Customer Reviews for

Buffalo Soldiers: An Upstate New York Mafia Tale

Average Rating 5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    Read the paperback version.  Really solid story.  Will read more

    Read the paperback version.  Really solid story.  Will read more for sure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    Loved it.  Great second effort!

    Loved it.  Great second effort!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Nicholas Denmon's debut thriller For Nothing had me in awe from

    Nicholas Denmon's debut thriller For Nothing had me in awe from its first pages, and Buffalo Soldiers is no different. It is different, though, all the while keeping with its Upstate NY Mafia Tale tone, if that's even possible. But it is, you know, possible, for this author, who is not just talented with words but in his writing is insightful, unique, and beautiful.

    If there was one thing I never expected from this series it was to fall in love. In For Nothing it was not just Rontego (back off ladies, this one's mine) but the things found between the lines like the elegance of murder and the necessary evils that play alongside revenge. In Buffalo Soldiers it was Ivan. I was happy to see Raf again (like catching up with an old friend if you get my drift), but Ivan was who I was after as I flipped the pages. From his introduction I was enticed by him. For reasons this brilliant author should only have the right to give away, it turned out. Ivan, and Buffalo - I was in love. I am, in love. With the art of telling a darn good story, and reading one. With Buffalo Soldiers, for having achieved this feat, this level of otherworldly wonder where the mafia meets love meets tragedy meets family meets dammit, you don't have to do this to yourself. I mean, you don't have to live in this warzone of fire and regret and loss... so much loss. And as you realize it you cry, and then you ask yourself what the heck am I doing? because you're reading a freaking book, and it's not even real.

    But it is.

    You can feel it. And that's what matters to you.

    Don't pass over this book because you think it's a mafia crime thriller and that's not "your thing". Read it because you like reading or because you believe in the power of the written word. Read it because you follow Nicholas Denmon on Twitter or you just don't know what to read next. Just make sure... you read it.

    There's plenty of killing and stuff, too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2013

    This is a top notch follow up on the debut, For Nothing.  I am a

    This is a top notch follow up on the debut, For Nothing.  I am a fan and look forward to his third book!  Well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2013

    Love this book and am gobbling up the series

    Love this book and am gobbling up the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2013

    Sequel really continued in the theme of the first and I enjoyed

    Sequel really continued in the theme of the first and I enjoyed it.  I would read it again and recommend it. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    Read the first one a giveaway and am hooked on the series! Well

    Read the first one a giveaway and am hooked on the series! Well worth the 2.99 - especially since it was a 2 for 1 steal I mean deal for me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    Great!

    Great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    Great feel to the paper back -solid story.  A plus

    Great feel to the paper back -solid story.  A plus

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1