Customer Reviews for

Buckland's Complete Book of Witchcraft

Average Rating 4.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

spectacular collection of information

this book is great for both the solitary and coven witch, for those who look through it it is full of information that is not only easy to understand but is easy to relate into your own life.this is a great starter for the teenage or solitary,if they are will...
this book is great for both the solitary and coven witch, for those who look through it it is full of information that is not only easy to understand but is easy to relate into your own life.this is a great starter for the teenage or solitary,if they are willing to learn

posted by Anonymous on March 29, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

It's got some good information...

...if you can find it amidst the rest of the book. I read this book when I first started studying the Craft. Much of the book did not sit well with me then and much of the book still does not sit well with me now, much later. I know several people in my area (all sol...
...if you can find it amidst the rest of the book. I read this book when I first started studying the Craft. Much of the book did not sit well with me then and much of the book still does not sit well with me now, much later. I know several people in my area (all solitaries like myself) who have gotten rid of their copies of this book to make room for books that are actually useful and not so... weird. (Would you really trust someone well enough to bind you in a bag, suspend you, and then leave you?) Buckland seems to let some of his fetishes shine through in his rituals. :-) Perhaps it is okay for certain covens. It scares me to see so many young people who are just starting out claiming that this is the best book they have read on the Craft. Anyone in the Craft should know that they should not base their beliefs and practices on one book. Read many books, talk to many people, and do what feels right to YOU. Buckland's way is not the ONLY way.

posted by Anonymous on December 27, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2002

    It's got some good information...

    ...if you can find it amidst the rest of the book. I read this book when I first started studying the Craft. Much of the book did not sit well with me then and much of the book still does not sit well with me now, much later. I know several people in my area (all solitaries like myself) who have gotten rid of their copies of this book to make room for books that are actually useful and not so... weird. (Would you really trust someone well enough to bind you in a bag, suspend you, and then leave you?) Buckland seems to let some of his fetishes shine through in his rituals. :-) Perhaps it is okay for certain covens. It scares me to see so many young people who are just starting out claiming that this is the best book they have read on the Craft. Anyone in the Craft should know that they should not base their beliefs and practices on one book. Read many books, talk to many people, and do what feels right to YOU. Buckland's way is not the ONLY way.

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2004

    spectacular collection of information

    this book is great for both the solitary and coven witch, for those who look through it it is full of information that is not only easy to understand but is easy to relate into your own life.this is a great starter for the teenage or solitary,if they are willing to learn

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2007

    A Must for Any Witch

    I must admit, I have my criticisms. I wish the book cited its references better, as some of the historical information presented is questionable to me. The redeeming quality of the book, however, is in the fact that it has something for everyone, and presents a basis for all sorts of areas of magical practices. Whether you are interested in herbiology, divination, auric healing, or just getting some ritual or spell ideas, this book has it all. It also goes in depth enough for actual practice, unlike most books that could be considered intro books. I might recommend reading other books on the subject before delving into this one, as it is a lot more than just a brief skim over the basics. Read lighter books if you want to find out if this path is really for you.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2002

    OK

    This book was very informative, but it didn't really have but a chapter on useful stuff for the solitary witch. And he came off pretty pompous. I've heard he's the best, and he seems to know it and think it. But before anybody gets mad at me, it did have some great information on the history of Wicca, and basic information all Witches need to know explained in easy ways to understand. If you're a serious witch hoping to join a coven, I would definately recommend it. If your a teenage solitary witch, Silver Ravenwolf's Teen Witch is the best starter, and after that Scott Cunningham's books are great.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2002

    A Wonderful Guide

    This is the first book I ever read on the craft and by far out of all the books Ive read since this is the most intresting, informative one of all. It has the everything you ever wanted to know and more.. from beginning to end in simple terms. A HUGE recommendation for anyone intrested in Wicca.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Informative

    Buckland shows some bias towards Saex-Wicca. If you keep that in mind, you can get some useful information from the book. There is some good history and it gives you some perspective into worshiping with a coven. I would recommend reading this book and many other books( by an assortment of authors)to aid in finding your path. Blessed be.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good overview that presents the authors views on Paganism/Wicca.

    This is a good source for a beginner to learn the basics of Paganism/Wicca. Keep in mind that this is the authors point of view. Take a while to read this book, don't read it like a novel. Digest it chapter by chapter.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2006

    Absolutely Wonderful

    This book has helped me in my search for the same knowledge my aunt has aquired. I am now on my way to becoming a priestess, just like her.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2006

    The best informative book you'll ever need

    I've started with this book and it has helped me so much in finding myself and what I believe in.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2003

    Not for the Solitary, Ecclectic, or Teenage Practitioner

    This book is nice, but it is hard to use because so much of it focuses on group ritual. Also, most of the crafts cannot be done easily and the materials are hard to find. It does not offer enough information on stuff you want to know, like divination or candle magic or gemstones or herbs. You are better off getting a more specialized book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2003

    Very Extension Information

    This book has a little information on just about everything there is to know about witchcraft. It gives information on the history of withcraft, the beliefs, divinatory methods, Sabbats, herbalism, magick, and many more things. It tends to be partial to a coven setting, with a chapter on solitaries at the end. For the most part he sticks to the basics of witchcraft not getting into different denominations, however, at times he leans towards his own denomination (which is expected). This book is meant to be studied, with tests at the end of each chapter, a very good idea. I would suggest this to anyone who is interested in learning about withcraft or anyone who wants to practice the Craft.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2000

    Blessed Be!!!

    Just starting out 3 years ago, this book was the best way to help me understand who I am. I feel the knowledge of my beliefs were aided so much by Buckland's explanations of the past, present and future. I spent a lot of time reading and practicing with many aids, including a person who has been a witch for 25 years, and knowing I was doing it corrctly made it all the more special. Knowing my beliefs were somewhere, I found them in this workbook, and now at least I know I belong to a power so much greater than anything else. It made me a believer again. I have made my own tools, alter, and clothing, I know the importance of my beliefs, and all because of this wonderful book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Read more than one book if u r just starting to learn

    This has much information. But for those just starting to learn or jusr doing research please read other books as well as this. Try books by scott cunningham too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2005

    Unkle Buckie's Big Blue

    This is a book quite typically to be found on every Witch's shelf. Good book! Teriffic for covens or solitary practitioners. However, Buckland's writing can be a bit dry and dull. Oftentimes his writing reads like 'Stereo Installing Manuals' but if you can look past that, ANYTHING by Buckland can be considered quality. (Minus only one or two pieces of literature).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2003

    This Book is Great and Does What it is Soposed to.

    This book, if you actually read the title, is for those who are looking into Wicca and no nothing about it. It is VERY descriptive and there are many books that have tried to do this but failed. He has taken everything into Laments term so the world can understand it and appreciate it. How can you not give this book to someone who wants to know about the craft?!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2003

    Recommended or Okay, but not great......

    what an interesting concept about describing this one book of Buckland's. I found some parts were indeed useful, while others were not. One has to find their own way and meaning in the natural religion. One person described it as pompous - one's style of writing usually reflects oneself. (I met Buckland at a writer's conference once. I have to say that I did indeed find him a bit - pompous) But giving the man credit where credit is due, he did take the time to research and define what he knows and write this book. And it does offer an insight to PARTs of the Wiccan belief. A belief that now spans a universe. I would still recommend reading it, but I would also recommend reading others along with it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2001

    great

    This book is really quite amazing. It teaches you how to make your own robe, it helps you find & release the power of your 3rd eye, & it gives you a bunch of other cool info on witchcraft. It's a must have for all wiccans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2001

    Devin Age 14,Sept. 2,2001 A wicca from New Orleans

    This book is great! At first I didn't know about Witchcraft and now i'm a genius!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2000

    EXCELLENT !!

    Im just beginning to get into Witchcraft, and this book really helped me understand where the religon started, and guided me step by step. It was EXCELLENT!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2000

    Completly awesome

    This book was insightful, and is CONSTINATLY useful, I have read it page by page, and I am still picking up on things!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4