Customer Reviews for

Buddy: How a Rooster Made Me a Family Man

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I am a reader of mostly very dark mostly true life stories of mi

I am a reader of mostly very dark mostly true life stories of misery. I am a listener of WTKK in Boston. Brian is frequently on this station. After hearing about this book a few times I deceided to give it a try. This book is fabulous. My husband thought he had to ...
I am a reader of mostly very dark mostly true life stories of misery. I am a listener of WTKK in Boston. Brian is frequently on this station. After hearing about this book a few times I deceided to give it a try. This book is fabulous. My husband thought he had to pull over on the expressway one night going home because I was laughing so hard I could not breathe. His detailed words regarding the animals thoughts and feelings are amazing. His relationship with his dog is so heartfelt. Don't get me wrong but this book with also make you cry, I had to put it down at times to clear my eyes. Thank you for a wonderful light read, it is a great book. Congrats !!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by CA1960 on December 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I'll be honest and say that I was skeptical about this book. I'l

I'll be honest and say that I was skeptical about this book. I'll be extra-honest and say that I decided to read it because my local library was closed for the day and I needed to READ. I'm not usually drawn to books about animals. But (even more honesty ahead!~~>) I...
I'll be honest and say that I was skeptical about this book. I'll be extra-honest and say that I decided to read it because my local library was closed for the day and I needed to READ. I'm not usually drawn to books about animals. But (even more honesty ahead!~~>) I was completely charmed by this short and sweet story. It is entertaining, amusing and honest.

Brian McGrory's love for his wise and faithful Golden Retriever Harry is beautiful to read about. Their bond is incredible. I read the passage of Harry's death with very watery eyes.

Despite the tears in the beginning, most of this book is heartwarming and funny. Brian, a single city guy, ends up living in suburbia with a new wife, 2 step-daughters, 2 dogs, 2 rabbits, 2 cats and a rooster. A rooster that is loud and messy and seems to very much enjoy tormenting McGrory. The relationship between man and bird is laugh out loud funny at times.

Jennifer @ The Relentless Reader

posted by TheRelentlessReader on November 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I'll be honest and say that I was skeptical about this book. I'l

    I'll be honest and say that I was skeptical about this book. I'll be extra-honest and say that I decided to read it because my local library was closed for the day and I needed to READ. I'm not usually drawn to books about animals. But (even more honesty ahead!~~>) I was completely charmed by this short and sweet story. It is entertaining, amusing and honest.

    Brian McGrory's love for his wise and faithful Golden Retriever Harry is beautiful to read about. Their bond is incredible. I read the passage of Harry's death with very watery eyes.

    Despite the tears in the beginning, most of this book is heartwarming and funny. Brian, a single city guy, ends up living in suburbia with a new wife, 2 step-daughters, 2 dogs, 2 rabbits, 2 cats and a rooster. A rooster that is loud and messy and seems to very much enjoy tormenting McGrory. The relationship between man and bird is laugh out loud funny at times.

    Jennifer @ The Relentless Reader

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Great book!

    If you like autobiographical tales that are well written, try this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    I am a reader of mostly very dark mostly true life stories of mi

    I am a reader of mostly very dark mostly true life stories of misery. I am a listener of WTKK in Boston. Brian is frequently on this station. After hearing about this book a few times I deceided to give it a try. This book is fabulous. My husband thought he had to pull over on the expressway one night going home because I was laughing so hard I could not breathe. His detailed words regarding the animals thoughts and feelings are amazing. His relationship with his dog is so heartfelt. Don't get me wrong but this book with also make you cry, I had to put it down at times to clear my eyes. Thank you for a wonderful light read, it is a great book. Congrats !!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    WONDERFUL!

    Really excellent -

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I am in love with Harry and would like to have Buddy for dinner


    I am in love with Harry and would like to have Buddy for dinner...hehehehe. I did enjoy this book but, I was wondering why he named it "Buddy", it should have been called "Harry" as the book was mostly about his dog Harry, that he loved and lost as a bachelor. Brian meets his future family through Harry and the journey from bachelor to Family man with Pam and the girls and Buddy the wackadoo Rooster and the critters they had and lost (but sadly never Buddy...:)is a bumpy and a funny one. Brian moves in with his girlfriend, all her animals, kids and takes a ton of crap from Buddy the rooster who terrorizes him 24/7 and he takes it! Pam's kids treat him horribly, Pam cuts him no slack and at some point I wanted to yell at him ...MAN UP DUDE! I too am an animal lover and have had similar moments with loved ones but usually with dogs, cats, horses ect...never a Rooster! It does have endearing moments and I did chuckle quite a bit and at the end all is well with Brian and his new fledgling family. I would like to give a shout out to Pam and her girls...be nice! I too had a "Harry" in my life and I cried and was much more interested when the story was about your beloved dog. Brian, Your love for Harry is beautiful and that should be your next book...:)


    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    I didn't expect to enjoy this book

    Missed the last book club meeting, so I had no say in the book selected. A book about a rooster? Really?? I read it over the "Blizzard of 2013" weekend, and I LOVED IT! While it is about a rooster, sort of, the parts I enjoyed most were when the author described first his desire for a dog and then his relationship with his dog. This is really a "nice" book. There's no cliff-hangers, no mysteries, it's just a story about a guy and his life. He's not a super hero... he's just a guy. A really enjoyable, easy to read book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Highly Recommended Book

    This book is very funny, and I highly recommend it to a (live) chicken lover, like myself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Snowbud

    Pads in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Sasha

    "Any1 want me to adopt them? U hav to get alomg w/cats cuz i hav a kitten."
    ~Sasha

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Snowcone

    Chases her tail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Mudbud

    (Creepin meh out!) Buddha is dat all u do dewd? (I need ideas...what can i buy for someone who luvs drawing horses and dragons, plus her own made up creatures?)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Buddha

    Merry Christmas to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Apprentice Den

    On the oppisite side of camp from the warriors den sits a small hollow log. The log is about five fox tails long with soft grass growing around it. Inside the log is moss for nests. Here the young warriors can rest after training or stay outside. They can practice new battle moves or a new hunting techniuqe. It is perfect for these young cats. -informing Rosestar

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1