Customer Reviews for

The Buffalo Soldier

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    An Enduring and Memorable Story

    The characters are so well portrayed and explored, it's as if they become your 'neighbors.' This is an uplifting and affirming story about bonds which are lost, broken, found, strengthened and cherished. There's a vivid portrayal of the community, and how the environment affects them. I found the boy's bond with the horse an especially heartwarming and momentous aspect of the story. I'm a fan of Bohjalian, and have read all but one of his books....for a long time, I didn't read 'Buffalo' because it involved loss of young children, and I was afraid I would just fall apart over that aspect. While it is a very sad story, it does not remain or linger there. This author achieves such conscious, understanding accounts of relationships--especially authentic between the foster mother and the boy. I wish I could give an 'exceeds 5 stars' rating.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    I love reading

    Cant wait to read this book i love reading

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    EXCELLENT!

    I particularly enjoyed this novel. I am a definite fan of Chris Bohjalain, and book by book I love his work even more. The Buffalo Soldier is a beautiful story of grief and pain, and how people heal against all odds. It is impossible not to love Alfred (the foster child) and it is especially interesting how the author ties some history of the buffalo soldiers into the beginning of each chapter. As many Bohjalain reviewers touch upon his fantastic ability to address social issues in his writing, he certainly nails the foster care system in VT. with this book. This is a truly beautiful and poignant story...it is a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    wonderful story...

    The Buffalo Soldier is a complex tale of morals and emotions. I loved it. I loved how the book was written with the chapters alternating between the main characters so the reader gets to see the whole picture. I was able to sympathize with each character and understand why they did the things they did. Bohjalian did a wonderful job creating his characters; Terry, the stereotypical macho highway patrolman. His fragile wife Laura, who is still grieving the loss of her children. Alfred, the somewhat troubled foster child who is seemingly the only black person in miles. And probably my favorite character, Paul, the retired professor who is the first to bond with Alfred. The Buffalo Soldier is a journey of frail and fractured lives trying to grasp the roots to form a family. I couldn't put the book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2013

    Great read!

    This is a very good book. At first the title kind of threw me off and I thought it was something I would not be interested in. I could not put this one down. The characters really come to life and I felt like I knew them. I loved the whole story and the ending was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2002

    Best Yet

    I think this is Bohjalian's best book yet. I really enjoyed Midwives, Law of Similars and Transister Radio, but I think he has really hit his stride with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2002

    Excellent Book!!!!

    I absolutely loved this book...I am an avid reader and this book is one of the best I have read so far...The author does an excellent job of describing the characters...I felt like they were living next door to me. I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2002

    I love everything I read by Chris Bohjalian

    Chris Bohjalian is a wonderful writer, and I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I read the last 150 pages in one night because I could no longer delay knowing the outcome. In The Buffalo Soldier as well as in Midwives and The Law of Similars, Bohjalian writes about the transgressions of otherwise ordinary and good hearted people. In addition to a great storyline, Bohjalian gave me insight into the unexplored world of midwifery, homeopathic science, and a side of American history not referred to in text books. His books are educating as well as entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2002

    One of the Best

    This was an absolutely wonderful book that I couldn't put down about a couple who has suffered tremendous loss and brings in a foster child, who changes the lives of his foster family and the town. It would be a great book club selection also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1