Customer Reviews for

A Brush of Darkness (Abby Sinclair Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Brush of Darkness

For a debut, this was one awesome book! Not only is Abby (the main character) as real and true as they come, but she's so spunky and badass; I loved her from the get-go.
The story line is definitely something to ponder. Being a forever-lover of the paranormal and wei...
For a debut, this was one awesome book! Not only is Abby (the main character) as real and true as they come, but she's so spunky and badass; I loved her from the get-go.
The story line is definitely something to ponder. Being a forever-lover of the paranormal and weird world, I thought that this book was a perfect entry into the category. I really enjoyed the weird-factor, because when I'm being honest, that's what draws me into paranormal books: creepy, crawly situations that are so action filled that my heart pounds.
The writing is also something to think about-and by that I mean awesome. Normally, in a debut from a new author, the writing is all over the place, since they haven't got the knack or found their rhythm in the words. Pang, on the other hand, writes as though she's been doing it for years! Each character, setting and situation is artfully and carefully explained, making everything that more believable and interesting.
Brystion is also awesome. He's funny and hey, let's be honest, as freaking hot as they come.
I was a little shocked at a few concepts in the book-a good thing, if you know me. A Brush of Darkness has everything I love in a paranormal: a kickass heroine, mysterious mysteries that make you think, creepy-crawlies, and, let's not forget; the romance that is definitely hot enough to scorch. That being said, A Brush of Darkness definitely wins a gold-status in my book. (And I can't wait for more from Allison Pang!)

posted by CiciBear26 on January 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Level one

Weak plot and weak undeveloped characters. Formula followed religiously, but lacking any real originality. Main character has potentially good back story, but nothing is done with it. She exists to be rescued by others. As it is a first book one can hope that the author...
Weak plot and weak undeveloped characters. Formula followed religiously, but lacking any real originality. Main character has potentially good back story, but nothing is done with it. She exists to be rescued by others. As it is a first book one can hope that the author can develop some real characters over time. In the mean time only read if you have noting else to do.

posted by KnowwhatIike on February 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    not bad

    decent story with funny references (a sleezy unicorn and WOW)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    You gotta love a book that starts off with , “Cat piss a



    You gotta love a book that starts off with , “Cat piss and cabbages”. followed by some Tom Jones , ‘She’s A Lady’,playing away in the back of your brain. I found it an awesome way to get me into the mood for this book. Well not necessarily the cat piddle..hehe!!

    You can throw Urban Fantasy at me any day of the week I looooove it. There is just something about the urban world authors build. Add in the sidekick, be it animal , fey, paranormal or human bff into the story, in this case we have Phinneas aka Phin, the cheeky, naughty , knicker loving fifteen inch tall unicorn. Stir in a mystery and a chicky babe, albeit naive to the cause who has the smexi admirer and we are cooking.

    ‘A Brush of Darkness’ is all that. Abby Sinclair is the naive TouchStone to Moira the Protectorate. Now I must stop and say, I am still unsure of what a TouchStone does. I am also not overly sure what Moira the Protectorate does or what a contract entails. Maybe I missed something. Maybe I just needed something in the front of the book to say TouchStone = ? It was just something that niggled at me because I kept reading Abby the Touchstone and I was waiting to be enlightened. But all that aside, I enjoyed Allison’s world and her mystery she gave us.

    What I thought was different about Abby’s character is she has a limpy knee, which doesn’t really cause her any problems in this book, but her major handicap is her seizures she gets. Abby has to deal with seizures on top of all these things she has thrown at her.

    Enter, the big fella Brystion , aka Ion, who is of course gorgeous, but complicated , oh and he is an Incubus.....complicated....much?


    Moira is missing, and Robert her Angel, cranky pants, body guard isn’t too happy with Abby. She is on her ‘L’ Plates with all this TouchStone stuff and is naive about a few things, which makes cranky pants Robert...well crankier.

    Brystion wants to find his sister, Sonja, the succubus, who has gone missing. Then Charlie, Robert’s main squeeze goes missing and everybody wants answers and a whole lot more from Abby, who just wants Phin to stay out of her knicker draw.

    I love the Art Gallery scenes with the paintings, I thought they were really well written. There was a further chapter with the paintings that I really visually saw well and it was my fave chapter/scenes in the book.

    Who is batting for good, and who is appearing to bat for all things good....this is the question?

    I enjoyed Allison’s world and am looking forward to ‘A Sliver of Shadow’, cause there is some things I just wanna know. Plus more Brystion is always a plus even if he comes in a very complicated package.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An Enjoyable Read

    Reviewed By~April
    Review Copy Provided By~Publisher

    A Brush of Darkness has it all: paranormal, shape-shifting, ghouls, angels, incubus, unicorns, romance, heat, humor, suspense and an uncanny ability to draw the reader into its clutches and hold tight until the end.

    While I admit that in the beginning I felt as though I missed something within the story (I actually had to double check a couple of times to be sure that this was, indeed, the first in the series) I loved the storyline, the premise of the story and the characters. Abby is a fairly new human Touchstone to the beloved Faery Protectorate, Moira, who has been missing for a couple of months now, a fact that only Abby is aware of. While things are not going perfectly, they are going fairly well - that is until the hotter than hot incubus, Brystion, shows up claiming that he needs help to find his sister who has disappeared. To make matters more complicating, Brystion unwittingly makes Abby his Touchstone, connecting them in a way that will not be looked upon favorably. Needless to say, the fact that Moira has been missing, quickly becomes known and sends everyone on a desperate search for her. It doesn't take long for Abby to also realize that the disappearance of Brytion's sister is in some way connected and that if she doesn't help him find her, and quickly, many lives may be lost - including her own.

    In the beginning of my review, I had mentioned that I had the feeling that I missed something along the way. The reason that I felt this way is that the story begins with Abby as a Touchstone, without reason as to how or why she became such. This was a bit awkward for me, however as the story progresses, these issues are explained and everything comes together. Other than this issue, I loved the rather uniqueness of the story, the parallels of the different worldly realms between the crossroads and the connection of humans with these OtherWorldly beings. The story basically brings to life all the different mythical creatures that we have heard about and brings readers into their world where they co-exist with one another - as well as with humans (though most humans are completely unsuspecting). A Brush of Darkness is an excellent story in the Urban Fantasy genre with characters that I truly loved.

    Abby has demons of her own that she has been trying to fight, without much success. Her demons are very "human" and make her a very likable character. She is incredibly intelligent, strong and rather sassy. I loved her personality through and through. Brystion is incredibly sexy, ornery, lovable and has a vulnerable side that he hides very well. Together, they are combustible and had me yearning for them to be together the entire time.

    There are several other characters also within the story that play very important parts. Even with the large cast, I never found myself lost or confused and was drawn to the way Allison Pang gave each character their own distinct personality and traits that made them easy to connect with. Even some of the bad guys had endearing qualities.

    As for the story, itself, I felt that it flowed very well. The transitions between realms and scenes were smooth and worked in a way that made me want to keep reading, rather than wanting to ever step back from the story. When I wasn't able to read, I found myself yearning to get back to the story to see what was going to happen next. I have the second in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Good

    I expected it to be a bit cookie -cutter. It wasn't. I also thought the heroine was overly reckless, but it played alright. She was recless but mostly with valid reasons, not just to advance the plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    Great Potential

    Although the cover would give the impression that this book is a cheesed up sex romp, it isn't. I decided to give it a go and was pleasantly surprised. Past reviews give the details so I won't repeat the plot. It does have a few rough spots, but overall I enjoyed this book and look forward to more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    Very fun read - loved the characters. A must Read!

    For her first book, Allison Pang did a fantastic job. I got so wrapped up in the story that the sad parts nearly had me crying & of course the funny parts had me laughing out loud like a goof. The characters are fun, the interactiins are smooth, and the story/plot has a nice flow (you won't get lost feeling as ifyou missed someting).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2