BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Bud, Not Buddy

Average Rating 4.5
( 728 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(503)

4 Star

(131)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(43)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

Amzaing

this book is amzing when you look in too the book it feels like you are apart ofthe book but you are really not . i think this book should be recomened for the whole world

posted by Rangersfan on June 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

What a quest

If you like a quest you will love this story. I love that Bud was on a quest to find one single person on earth. He had nothing left to lose. Bud was all alone with no family. It was crazy that a boy that is only thirteen years old would do this by himself. Along the ...
If you like a quest you will love this story. I love that Bud was on a quest to find one single person on earth. He had nothing left to lose. Bud was all alone with no family. It was crazy that a boy that is only thirteen years old would do this by himself. Along the way he develops many friendly relationships with people. During this story I learned the true meaning of the word "Family" and Love. If you like quest books you would be crazy not reading this book.

posted by Anonemous1 on May 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 728 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 37
  • Posted June 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amzaing

    this book is amzing when you look in too the book it feels like you are apart ofthe book but you are really not . i think this book should be recomened for the whole world

    40 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    Best book ever, seriously

    I am not kidding when I say this is the best book I have ever read. When I was in 3rd grade I had to do a big author study project, I picked Christopher Paul Curtis because I liked the book, Mr. Chickee's Funny Money. Picking this author was the best decision I have ever made in my life. He is the greatest author ever, not kidding. Now, two years later I still continue to read his books, I am reading The Watsons Go To Birmingham for the 2nd time right now.<BR/><BR/>If you are a kid between the ages of 8-12, and you have not read this book, do me a favor and read it. Pick it up from your library, or buy it, because I guarantee that you will want to re-read it. One moment you will laugh, the next you will be in tears. <BR/><BR/>Parents and Grandparents, holiday shopping can sometimes be hard, but here;s a great stocking stuffer for you! I love getting books in my stocking, it's really great. This book is great for that, it gives kids info about orphans and what some people go through, but also the love that gets discovered in this book. In my family, we have a family book club that consists of me, my grandparents and my great grandparents, on my dads side. The book club formed, when I recommended this book. It brought us together, and I hope it will for you too. <BR/><BR/>Don't be discouraged by all the negative ratings, like BORING, or EASY. These things are true to some people, people who don't open there hearts to the struggles of Bud. This review was written by a 10- year old girl, not a parent who heard about the book from their kid, not from a older kid who thinks their grown up. This was written by a true kid who likes what other kids like and loves books.<BR/><BR/>If you don't believe me or want to believe those other negative reviews, that's fine but I cannot express how bad that decision is to pass by this book, it is a must read and will bring your family together. A Perfect gift for the holiday season. :) Happy Holidays everyone!

    32 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    Abiola's Daughter's Review on Bud, Not Buddy

    This book is the is WONDERFUL!!! My daughter read it and she just loved it!!! Bud he;s an adventurous boy. He's brave. He's strong. He's determined to do anything. He's determined to find his father. Read this book and you'll find out how he goes from adventure to adventure. From foster home to foster home. Feel as if you're Bud as you read the book. And enjoy it.

    27 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    6th Graders Loved It!

    I am a 6th grader who read Bud, Not Buddy in my reading class. In this book, you learn about the seemingly impossible journey that Bud takes to find his "father". You will see that growing up in the Depression was not easy! Bud had to do things like sleep under trees just to survive.
    This book was a page-turner from beginning to end. Curtis gives you a little bit of the big "answer" at the end of each chapter, then wraps it all up at the end with such a reveal that you will have to go back a couple of pages and read it again. My favorite part of the book was when Bud found out who the little girl in the picture. I liked that part because you never saw it coming! You can really connect to this book because of the way the ecomomy is now and you know how it feels to want something - but have to live without it. I would recommend this book to anyone who has a couple of hours on their hands because once you start reading it - you can't stop!

    22 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Awesome!!!

    Great book. Read it for a book report.

    15 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Anonymous

    This book is awesome this boys mom passed away and he was had finally got a foster home but his foster mom was believing everything that her real son said he did and made budd sleep in a shed that had wasp but then got revenge on his foster brother by doing the hand in the bowl of water trick. Budd then met up with his friend bug bac from the home. Etc! Just get the book.

    14 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2009

    read this!!!!!!book project review!!!!!

    i loved this book!!!!!! had to read it for a project and now i may get a A+!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    13 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Anomosey

    This book is so great and sad at the same time.

    12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Awesome

    Loved it!!!!!!!

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    OMG

    I read this book when i was in fifth grade... and his father might be in the band....... i cant remember but read the book to find out!!!!!!!

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    wow

    i read this book last year and i liked it then and now. great book for sixth graders.

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Awesomeness

    This book is one of the greatest book i ever read. I had to read this book for school and i thought to myself and said this is gonna be harible. When i started to read i really like it. This book is sad, funny, and most of all THE GREATEST BOOK IN THE WORLD. He should make a second one. :))

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    Great Read for Historical Fiction Book!

    Bud, Not Buddy is placed under the historical fiction book category because it takes you back in time placing you in the shoes of a young African American boy at the age of ten. By placing you in his shoes the author does a good job of letting the reader feel Bud¿s emotions and what his going through on his journey to find his long lost father. Bud¿s mother passed away when he was on six-years-old. She did not leave very much behind but what she did leave Bud believed that they were ¿clues¿ in finding his father. At the age of ten his was tired of being tossed between abusive orphanages, and he takes matters into his own hand. Bud runs away only in seek to find his father and a loving family.
    Bud lives by his own rules, becoming a better liar, and has a bit of fun along is journey. He ends up learning to be grateful for the little thing in life. I personally loved the book being put in someone else's shoes, feeling what they felt, following them through their journey, and simply being interested in how they lived. Reading about situations like Bud¿s helped me relate to my life searching for something better; learning that it¿s not always the big picture that is important but the little things that help you get through every day one day at a time.
    MLW3301

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Matthew Drew

    The best i ever read in my life. This is great book i have read so far.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Bud, not Buddy

    Bud, Not Buddy, by Christopher Paul Curtis, is a historical fiction story about a boy named Bud, who lived with his mother in Flint, Michigan, until she died when he was six. He did not know who his father was, so he was sent to an orphanage. Four years later, the 10-year-old belongs to a foster family, which includes their 12-year-old son, Todd, who treats Bud cruelly. Bud runs away, getting revenge on Todd and his family. He tries to find Herman E. Calloway, who he believes to be his father. On the way, Lefty Lewis, a courier from Grand Rapids, Michigan, tries to help him. They set out on an adventure together in search of both Calloway and a better life. Bud, Not Buddy, takes place during the Great Depression, and revolves around poverty, starvation, and unemployment. While reading this story, I felt as though it was both heartbreaking and humorous. It¿s hard to imagine what it would be like to live during the Great Depression, and living in a foster home with a horrific family. However, the story becomes a little more humorous after Bud meets Lefty Lewis and they start out on their adventure together. Bud's irrepressible good nature, his innocence and his survival skills make him memorable. His literal interpretation of language, his belief system which includes vampires, tokens and ritual behavior all serve to allow us to see the world through the eyes of a ten year old. The setting in the 30s, the height of the Great Depression and the small tastes of racism that the author weaves in so skillfully make this book unforgettable. I would highly recommend this book for children in fifth grade and higher!

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    bud not buddy

    i can tell this book is great

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    I love this book it is my fave!

    My fave book ever!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Yes ma'am, this book is awesome

    This book is a classic and is worth the money. Great read

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Great book

    This book would be a great book to recommend to kids parents because I asked my friends to read this and all the kids in my class and they said it looked like a great book for my friends in 4th Grade.The boys liked it especially to read for a good book report. Really, I think it would be a good book.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Blew my mind!!!!!

    Truly awesome

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 728 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 37