Customer Reviews for

Brush with Death (Gray Whale Inn Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    Love this cozy mystery series!

    I have read these out of order but I love them just the same!

    Each story is so well written and descriptive that I felt like I was in the snow with the main character as she was hunting for her friend's killer.

    Great characters, a great story, a really good cozy. Cuddle up for a good read!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Great read!

    Good easy read especially when sitting on the Maine coast. Good characters, well written.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    A good read

    The 5th Gray Whale Inn book is as entertaining as the previous 4 with a good story, good characters and great recipes. Hopefully #6 will be published faster than #5 was. A good read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    great tea drinking book

    I have read the first four books in this series and they were all terrific. For some one who likes light mysteries this is a perfect book. Light but kept your interest

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Why do so many Cozy mysteries have to have a Homosexual person i

    Why do so many Cozy mysteries have to have a Homosexual person in them? I want a Cozy book that I and my daughter can read that does not have an agenda. I am so tired of trying so hard to find a good clean book.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2013

    Another delicious Gray Whale Inn Mystery! On Cranberry Island,

    Another delicious Gray Whale Inn Mystery!

    On Cranberry Island, everyone has a secret, and some are worth killing to protect. Between family drama, a financial crisis, and an unexpected visit from the future mother-in-law, innkeeper Natalie Barnes unravel's the island quirky cast of residents' secrets in order to solve the mystery her friend's death and catch the killer before he strikes again. 

    Even if you're new to the Gray Whale Inn series, Brush with Death is the perfect mystery to read while wrapped in a blanket with a cup of cocoa in hand. Once you reach the satisfying conclusion, you'll have to try out some of the creative recipes included with the book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    It's December and Natalie is enjoying a bit of quiet time at the

    It's December and Natalie is enjoying a bit of quiet time at the Gray Whale Inn as her niece, Gwen, is preparingfor her upcoming art show. What should be a peaceful time is quickly turning stressful as Natalie learns that she could lose the Inn due to a shady lawyer that handled her refinancing.  Then Gwen's mentor, Fernand, is found dead of an apparent suicide after a party honoring an artist visiting the island and Gwen begs Natalie to help discover the truth.  To further add to her stress, Catherine, her future mother-in-law, has decided to visit for Christmas and someone seems to be targeting the Inn with odd acts of vandalism.  Soon Natalie and her fiance, John, are working together to save the Inn and learn the truth not only regarding Fernand's death but also the mysterious artist visiting Cranberry Island and her obnoxious agent.  

    I really enjoyed this book and look forward to reading more of her work.  Even though I haven't read many of the previous books in the series, Karen MacInerney provided enough background that the residents didn't seem like strangers to me but like old friends.  I also appreciated her description of the island and its beauty.  The book moves at a great pace.  My only complaint is that once I started it, I didn't want to put it down.

    I will be trying some of the recipes that are included in the book.  I like the fact that the recipes are at the end of the book rather than located between chapter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Winter on Cranberry Island should be a time for Natalie to relax

    Winter on Cranberry Island should be a time for Natalie to relax but her niece is preparing to show her paintings at an art show, her future mother-in-law is coming to visit and she has just received a foreclosure notice for the Inn. Then she finds her niece’s mentor dead and when she realizes he really didn’t commit suicide she puts herself right in the line of fire as she tries to uncover the truth.




    After just losing our house to foreclosure this one started out hitting a little close to home but as I continued to read Natalie’s circumstances were totally different than ours so I was able to get right past it and enjoy the splendor of Cranberry Island and its residents. But the financial woes of another character did break my heart.




    The mystery had more than a few twists and kept me enthralled to the final page. John was away from the island when the murder occurred so Natalie was sleuthing on her own. Gwen was dealing with conflicting advice from Natalie and the gallery owner while trying to deal with her mentor’s death. John’s mother grew by leaps and bounds for me in this installment. Plus Natalie’s way with food and her ability to just whip something up had me drooling.




    The author pulls us right into the story. We can feel the frigid air and the freezing water, smell the muffins baking and picture Gwen’s masterpieces with such ease. If this is a new series for you start at the beginning with Murder on the Rocks  but if you are like me you have been waiting for this installment you will devour this story.  Karen MacInerney has exceeded my expectations. I can’t wait to return to Cranberry Island again soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1