Customer Reviews for

Brush of Angel's Wings

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ruth did a great job on this book.

Rachel Hartzler does not fit in her Amish community, she likes to race her horse and buggy beating the boys, she can't cook or sew like normal Amish girls, and is resigned that she will be a leddich maydel. Two years ago she was encouraged to find the Angel that Judith ...
Rachel Hartzler does not fit in her Amish community, she likes to race her horse and buggy beating the boys, she can't cook or sew like normal Amish girls, and is resigned that she will be a leddich maydel. Two years ago she was encouraged to find the Angel that Judith Fischer talked to by Kate Bender who happened to be engaged to Rachel's brother James. Jordan Engles is not Amish but his Mother was and he is now living with his Uncle and looking for work. His father, a truck driver, left when he was very little and he never heard from him again. When Jordan's mother got cancer they lost everything trying to pay the medical bills and on her deathbed she asked him to go live with her brother to see what Amish life was like. Jordan gets hired on at the Hartzler farm which makes Rachel mad as he's taking her place helping her dad, which she see's as trying to take James' place. Kayla Davy is a rich Englischer who brings her horse to the Hartzler's to have him shoed, when she sees Jordan she flirts with him and Rachel doesn't like that. After the horse is there a few days she comes over to ride him but Jordan tells her it's too wet and not safe, he refuses to go with her so she saddles the horse and goes by herself. Jordan jumps on the horse to go get her, then drives her home. Kayla loans him her cell phone so he can look up truck driving schools because he thinks he'd have a better chance finding his dad that way. Jordan eventually feels his work is done at the Hartzler's so he hires on at the Davy's farm but when Micah Hartzler gets hurt and has to spend time in the hospital, Jordan returns to their farm to help out. That is until Kayla comes over to show him a text from his dad. Jordan's dad saw a message on the internet that Jordan's looking for him so he sends a text to Kayla's phone. Arrangements are made for Jordan and Clint, his father, to meet and from that meeting arrangements are mad for Jordan to go on the road with Clint. During the time he's gone Rachel's sister Sadie, who's having a troubled pregnancy, goes into early labor, delivers baby Ella, but loses her own life. Timothy, Sadie's husband, is beside himself and Rachel takes over the care of Ella during the day and his mother stays the night caring for Ella. Rachel tries to get Timothy to spend time with his daughter but he fights her every inch of the way. Timothy finally decides he can't care for his baby and his work so he asks Rachel to marry him. He explains that he's already gotten the Bishop's approval and they can grow to love each other. Rachel is stunned, she's dreamed about having a husband like Timothy, he loved Sadie so, was kind, caring, everything one would want in a husband, but she can't say yes. She promises to talk to her parents and pray about it. Throughout this story there are two Angel's, Nathaniel the good Angel and Tangus the bad Angel. These Angels are both assigned to Rachel and Jordan, and they seem more like you would think of your conscious talking to you, but you don't always hear everything your conscious tells you to do and which one do you listen to? Do Rachel and Timothy get married for Ella's sake, since Rachel promised to be there to care for her, does Jordan become a truck driver, does he stay English and return to Kayla or does he become Amish and return to Rachel, and if he returns to Rachel is it too late? I did enjoy this book and would recommend it to anyone that likes Amish books. The focus on the Angels

posted by wfnren on April 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Brush of Angel's Wings by Ruth Reid book review This is not nor

Brush of Angel's Wings by Ruth Reid book review
This is not normally the type of book I read. However my mom loves these books, and she read a copy of this book the same time I did, and I thought it would be fun to have a mini book group. I also wanted to see how we ea...
Brush of Angel's Wings by Ruth Reid book review
This is not normally the type of book I read. However my mom loves these books, and she read a copy of this book the same time I did, and I thought it would be fun to have a mini book group. I also wanted to see how we each review the book. I received this ook on behalf of booksneeze, but all opinions are my own.
I really liked the story because it had an angel in it, and was a very nice romantic story. I also found it interesting that there was also a devilish spirit that tried to go against the angel. I liked this because it reminded me of the truth that everyone has a conscious that tells you good or bad. This was a heaven on earth book and I would have loved to read the first in the series. However this book stands on its own.
I also found it interesting to read about the Amish life style. I also liked how there was an outside visitor that wanted to become amish. It was interesting to see his struggle to leave electricity and the world as I know it.
There were so many things going on in this book. One of the main themes was the loss of the son of the house. The main character is his sister. She struggles to help on the farm and help her dad as best as she could. Like every good story a baby is born and someone dies. I did not expect a second person to die in the book. I understand that it made for the ending of the book. I just wish that it didn't have to happen.
I also thought that the use of Pennsyvania Dutch was a little too much. There is a glossary that tells you what the words mean. I just wish that there was a little less of it in the book.
The book also states that it "Includes reading group guide". I wish that the guide was longer then 13 questions.
All in all I think that it was a very nice story.

posted by Deal_Sharing_Aunt on April 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Elva

    Age: 10 Pet: Lightning a wolf Sister: Lightning Wings: white sometimes silver Activeness: Quite active unless going on a trip

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Shattered ((Emma Rose Brown.))

    ~Name. Emma Rose Brown~
    <br> ~Nickname. Shattered~ <br> ~Age. 16~ <br> ~Gender. Female~ <br> ~Birthday. April 2, 1997~ <br> ~Relastionship. Uh...Nope..~ <br> ~Parents. Jaden & Morgan~ <br> ~Sisters & Brothers. Sisters: Kaelin, and her step-sisters whom she doesn't like. Brothers: Shane & Austin~ <br> ~Addictions. Ask me later.~ <br> ~Personality. I'm a bit<3>ch half the tine. Just know that.~ <br> ~Appearence. A tanner, skinny, pretty and fun person. She has flowing dark brown loose curls that go to just below her shoulder blades. She is half Mexican, half Indian, half White.~ <br> ~Clothes. Usually wears sweats and a tank top with mocasins.~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Starr

    A pretty angel with silver and blue hair.
    Has the ability to control electricity in any way she wants.
    Has no contact to any of her human family.
    Crush: Solar (#144) DON'T TELL!
    Sighnature
    *~*$T@RR*~*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Xalvadora

    Xalvadora is around seventeen years old. She has wavy brown hair and dark eyes, tan skin, and is about 5 ft. 6. She does not remember much about herself, much about anything, as she has suffered fom memory loss. Her wings are big for her size, and have a black fading into grey color scheme. Her powers are the control of light rays and shadows, her being able to bend them at will to make them a weapon or a tool of helping. She is kind and smart, always ready to lend a helping wing or give a smile. She would do anything for her friends, once she gets any, and is loyal. Yet she can get depressed for a reason unknown to her and it is hard to snap her out of her depression. She loves to sing and fight, is not afrad to get her hands dirty, and is looking for someone to take care of her for once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Suzume

    Name: Suzume Fai. Rank: Fallen angel, therefore more on the evil side. Age: Hmm... in real life I am thirteen, but in role-play I wish to be fifteen. Apperance: Pale blond hair, a strip in the front shadowing my face. I wear a dark blue-grey hood, designed with patterns at the edges. Pitch black wings tipped with blue. Purplish eyes that fade into blue on the rim. Tall and thin with pale skin. Attire: Usually I wear a dark hoodie and jeans. Never shoes. Always headphones. Personality: Sarcastic, careless, a free spirit. Weapon/powers: Can control fire. My weapon is a tall twisted staff with a stone fastened to the top.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Kaylle

    Kaylee . Age 18. Her wings are white and black . Black hair with white tips . Her mom was a fallen angel her dad an angel . Thus creating a girl with multipersonalities . one personality is nice and sweet . The other is rude and sometimes cruel . Her wings be large

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Savage

    I am Savage. I was born of a seraphim and a fallen angel. I do not care about the heavenly powers. They do what they want for themselves. He never looked at me. He does not care about me. So He can do whatever he wants and I will do whatever I want. I do not care for humans but this one girl. She is what I call precious. So I watch over her. I protect her. And kill those who try to harm her. You may say I am a guardian angel but I do more than watch over someones dreams....I have short cropped black hair with natural white stripes. One wing is black and one is white. Same as eyes. Right side is black d left is white. My skin color is bronze. I have an athletic figure with almost no chest or curves. But I do not care. I use twin katanas. A whip. And daggers hidden everywhere. I wear only black tanks and white leather pants. No shoes and no jewelry. I have a scar over my left eye. my white eye. I can still open my eye but it is closed more than the right. I have the ability to shift into any form I have had a taste of blood from. For I get that from my fallen angel mother. Whoopdidoo. One thing. If you cross me. Lie to me. Or injure my little angel. You better say goodbye to those you so foolishly love. I can be good. I can be bad. But if you did one of those things I am worse than Lycifer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Incedari

    Name: Incendari Fellaisk. Age: Dunno. Species: Seraphim. Wings: Grey wings. Appearance: Wears some armor, sometimes. It depends. Usually wears a cloak. Anyways. I have dark blond hair that shadows my face. I'm not tan. I'm thin and medium sized. And no, I do not glow white. Weapons: A bow and arrow, a flaming sword, and a few fireballs. Powers: Some. Mortal enemies: Eh. Personality: I wanna be unda da sea. Are you gay? Would you tell me if you were gay? History: Do you have dirty thoughts about Spongebob? Would tell me if you had dorty thoughts about Spongebob? Would you?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Cloudness

    Name: Cloudness Flighter • Looks: pretty pale, dark pixie cut hair, gray eyes, usualy periwinkle, silver, or white wings, gold Hali with diamonds uncrusted in front • Age: 16 • Personality: wise, fun, careful, rebellious at some points, but also mellow • Powers: able to change wing color according to emotion, can control elements, controls partly weather • Pets: Barn and Snowy owl mix named Everest • Parents: Gina (controls aurora borelis) and Riley Flighter (controls the rotation of the planets outside the Milky Way) • Siblings: Shawn (in college), and Adam (controls light from the natural stuff) • Boyfriend: none • Crush: um...... • Other: is part of the Council

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Luna and Lunas

    Name: Luna. Looks: Long black curly hair, silver wings, grey eyes, pale skin. Lithe, graceful. Curvy, very beautiful. Powers: Controls the tide. (The moon controls the tide, her name comes from the the latin word for moon. As does her brother's.) Family: Twin brother named Lunas. (See below.) Rank: Unknown, wishes to be on the council. Personality: Talk to me and you'll find out. Age: 16. |•| Name: Lunas. Looks: Short, curly black hair, silver wings, grey eyes, pale skin. Lithe, graceful, muscular. Handsome. Powers: Controls the phases of the moon. Family: Twin sister named Luna (see above.) Rank: Unknown, wishes to be on council. Personality: Talk to me and you'll find out. Age: 16. |•|

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Kiev

    Why

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Eric

    16, short black hair put into a em.o hairstyle. Icy bluegreen eyes. Is a bit muscular. All around nice...also me.an. He has no knowledge of his history or why he has a human brother. He has black wings and he has a fire finger a ice hand and a healing hand. He never really uses the healing hand. He suff.ers from bip.olarness and ADHD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    I enjoyed reading about Rachel and Jordan's bickering events. Ra

    I enjoyed reading about Rachel and Jordan's bickering events. Rachel was such a strong willed women. I was extremely surprised to discover that she liked to race buggies against men. Jordan was an interesting character, since he was half Amish and an Englisher. I continued to read the book because I wanted to find out why Jordan's mother was shunned away from her Amish community. I also wanted to see Jordan open to Rachel and make up his mind about deciding if he was going to be an Englisher or an Amish. I 'm glad to say that I stay tuned to watch Rachel and Jordan's feeling develop toward each other. There transition with falling in love was beautifully written.

    My favorite quote from Jordan is when he says &quot;I'm like the TV commercial. Sneezing,itchy...watery...eyes.&quot; I mean come on how many of us remember this commercial? I know I do, but maybe its because my little sister would constantly say this whenever she would use Kleenexes.This is definitely a quote everyone can relate to and remember seeing on TV.

    I found the doings from Nathaniel and Tangus to be a brilliant idea. The entire addition of the good angel vs. the evil angel was phenomenally done. I adored Jordan so much, because he always ate Rachel's meals. Her cooking skills were severely poor, that he still managed to eat her food. Now that is truly a great man. No matter how terrible Rachel's dinner dishes turned out, you could always count on Jordan to eat it. This Amish story was like no other that I have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    “Brush of Angel’s Wings” by Ruth Reid was an a

    &ldquo;Brush of Angel&rsquo;s Wings&rdquo; by Ruth Reid was an absolute delight to read. I have read many Amish books and this book is one of my favorites.

    Rachel and Jordan and both fighting to get beyond their personal &ldquo;demons&rdquo;. Rachel is not your typical Amish girl, she struggles with sewing, cleaning, and most of all cooking and would most like to spend the days doing the farm chores with her dad. Jordan is the son of an Amish born mother who left the community to marry an Englischer, he struggles with most everything related to farming. While Rachel is dealing with the death of her brother, Jordan is dealing with trying to find where he fits in the world. When Jordan is hired by Rachel&rsquo;s father to help with the farm during their busy season, sparks fly between these two young people.

    While this seems to maybe be an average Amish storyline, the added dimension this book takes that I really enjoyed was the &ldquo;behind the scenes&rdquo; of good versus evil. With each struggle these characters faced, the reader gets the &ldquo;play by play&rdquo; taking place between the Nathaniel, the good angel, and Tangus, the evil angel.

    I definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Amish fiction and anyone who enjoys a book with a new way of looking at things from &ldquo;Heaven&rsquo;s perspective&rdquo;.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great!

    4.5 Stars!


    Rachel is the last unmarried daughter and with the death of her only brother two years earlier she feels the reasonability to help her father in the barn and fields and she enjoys it more then doing woman's work in the house. Her parents are worried that she is not going to find a husband if she is not working at improving her cooking and sewing skills. Her father hires Jordan who is not Amish but living with his Amish uncle for a while as his mom who had grown up Amish asked him right before she dies to give it a try. Rachel does not like Jordan and feels like her father is trying to replace her brother and does not want her to help and she becomes resentful.

    Jordan is looking for work so he can earn enough money to go to trucking school and move on with his life now that his mom is dead. Even though he finds working with the Amish rewarding he does not plan to stay long in the community. Little do Rachel and Jordan know but Nathaniel the angel that two years ago causes such a stir is back to help them find their way. With Nathaniel watching over them will they over come their fears and anger to find forever together and with their heavenly father?

    I really enjoyed this book. I admit I was curious when I read the first book in the series how angles where going to work in such a story line but its very good!

    What I liked: I loved how the angle Nathaniel was incorporated in this book! In the first book he was very visible which caused quite a stir amount the community. With this book he was more heard but not seen. Parts of the story was told from the angles side and I thought it was really cool. I also really liked the two main characters. I really wanted them to find peace with God and happiness together.

    What I did not like: There is not much I did not like with this book. The storyline with Rachel's sister was really sad and the part where she was possibly going to marry another man felt a little forced and predictable.

    Over all I really liked this book and look forward to the 3rd book of this series due out early next year. The author does a really great job of incorporating angles into the story line which makes for a unique reading adventure!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    This book is different from other Amish books that i have read,

    This book is different from other Amish books that i have read, the use of Angles the good verses evil really made this book more interesting and exciting as well. over all i would like to read more of this auther's books if she continue to write in this manner.
    I would recommend this book to any one who enjoys amish fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1