Customer Reviews for

Bruce

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good book, but.........

Have always been a big Boss fan but after reading this very longggggg book, this is what I have realized. Just another entertainer who wags their finger and tongue at all those greedy capitalist and at the same time throws people in and out of his circle without a care ...
Have always been a big Boss fan but after reading this very longggggg book, this is what I have realized. Just another entertainer who wags their finger and tongue at all those greedy capitalist and at the same time throws people in and out of his circle without a care how it affected them emotionally or financially. Also the occasional bouts of abuse toward women including physical has left me with a very bad taste in my mouth. I know, I know, he's only human but gee maybe I wish now I didn't know what kind of a human. Genius yes but someone I really admire now? Not anymore. But it was a well written book if a bit too long.

posted by Anonymous on November 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Well written interesting bio of Springsteen. Helps the reader u

Well written interesting bio of Springsteen. Helps the reader understand how he developed his vailed socialistic, anti-American views that have made him an iconic figure for the left.

posted by 4239724 on November 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Good book, but.........

    Have always been a big Boss fan but after reading this very longggggg book, this is what I have realized. Just another entertainer who wags their finger and tongue at all those greedy capitalist and at the same time throws people in and out of his circle without a care how it affected them emotionally or financially. Also the occasional bouts of abuse toward women including physical has left me with a very bad taste in my mouth. I know, I know, he's only human but gee maybe I wish now I didn't know what kind of a human. Genius yes but someone I really admire now? Not anymore. But it was a well written book if a bit too long.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Sadly disappointing

    I expected much more from this book, particularly given Carlin's rare access to Bruce and his inner circle; there is little contained within than fans have not already read or heard. Everything starts ok, but once Carlin reaches the "Born in the USA" era the book goes into overdrive and completely blows through the 80s, 90s and 2000s with little more than topical detail.

    This also borders on fan boy puff piece, barely touching upon the more controversial aspects of Bruce's life. The lengths he went to fail his draft physical (writing that he was a "homo"), for example, are not mentioned, nor is the fact that he was drafted at all except for a cursory sentence in the 80s chapter. Or his decision to go acoustic at the MTV Plugged sessions...that concert and its subsequent album are not even mentioned.

    Add to this Carlin's misquoting of several of Bruce's lyrics throughout the book, and mosr fans will leave disappointed.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Candid and Raw Look at the Life of a Musical Genius

    Where does musical genius originate? From deep within... which is what is seen in this sweeping biographical book. A candid raw look from not only Bruce's perspective but those around him. Fortunately, Bruce wrestling with his own internal demons has given us some of the most prolofic music of our generation. Don't look for a sugar coated bio....the raw honesty is insightful. A 'must' read for any fan.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Well written interesting bio of Springsteen. Helps the reader u

    Well written interesting bio of Springsteen. Helps the reader understand how he developed his vailed socialistic, anti-American views that have made him an iconic figure for the left.

    2 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended!

    A great read that cover enough but doesn't dwell too much on any aspect of his life. A must read for true Bruce fans!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    Changed my personal opinion of the Boss

    I have always been a fan of Bruce and the E Street Band. Their cohesiveness and artistic camaraderie has always combined for phenomenal performances and recordings. I often felt that this kinship is what made them special. After reading this book, however, my opinion of Bruce is now tarnished. I have seen a manipulative side of him , treating his closest friends as disposable in order to meet his needs. While I still enjoy the performances and the music, I no longer hold him in the same high regard as a human being.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    S y ugtg g evt aqs$ d fcr dp

    Sdrep,
    Qpqpqll
    Ut
    Pp
    N
    ?
    ?q
    plq hq
    ?l
    L

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Hunter

    Brufe n come on were going back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2013

    Good look at Bruce

    This is mostly a good, positive look at Bruce. But we do see a side where he can be tough and demanding and would be difficult to work for. But, overall, it's a portrayal of a hard-working guy who worked for everything he earned. A pretty complete look at Bruce, his music and his career.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Not a bad read

    The author does a good job in tracking the life of Bruce, but seem to drag when describing each song in each concert. The story line is good but it does drag in some places. The author also uses some words that I could not find in my diconary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Bruce

    As a Jersey girl, I was a fan of the Boss, of course, but I was only familiar with his music, not him. After reading this, I feel like I truly know him. Yes, he is not perfect but no one is. He needed to follow his OWN creative process and sometimes he may not have handled it as well as he could have. However, most creative people are tempermental. Look at the Hollywood stars and their tantrums that always make the gossip rags!

    So yes, I admire Bruce more than ever after reading this. And his eulogy at Clarence Clemons' funeral made me cry.

    My only problem with this book, and the reason I took away a star, is the author sometimes sounds like a gushing teen age fan. I feel he should have tried to at least sound a little more impartial about his subject.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    As is usually the case, from the "outside" everyo

    As is usually the case, from the "outside" everyone thinks they want to be a rock star or they think they know what it is like.
    This is great background and sets into place how hard a "job" this is. His total commitment to what he wants produced and how far he is willing to go to get it comes through.
    Hard to imagine that someone else is going to do another bi-op on this guy and get much new material after you read this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    Good gift idea for a Springsteen fan.

    Sorry---I bought this for a friend as a gift. I have not read it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    havent read it yet..i am getting it from library soon. Requested

    havent read it yet..i am getting it from library soon. Requested it. hut had to comment to that remark antiAmerican views..Wow..he is so American,. gotta be kidding me..a dumb Republican no less..Dumb remark..

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    A must read for any Bruce fan!!!

    Only half way thru the ebook but so far it is interesting. The book drags out alittle during the first 100 pages but it gets better when the author writes about Bruce's writing skills and early album releases. The author portrays Bruce as a perfectionist in his song writing while being the blue jean and t-shirt guy from New jersey. It is a good read so far as the author explains Bruce's torment with his managers. Any the author writes alittle about the history of Bruce's early works and how the songs were born. If you are a Bruce fan, you owe it to yourself to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2