Customer Reviews for

Buddhism Plain and Simple

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2004

    Now I Get It

    I must say, this is one of the best books (about anything!) I've ever read. The basics of Buddhism are presented in a clear and concise manner, and are made easily understood. Being a Buddhist myself, I found this book to help me gain a deeper understanding of my beliefs. I would recommend this book to anyone, especially those who have little knowledge about Buddhism.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Not a religion but a philosophy for living...

    I found the clarity and basic approach very inspiring. It supports views I had acquired from other readings. It cut through the ritualized verbage. For me it was captivating. I am not a student of Buddhism so I can not attest to its accuracy. It was simply what I wanted; a philosophy for living within the range of what I can know. It told me that I must seriously attend to the events in my world for enlightenment. I am a moment in a universe of moments, but it is my moment if I awaken to experience. Perhaps Steve Hagen will assist you in awakening.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Getting Started with Buddhism

    I am new to the teachings of Buddhism and was looking for somewhere to start. This book focused on the core of Buddhism which is awareness and what that means to Buddhist's. At times I was a little confused but these teachings are new to me and ultimately I have a clear understanding. The book was a good start and I am looking into further readings on understanding the Buddhist path.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2006

    '...the practice of being aware, right now, every day....'

    Transpersonal Psychology has often been called Soul or Spiritual Psychology. It's compared with Buddhist Psychology, Pastoral Psychology or any of the new Energy Psychologies and involves an expanded viewpoint of who we are and what we are doing on the earth today. In that vein, I often recommend some basic but deep Buddhist philosophy books to offer guidance to those who want to understand whether Buddhism is indeed what their inner self desires. Buddhism is simply the path of awakening to levels of who we are at our finest. Buddhism is a philosophy that provides us with a way of looking and interacting with ourselves and the world. And the way we look at the world affects everything we do. Zen priest Steve Hagen wrote Buddhism Plain and Simple to illuminate this point. The practice of Buddhism does not involve traveling to the east or meditating on top of a mountain. It does not require you to abandon your religion (if you subscribe to one), your friends or your work. It is, as Hagen explains, ¿the practice of being aware, right now, every day.¿ If you want to understand more about Buddhism, Hagen¿s short 160-page book is definitely the `more¿ that can give you what you need.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2005

    Gives you what you need

    Buddhism is simply the path of awakening to levels of who we are at our finest. Buddhism is a philosophy that provides us with a way of looking and interacting with ourselves and the world. And the way we look at the world affects everything we do. Zen priest Steve Hagen wrote Buddhism Plain and Simple to illuminate this point. The practice of Buddhism does not involve traveling to the east or meditating on top of a mountain. It does not require you to abandon your religion (if you subscribe to one), your friends or your work. It is, as Hagen explains, ¿the practice of being aware, right now, every day.¿ If you want to understand more about Buddhism, Hagen¿s short 160-page book is definitely the `more¿ that can give you what you need.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2005

    If you only buy one book on Buddhism, this is the one to have!

    I bought this book several years ago on a whim, but never read it until recently. I wish now that I had not waited so long... it is the most straightforward, informative book on the buddha-dharma I have read. Everytime I re-read it I learn something new. A great book for anyone from the curious to the serious. A+.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2004

    Plain and Simple is Right

    This book is an amazing book for those of you starting out in your Buddhist journey. I recommend it to everyone who wants to understand Buddhism! Read it and you'll know exactly what I mean! You don't even have to be a Buddhist to appreciate its message.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    Worth reading and giving.

    A quality introduction and overview of Buddhism. I have given it as a gift several times to people who have desired an non-academic introduction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2005

    Climb this ladder, then kick away

    Hagen deploys an array of conceptual tools to release us from our addictive cognitive habits. Consider this book an exit sign you don't want to ignore.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2005

    A Good Title For A Good Book

    As a new person to the study of Buddhism, this was the first book I read, largely on the reccomendations I read here. I agree with most that it is an excellent introduction. If I have any complaints, it is that the author does tend to get a bit repetitive towards the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2002

    wonderful

    This book has changed my life tremendously. It provides so much insight into life that I had searched for so long.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2000

    Awaken

    This book is a joy to read and I will help you 'see' and inturn awaken. Any person who is lucky enough to read it will not be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2000

    very worthwhile

    When I read 'Buddhism: Plain and Simple' the first time, I wasn't especially impressed. I've since gone back and re-read most of it and I have to recant. Hagen describes basic Buddhist philosophy in a way that speaks directly to our lives. There are no trappings of monasticism here, no obscurantist metaphysical mumbo-jumbo, just well, Buddhism: plain and simple! Especially useful were the sections on 'Morality' 'Freedom' and 'Practice.' There is a little nuts-n-bolts instruction here on the mechanics (or how-to) of meditation. I gather that Hagen feels that that is best left for personalized 'one-on-one' interaction with a spiritual teacher. And I don't think Hagen is concerned that you do it EXACTLY a certain way, only that you meditate in a way that helps you directly experience reality. I would highly recommend this book to the novice & experienced meditator. Hagen trained under the late Dainin Katagiri Roshi, a Japanese Zen master who moved to Minnesota after working with Shunryu Suzuki in California.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    A great read.

    I loved how this book is written. It is one to read more than once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Good Christian reading

    I think everyone should read "buddhism Plain and Simple", especially Christians. It will deepen their Christian practice and they will more fully appreciate the power in the teachings of Jesus. I call myself a "Jesesian buddist" which no one understands but me but according to the Tao, that counts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    A fantastic read that does advertised

    This book was exactly what I hoped for and expected. If you are looking to learn the basics of Buddhism while avoiding the religious aspect of it, then this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    an excellent book to start to learn about buddism,easy to unders

    an excellent book to start to learn about buddism,easy to understand and explains everything . If your curious about buddism let this book be the first one you read on the subject !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    An Ideal Introduction To Buddhism

    Steve Hagen provides a straightforward yet thorough description of Zen Buddhism. He uses a combination of anecdotes and "real-world" applications to get across his main ideas. These could range anywhere from stories about Guatama Buddha's life or relating Buddhism to work and families. His casual diction and almost laid back tone provide a refreshing new take on this common subject. Because of that, out of the three books I have read about Buddhism I have felt the most engrossed by this one. Don't let the relaxed style of this book make you too confident though, it still took a while to get through. Hagen condenses a lot of information into about 160 pages, and it wasn't unusual for me to only read 5 pages and then set the book down. I felt that, despite the style of his writing, the material he wrote about was difficult to grasp and it was almost necessary to read bit by bit, as that would ensure that I would understand everything completely. The powerful messages throughout the book, such as the concept of "living in the now" rather than analyzing everything, are worth a slow reading pace, and I would highly recommend this book for anyone interested in getting an introductory grasp on the pillars of Buddhism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    If you read one book about Buddhism - make it this!

    As an aspiring Buddhist (and we are all constantly aspiring), this book was a great help in clearing up many of the basic concepts and central ideas of the Buddhist ideology. It is full of stories that teach lessons and new ways to view the world.
    More philosophy than religion, this book changed the way I looked at the world and I'm glad to have read it. If you're even slightly interested in Buddhism, pick up this book. By the end you will very likely think of yourself as an aspiring Buddhist too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2005

    Excellent Guide to Buddhism

    As a student of theology and while experiencing the beauty of Buddhist practice, I have read a few books to try to understand the religion better.While many have been helpful 'Buddhism Plain and Simple' was the book I have been searching for all along.This book wonderfully, and succinctly, captures the spirit of Buddhism, while guiding the reader on the path originally conceived by Buddha. It shows Buddhism sans later acquired trappings.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3