Customer Reviews for

Buckland's Complete Book of Witchcraft

Average Rating 4.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

spectacular collection of information

this book is great for both the solitary and coven witch, for those who look through it it is full of information that is not only easy to understand but is easy to relate into your own life.this is a great starter for the teenage or solitary,if they are will...
this book is great for both the solitary and coven witch, for those who look through it it is full of information that is not only easy to understand but is easy to relate into your own life.this is a great starter for the teenage or solitary,if they are willing to learn

posted by Anonymous on March 29, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

It's got some good information...

...if you can find it amidst the rest of the book. I read this book when I first started studying the Craft. Much of the book did not sit well with me then and much of the book still does not sit well with me now, much later. I know several people in my area (all sol...
...if you can find it amidst the rest of the book. I read this book when I first started studying the Craft. Much of the book did not sit well with me then and much of the book still does not sit well with me now, much later. I know several people in my area (all solitaries like myself) who have gotten rid of their copies of this book to make room for books that are actually useful and not so... weird. (Would you really trust someone well enough to bind you in a bag, suspend you, and then leave you?) Buckland seems to let some of his fetishes shine through in his rituals. :-) Perhaps it is okay for certain covens. It scares me to see so many young people who are just starting out claiming that this is the best book they have read on the Craft. Anyone in the Craft should know that they should not base their beliefs and practices on one book. Read many books, talk to many people, and do what feels right to YOU. Buckland's way is not the ONLY way.

posted by Anonymous on December 27, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2007

    A Must for Any Witch

    I must admit, I have my criticisms. I wish the book cited its references better, as some of the historical information presented is questionable to me. The redeeming quality of the book, however, is in the fact that it has something for everyone, and presents a basis for all sorts of areas of magical practices. Whether you are interested in herbiology, divination, auric healing, or just getting some ritual or spell ideas, this book has it all. It also goes in depth enough for actual practice, unlike most books that could be considered intro books. I might recommend reading other books on the subject before delving into this one, as it is a lot more than just a brief skim over the basics. Read lighter books if you want to find out if this path is really for you.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good overview that presents the authors views on Paganism/Wicca.

    This is a good source for a beginner to learn the basics of Paganism/Wicca. Keep in mind that this is the authors point of view. Take a while to read this book, don't read it like a novel. Digest it chapter by chapter.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2003

    Very Extension Information

    This book has a little information on just about everything there is to know about witchcraft. It gives information on the history of withcraft, the beliefs, divinatory methods, Sabbats, herbalism, magick, and many more things. It tends to be partial to a coven setting, with a chapter on solitaries at the end. For the most part he sticks to the basics of witchcraft not getting into different denominations, however, at times he leans towards his own denomination (which is expected). This book is meant to be studied, with tests at the end of each chapter, a very good idea. I would suggest this to anyone who is interested in learning about withcraft or anyone who wants to practice the Craft.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2005

    Unkle Buckie's Big Blue

    This is a book quite typically to be found on every Witch's shelf. Good book! Teriffic for covens or solitary practitioners. However, Buckland's writing can be a bit dry and dull. Oftentimes his writing reads like 'Stereo Installing Manuals' but if you can look past that, ANYTHING by Buckland can be considered quality. (Minus only one or two pieces of literature).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2003

    Recommended or Okay, but not great......

    what an interesting concept about describing this one book of Buckland's. I found some parts were indeed useful, while others were not. One has to find their own way and meaning in the natural religion. One person described it as pompous - one's style of writing usually reflects oneself. (I met Buckland at a writer's conference once. I have to say that I did indeed find him a bit - pompous) But giving the man credit where credit is due, he did take the time to research and define what he knows and write this book. And it does offer an insight to PARTs of the Wiccan belief. A belief that now spans a universe. I would still recommend reading it, but I would also recommend reading others along with it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2001

    great

    This book is really quite amazing. It teaches you how to make your own robe, it helps you find & release the power of your 3rd eye, & it gives you a bunch of other cool info on witchcraft. It's a must have for all wiccans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Wonderful

    This is a great book for a beginner or intermediate beginner. True Buckland is a tad biased but its still a good book/study guide. I am not too big on the text book style though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    Recommended

    this book is great for both the solitary and coven witch. Recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2002

    an intro to everything

    Well, this book was one of the first that I bought when I began reading about my religion. The whole reason that I picked it was because it said COMPLETE. Ill tell you now, it doesn't have it all in there, but it is great for people who have been following wicca for a little while. There are tons of other things to learn and skills to master that he doesn't mention, but Buckland really has the essentials in there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2001

    Amazing

    It's an amazing book that tells so much on the religion of witchcraft. I've learned so much from that book that has inspired me to keep on practicing wicca. I definately recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1