Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Once More, with Feeling

Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Once More, with Feeling

4.8 45
by
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Since its 1997 small-screen debut, the cult movie turned hit television series Buffy the Vampire Slayer has been hailed for its cutting-edge (no pun intended) attack. In 1999, the show spawned the alt-rock-heavy Buffy the Vampire Slayer: The Album, but for the series' second soundtrack, Buffy

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Once More, with Feeling 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 45 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I don't even know what to say. Get this CD any way you have to. Beautifully written and sung. Props and thanks to Joss and Co.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Over the years, Buffy has always been a venue for up and comming artists. Did anyone know who Chibi Moto were before Buffy? No, didn't think so. Now, finally, the artists are the cast members themselves! Tara's heart warming ballad will tug at your emotion. Anya's "bunny" innuendo will make you laugh. "Give Me Something to Sing About" will make you cry. Well, not really, but all the songs are pretty damn good!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have listened to this CD over and over and cannot get the songs out of my head. It is definitely one of my favorites...EVER.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Few shows will have a musical episode - but Buffy's done it! The soundtrack will be outstanding as the tv clips (downloadable) are already decent quality! See the musical episode, buy the soundtrack and enjoy the fun and talent behind a musical! The actors may not be the best singers around, but there is obvious talent in many of thier voices. The types of songs (all written by Buffy creator Joss Weadon) vary making this soundtrack so much fun. Being able to watch the episode is much more fun for there is wonderful footage, but being able to listen to studio versions is a treat! 5 stars for the episode and the CD!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Once more with Feeling episode has got to be one of the best 70 minutes of TV you'll ever see. Joss Whedon is brilliant. THis man can do anything...seriously!! If your a Buffy fan, you'll love the CD. THe sound is clear, and all the interuptions you heard while watching the episode is taken out, so all your left with are these great tunes. My faves are: Under your Spell, Standing, Rest in Peace, and Walk through the fire!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is an awesome soundtrack! All of the actors really can sing and the arrangements are new and catchy! Thanks, Joss, for such a great take on the musicals!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The whole cast has singing talent, but Amber Benson just takes your breath away! Her performance on I'M UNDER YOUR SPELL is tara-iffic.
Buffy34 More than 1 year ago
I really like this CD, my daughter and I like to sing along to it, they are very catchy tunes! Joss did a wonderful job on this episode of BTVS when he created it, and everyone sounds great! I wish Allison Hannigan sang a little more on it though, she sounds better than she thinks!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I would give this more then five stars if I could. The Buffy cast really out did themselves in "Once More, With Feeling"! I'm so glad they made that musical episode into a soundtrack. It's one of those soundtracks that you can listen to over and over again.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I already have the songs downloaded and they're GREAT. I can't wait to buy the CD so I can bring the music around with me (I can't lug my computer everywhere). Once More, With Feeling was one of the best episodes ever made. Too bad the Emmys will only nominate the same shows every year and won't give Buffy a chance.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Three cheers for the wonderful world of pre-orders!!!! It's September 23rd, and I've just finished listening to my new "Once More, With Feeling" soundtrack from start to finish!!!! ;) Having been one of those evil people who bought a pirated soundtrack months ago (shame on me!), I was a bit surprised by the real thing. I had to keep reminding myself that, yes, NORMAL musical soundtracks DO take out all that pesky dialogue spoken over the music! ;) There were also a subtle but distinct differences from the aired versions of the songs. Some of these were obvious--no dialogue, some songs have extended intros or codas that were edited from the full-length aired episode, etc. But if you've obsessed over these songs as much as I have, you'll also notice some nuances of the vocal performances that differ, as well as details of the background music that weren't audible before. Which brings me to the MAJOR difference--the balance between background and vocals. At first, I was a bit distressed by the fact that the background music tends to all but overwhelm the singers on a semi-regular basis. After all, in the aired version, it was pretty important for us to be able to understand the lyrics (or we'd be VERY confused!), so I'm sure they tweaked the balance in favor of the vocals....and that's what I've gotten used to! Somewhere during "Standing," however, it hit me. The sheer genius of Joss. The man is brilliant! This album is almost as much a series of karaoke tracks as it is a soundtrack. And honestly--isn't that what most of us really want: to be able to sing along? To let all our love for these characters, their pains, their joys, and all their fascinating stories all come pouring out in the lyrics? I say again: Joss Whedon is a man of genius. A karaoke soundtrack. Who'd'a thunk it? ;) The bonus tracks are equally impressive, and whoever was in charge of choosing which earlier episodes deserved mention also needs to be applauded. The suite from "Hush" is equal parts disturbing, dignified, and majestic--and really, doesn't the music from the episode with virtually NO spoken dialogue deserve some recognition? The excerpts from "Restless" are equally haunting and alien, instantly evocative of the barren landscape prowled by the First Slayer. And to any and all true fans of the show (you know who you are, even if you won't admit it!): I *dare* you not to tear up while listening to "Sacrifice," the track from "The Gift." The demo track of "Something to Sing About" is also a lot of fun. Kudos to Kai Cole for her lovely performance--so different from Sarah Michelle Gellar's!--as well as to the Man himself, for teaching himself to play the piano so well in only a few months! In short, there is not a single bad track on this entire album. If you're a diehard fan....well, you already KNOW you're gonna buy it, so why are you still reading? If you're an occasional Buffy buff....I guarantee you'll be humming these tunes after a few days, and singing along within a week (and probably watching the reruns on FX a few days after that). And if you can't stand the show....well, I'm not sure why YOU'RE reading this, either, but if you take a chance and buy it, you won't be disappointed. It's a must-have for everybody! :D
Guest More than 1 year ago
Without question, Once More With Feeling was one of television's finest moments, and the best hour of TV that I have ever seen. Funny, moving, this episode has everything. The songs have great lyrics and a great feel. The added bonus of the truly spectacular track, Sacrifice (from The Gift) makes this CD one that every Buffy fan should have. My only complaint is that I want more CDs featuring the score from the show.
Guest More than 1 year ago
One of the best albums ever!Great tracks-and humorous lyrics.Im happy that they put some other music in it from 'Restless' and 'Hush'as It has been long saught after.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Once again Joss Whedon shows us how clever and extremely talented he is "Once More, With Feeling" is not only wonderful musically it's well written and beautifully transformed by the cast and crew, Buffy continues to raise the bar for all other television shows there will never be another like it.To me they have broken the mold.Long may she slay
Guest More than 1 year ago
Joss Whedon has never stopped amazing me with his wonderful show. The writing is absolutely superb and always keeps you wanting more. I was so excited when I heard that there was going to be a musical episode. "Once More With Feeling" is one of the best Buffy episodes ever. If I had to watch on episode over and over, this would be the one i'd choose. The songs are great and catchy and all the actors have great voices. I could listen to James Marsters(Spike) all day. Of course, it goes without saying, that Anthony S Head is extremely talented. You should buy this CD. You don't need to be a die hard Buffy fan to enjoy all the songs. Of course, if you watch they show you'd understand better what they were singing about. If I could, i would give this CD higher than 5 stars.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a fabulous cd!! I LOVED the Buffy musical episode, and I am a big snob regarding musicals; I didn't think anything could come close to Les Miserables, but I play this soundtrack almost as much as that one! The songs are well crafted, catchy, sing-along-tunes that you can't seem to get out of your head, and the performances of all of these actors are fabulous, you won't be disappointed with this one!!! Great bonus tracks too, you won't find yourself scanning through any of the songs!
Guest More than 1 year ago
What I like about Buffy the musical is that, they did really a great job with the moves, the lyrics of the songs, and how they did the music, and the episode was great. I love all the songs on the CD!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is it! The ultimate BTVS CD. You get to HEAR your favorite charcters sing! All of them are talented singers as well. But I gotta say Sarah Michelle Gellar, Amber Benson, Anthony Stewart Head and James Marsters blew me away! James Marsters rocks as a singer. I totally agree that he can act, sing, write and direct. Plus he is hot...
Guest More than 1 year ago
I finally got this cd...Once with More With Feeling showcases the singing talents of the actors from Buffy. My favourite songs are...heck, I love 'em all. If your a die-hard Buffy fan, buy this cd. You won't regret it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the best soundtrack every! The songs are great, the actors don't sound bad and the lyrics are funny. I also loved the episode itself. If you love Buffy, you'll love this soundtrack!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love this soundtrack for Buffy. It cut out all of the conversations of the episode, so it just goes through all the songs. It's one of my favorite episodes and albums.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Buffy the Vampire Slayer has been one of the most consistently great TV series ever produced, and even the most casual fans will love this collection. Hats off to all involved: the actors for bravely stepping up and singing(even if it's not something they'd normally care to do), the musicians and arrangers that refined Joss Whedon's brilliant vision so beautifully, and of course Joss himself for writing and directing it. No one else on TV has the courage and genius to make this happen, and we should show our appreciation by buying the CD. It's well worth it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this is a great album, and a must-have for any buffy fan. i love "sacrifice" it's such a beautiful song. the rest of the songs from the episode are there in thier entirety, making this cd perfect.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Buffy is not only my favorite show, but now my favorite CD. I saw the musical episode and had to get the CD. It is great, the songs are funny, and the cast sings great!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
i have watched the episode atleast 100 times so you know i love it, but i cant exactly take the dvd everywhere so the cd comes with me in the car i take it every where i absolutly love it! plus we all love james marsters but hey get off hes mine...well in my dreams atleast!