Customer Reviews for

Buddha in Your Mirror: Practical Buddhism and the Search for Self

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Thoroughly enjoyable.

    Bought this on a recommendation from a friend. It's informative and well-written. Not in align with the rigid beliefs I was brought up with, but somehow comforting and reassuring. It is a good book to evaluate your spiritual side whether or not you have religion in your life. This book is the beginning of a new phase in life for me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Western Buddhism is coming and coming faster with authors like Woody Hochswender, Greg Martin and Ted Morino.

    Very Informative and excellent information made readable. I read The Buddha in Your Rearview Mirror first, which inspired me to read The Buddha in Your Mirror. This IS the good book. I bought a copy for my friend also.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2006

    One hundred stars

    I am not a religious person but this book is my Bible. I live by its tenets on a daily basis.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2008

    Interesting, informative

    This was a simply written, easy to understand book about a particular school of buddhism. I would recommend it to anyone who has an interest in spirituality, religions, or even a curiosity of buddhism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2003

    A intellectual way to have many understand, about their life.

    Wow this book really gave me a great understanding of myself. How we are interconnected with everything in the universe. How Nichiren Daishonin's Buddhism had the answer to many questions I had about many many different things. So I gave to my son as a gift as he was having difficulty with everyday things occuring in his life. He has praised me for giving him a gift that made a tremdous difference in his life as to what he read. I recommend this book to every individual. If nothing else it makes a great gift to another that is searching for answers. To learn something new is of great importance. Our life is like a movie. We are the Star and the Director. The ending is up to us!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2002

    Learn to build your indestructible happiness!!!

    This is a wonderful step-by-step tutorial on how to discover the jewel we all posses inside, it seems so easy and yet so profound that you can't help it... you have to give it a good try, and oooh boy you're in for the journey of your life! I'm seeing the wonderful truth they talk about all over the book, that which has been hidden inside of me all this time,,,I'm polishing my diamond in the rough and I can see it starting to shine already!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2002

    Perfect Book For Someone in Need.

    After reading this book I realized how to overcome a lot of the problems in my life through basic buddhist teachings. Not only was this book practical, but it made sense and was easy to read. A friend gave this book to me and I highly recommend this book to others. It deals with everything from relationships to death to one's own self-discovery. IT IS AMAZING!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2002

    Excellent Introduction to Nichiren Buddhism

    This is an excellent introduction to the growing Buddist tradition of Nichiren Buddhism. It covers questions that might be asked by a beginner, as well as goes into deeper areas, such as death and the soul. Recommended, especially for those who are searching for Buddhism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2001

    Compulsory reading if you are keen to learn about Buddhism

    Herbie Hancock's foreword about Nichiren Daishonin Buddhism is captivating and highly inspirational. In fact, I could not stop after I started reading the foreword of the book. If you wish to learn how to apply Buddhist principles and practices in your daily life, I would recommend that you read this book for a start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2001

    Perfect intro to an interesting practice

    You won't find a better 'beginner's manual' for beginning to practice this Buddhism. Maybe it should be called 'Buddhism for Idiots?' Very nuts and bolts, low on the high theory side. It's literally a 'how-to' manual for Buddhism. And the benefits you can't beat, either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2001

    Buddha in Your Mirror: Practical Buddhism and the Search for Self

    This is a fantastic book. Engaging, easy, without too much theory - it's practical and compassionate. It simply explains the profound, life-changing and empowering philosophy of Nichiren Buddhism. I also suggest you read 'Open Your Mind, Open Your Life: A Little Book of Eastern Wisdom' by Taro Gold. It's filled with many rare quotes from Nichiren, Shakyamuni, Toda, Makiguchi and other great Eastern philosphers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2001

    Buddha in Your Mirror: Practical Buddhism and the Search for Self

    This book is very good. It's basically a guide to becoming happy from the Nichiren Buddhist perspective. In clear, easy to understand and encouraging words, it gets to the heart of Nichiren Buddhism, and instructs one on how to practice. Concepts such as 'the oneness of life and environment,' illustrate how our surroundings mirror our life condition, and the way to change our surroundings is by changing ourselves first. Putting this book's teachings to work takes effort, but the results are invaluable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2001

    Excellent

    Herbie Hancock's foreword prepares the reader for a wonderfully written, refreshingly practical introduction to Nichiren Buddhism. This book is an easy-to-read rendering of profound Buddhist concepts - complex concepts that the authors have skillfully made easily applicable to our daily lives. This book is a hopeful reminder that enlightenment is not an unreachable goal but a real state of being available to each and every one of us, here and now, just as we are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2001

    Refreshing explanation of Nichiren Daishonin's Buddhism

    This is a splendid book. Engaging, simple, without too much theory, practical, and deeply compassionate. As a practitioner of Nichiren Daishonin's Buddhism, I didn't know how to simply explain this profound life changing and empowering philosophy to the common person but after reading this book, I know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1