Customer Reviews for

Buena Vista Social Club

Average Rating 5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    It's a vacation on a disc

    Listen to this CD and you'll feel mellow for days. Listen to it on a cold winter day and you'll feel tropical warmth. This is my favorite CD purchase of 2009. I truly admire these performers... they still have "it."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    fantastic--buy this CD

    I bought this CD after viewing the documentary while a student at Univ. of Edinburgh in Scotland, February 2000. After almost 8 years, it continues to be one of the most played CD's in my library. I love all of the songs, but especially "Viente Anos," "Candela," and "El Cuarto de Tula." Even my friends who don't go for Latin music outside of when eating at a Mexican restaurant have been floored by this CD!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Magical...

    This is truly a great album and will be remembered as a classic. If you need to know if its "listenable" then throw your inhibitions away and get lost in the magical sound of this record. I'm not into Latin music at all (Mr. Bungle rock) but this is an album everyone should enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ONLY BY ACCIDENT

    i got this cd by accident from a friend from germany n' living here in egypt... it's very nice classical latin music played by old musicans whom they got the keys to entertain themselves with the music they like as to entertain us all allover the world..... how the words seemed to be that easy with no strong language but including thousands of nice meanings thnx to buena vista SC to entertain us that much n' thnx to ma friend for the accident :) sherio

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of my favorite CD's

    I love the variety of the music and the history of the artists. I fell in love with this music when I was staying at our resort in Cancun and had to have it. That was before I knew anything about the Social Club. Since then I've heard it in many different countries. I listen to it over and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is Ear Candy!!! A Must Have!

    The instrumental music/orchestra is amazing, as well as the singer's warm voice! This CD makes you want to dance to the slow as well as to the fast songs. It truly captures the essence of Cuban style music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great

    The Greatest album of the world Best song: all Best singer: all Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    cool!!!

    i have seen their VCD after i bought this cd. it's cool and very worth to keep one. when u listen to their music, u just can't help yourself to move your body....and experience their wonderful music....great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    EXCELLENCE!!!!!!!!!

    I fell in love with this group after watching the 2 hour documentary, the following day I went to purchase the cd. I usually just download my music, but they really did deserve every penny I paid for.My children are singing and they don't speak spanish.I will attend their concert. they are truly fabulous!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Buena Vista Social Club

    Buy it, listen to it, you'll love it. Nothing more needs to be said.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    que viva la musica

    It's about time that the root of mambo (or salsa) got its overdue recognition in the US. The music these guys play gives young musicians - like me - the opportunity to reflect and think about what makes great Afro-caribbean music. Talent and unquestionable love must rise explicitly above the music - whatever the music is. These guys schooled me on that!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Que Musica!

    I had never really been into the Cuban/Latin vibe, but after listening to the Buena Vista Social Club Collection, Ibrahim Ferrer solo, and going to a Ruben Blades concert, I've become a true disciple of the art! Viva la musica y espero que podamos compartirla con las generaciones que vienen!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Superb! Muy caliente! ***** 5 STARS PLUS *****

    Simply the best music I've heard in a while. Unbelievable vocals and keyboards by extremely talented performers who are not young by today's standards. I saw the group in person and the crowd was dancing in the aisles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1