Customer Reviews for

Brutal

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2014

    To below

    Now go to the first result.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2014

    Matar en mandar

    A pitch black pelted tom with silver clawlike stripes. Hi eyes are as cold as ice pale blue cold eyes. Down his right cheeck a long scar faded. He is not the biggest cat but intellegent and fast. His name means kill on comand. But he goes by matar for short. He has been by him self or years and been in fights.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Can honest be served any other way?

    Brutal came at a great time in my reading life - Poe was like the literary Veronica Mars minus the mystery, but with that same sort of sass. I always had a soft spot for the rebels with a cause, and high school is always full of surprises and drama that somehow never gets too old. Occasionally Poe goes a little overboard in her rampage, pushing away her well-meaning but spineless father, the cute rebel boy, the spoiled but nice-on-the-inside cheerleader, and everyone else on the planet. No one told her that a little sugary compromise can go a long way in trying to win people over to her cause.

    I was pleasantly surprised with Brutal. The humor was spot-on, and I laughed at some of the causes Poe chose to highlight such as the gym uniform policy. Everyone in the book - at least, those close to Poe - had great page time, and they had several likable qualities that softened the hard shell known as Poe.

    Last but not least, I cannot fail to mention the quirky nod to the cheese-lovers with names such as Velveeta and Colby. Is there any symbolism if Colby was the bully and Velveeta the victim? Or how about Velveeta winning in the end? Definitely some things to think about...

    And, when I start talking about cheese, that is a sure sign that this review is at a close.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2009

    Very Provocative And Good Stinging Wit (Reviewed by TheBookworm)

    Brutal
    By Michael Harmon
    Pub. Date: March 2009
    4 out of 5 stars
    PG-13 - Vulgar Profanity, Violence, and Sexual Humor
    Recommended

    Poe has both an absent mother and a once long gone father pushing equality and "be-like-everyone-else" indoctrination upon her. Everywhere she turns, school, home, choir, and politics, are full of candy-coated creativity and uniqueness crushers. unless you are one of the rich, beautiful, atheletic elite. Poe is tired of the "equality" system only applying to the downtrodden and the unfairness of the supposedly "fair" solutions. When one of her new, odd friends gets cruelly beaten, she begins to truly battle the sick system at the corrupted core. But how ca she possibly take down the bad guys when they honestly think they are the good guys?

    Brutal was very provocative and held a lot of depth despite its small size. It had a crazy and real introspective view that had me thinking over ordinary things twice. I loved the sarcasm, stinging wit, and banter because they were unbridled truth. The strong-willed voice of the story was a great role model. She wouldn't take things sitting down, she never had sex with her boyfriend, and she repented. After being made known of her sin and realizing she had done wrong, she would repent. And I was always able to forgive her. I would suggest this book to older teens, especially because of the frequent use of the f-word. I really enjoyed this book and I plan on reading Harmon's other books in the future.

    Date Reviewed: April 12th, 2009

    For more book reviews and book information check out my blog at www.inthecurrent.blogspot.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo.com

    When sixteen-year-old Poe Holly's doctor mother decides to take her practice to the jungles of South America for a year, Poe finds herself living with the father she has never really known. She was a baby the last time her parents were in the same room together, and now she's moving into his house.

    Since her mother is usually busy 24/7, Poe is used to living on her own. It's a welcome relief to find out her father is willing to allow her a fair amount of freedom, but his neat and tidy house soon becomes her home, and she is surprised how much she enjoys it. The shared meals and conversation aren't nearly as dreadful as she anticipated. The major weird thing about the arrangement is that when Poe starts school at the local high school, she's not sure how to handle the fact that David Holly, her newly inherited dad, is the school counselor.

    Life in Benders Hollow is way different than the punk rocker life Poe is used to. Music is her life, and leaving her band was one of the hardest things she had to do. When her father suggests she could join the school choir and maybe even be one of their soloists, she rejects the idea as too lame to even consider. But after some contemplation, Poe stops in to visit the music teacher.

    After hearing Poe's incredible voice, Mrs. Baird promises her a spot as the principal soloist. The result of that offer is one of Poe's first experiences with just exactly how the town of Benders Hollow works.

    Poe soon learns that at Benders Hollow High School a select few have all the power. Although the school brags about its tolerance and its dedication to keeping its halls bully-free, Poe soon learns that the select few can do and say anything they want - and those in authority will look the other way.

    Her father's odd neighbor, Velveeta, is a target for the rampant cruelty of Benders Hollow, and he provides just the reason Poe needs to stir things up a bit at her new school.

    If you haven't had the pleasure of reading Michael Harmon, BRUTAL is a book you won't want to miss. His previous books, SKATE and THE LAST EXIT TO NORMAL, are excellent, but BRUTAL takes the prize in my opinion.

    Poe is an independent thinker, and the way she champions the underdog should be an example to us all. She is a terrific combination of the two people who have parented her in such different ways. Our world would be a better place if more of us reacted to injustice like Poe did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    I love this book... but i can't stand Poe!

    I'm not totally finished with the book (have one chapter to go) but i couldn't wait to write a review! If you've read skate and last exit to normal (like i have) then you realize that Michael Harmon's writing style is pretty much the same in all of the books (which isn't really a bad thing) but I can't stand the main character... Poe. In the begining of the book I figured... "I'll probably like this character since she's got a lot of backbone." Well apparently she has to much. She thinks that everyone is out to get her! Which gets pretty annoying after a while. She likes to have pity parties which are absolutley annoying. She thinks everyone else is so horrible when really she's the horrible person. But besides the horrible Poe all the other characters where fantastic! Theo is a amazing, sarcastic, funny type guy and Velveeta is this dorky boy who makes me laugh outloud. This book is pretty good but if you you can't handle Poe... it might just ruin the book for you. Michael Harmon is a great writer though :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1