the bullet was meant for Frankie Martins older friend he is a gang-banger. Martin really needs Huero to survive. He changes schools he moves his old friends are breaking into his house and hunting him down. It was a good book, but I didn't like how they used the Spanish words and didn't tell you what they meant. Martin Luna is strong and tough. He is dealing with a lot at home. He does not know what to do with him-self. He is lost and stuck on a two way street. I give this book 3 strong dejected, sturdy, and sorrow. The conflict is Frankie beats up Martin and hunting him down. I think the theme of this book is to be careful and watch who you hang out with. But overall it was a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Brother in Arms is one of the best books I've ever read, and could not put it down

    Imagine something very tragic has occurred and you're little brother is gone! This is the situation that Martin Luna is faced with in the book Brother in Arms.
    I think this book is a very good book. Here are some reasons why I think this; this book is very realistic with bullies and problems kids face in school. Another reason why I think this is because Martin Luna steps up to the bullies in school.
    The main character (Martin Luna) has an extremely short temper with Latino heritage.
    There are two types of conflict in this book, Man Vs. Man and Man Vs. Himself. The reason it is Man Vs. Man is because there is bullying and fighting. The reason it is Man Vs. Himself is because Martin needs to decide whether to make a terrible choice that will haunt him forever or make the right choice and make things right. I would highly recommend reading this book, it is a heart-pounding, action-filled book; and is an extraordinarily good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2009

    brothers in arms

    Do you want to read an awesome book? Then read brothers in arms. It is full of challenges and anger. Some scenes with anger are when martin has to move to a different part of the city. There're also some happy scenes. For example martin seeing the girl of his dreams. These are only a few reasons to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    Brothers in Arms

    This is one of the Bluford High Series. All are aesthetically pleasing and fun reads!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    great book to read

    this book was really great.
    it really had me going and i could picture myself living it like if it was happing to me.
    i really injoyed reading it and it really got me emotinal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best books i ever read!!!

    I got introduced to this book because of one of my friends. I honestly only liked to read scary books and scary stories to tell in the dark. But after i read this book...i changed my mind about my favorite aurthor and favorite books. Because now BLUFORD SERIES took over. This book has everthing in it!! Drama, killing, crying, and much more!! But what i like about it is that i can actually relate to this book. It's just so realistic!! It felt like if i was one of the characters!!
    This book made me cry, laugh, get mad, and most improtantly it made me think of my family. And about what im doing in life..like getting in trouble alot..and getting tickets..and getting suspended..and also getting expeled from schools. So for the first time i thought to myself..is what im doing going to get me far..should i stop getting in trouble..what should i do..and i did the right thing. I go to class now, i do my work, i have a part time job to help out my mom, and most importantly graduated from middle school which i wasn't going to.
    This book has really changed my life.=]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2008

    This book is a very great book

    Martin Lunas has got his in some deep trouble. Just a few months ago his little brother was killed in a drive-by shooting. Martin was looking for revenge. So Martin's mother had to move to another place,were he has to go to a new school Bluford High. Once there Martin meets a girl who he falls in love with.Now with someone he really cares for on one side of him and his problems on the other side of him, Martin is stuck with his life hanging on by a string. Which will Martin do, the right thing with Vicky or the wrong with thing and look for revenge?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2008

    Border between brothers

    Martin Luna has just gone through a tragedy he lost his only brother.Now he wants to get revenge his boys say they got his back.Martin has to decide weather he wants to be with his mom and with the girl he loves or being in danger with friends.This story is one of the best I have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2008

    Zach Stevens

    This book is really great. It's kind of interesting how Paul Langan and Ben Alirez make it seem like they know exactly whats going on in teenage life. they have the same emotions as some kids i know have and i'm 15. it's crazy to me how they do this but i dont mind because it's very entertaining. I dont read much. When my teacher assigned me this book i said oooooh here we go again another dumb book. I was wrong. The book took me in and i read it in two days. Great job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2008

    One of the best books i have read in a long time!

    This book is about Martin Luna, a couple of months ago some one killed his little brother, so Martin is so mad that he stops caring for everything. His mom gets so worried that she decides to move. So Martin moves to Bluford High School, were he meets this girl named Vicky, he thinks that she is the smarts, prettiest girl that he ever meet. Then he meets Steve who he hates. One day he and Martin get into a fight and they blame it on Martin because Steve is the captain of the football team. Then he finds out who killed his little brother. So Martin has a chose to kill the person how killed his little brother or not?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3