BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Build Your Mind, Your Body Will Follow

Average Rating 3.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

A promising perspective and a better attitude.

Having struggled with weight and self esteem issues most of my life, I was a bit apprehensive in diving into another book which would point the blame at me. This book however has changed my life in so many ways. Vincent Cocilovo writes in a way that makes you feel lik...
Having struggled with weight and self esteem issues most of my life, I was a bit apprehensive in diving into another book which would point the blame at me. This book however has changed my life in so many ways. Vincent Cocilovo writes in a way that makes you feel like this book was written for you, that he is sitting in a room with you telling you what needs to be done. So many other books out there are so intimidating in their text, they scare you with statistics, gross you out with a meal plan and just plainly make you feel like you will never lose weight. Not this book. This book completely changed my attitude about feeling good about myself. It made me realize that I could accomplish anything once I learn to love myself ( a task which seems hard, but within the first chapter you realize that it is possible.) With "Build Your Mind, Your Body Will Follow" the reader is shown a different perspective, and instead of crying out of humility and embarassment, I was crying out of satisfaction and I felt like a new person. At last! Someone shows what being fit and weight loss is about! It's not just about how many calories you need to burn in a day- it's about the mental aspect and this book clearly exemplifies that. Whenever I am feeling down or frustrated, I reread Cocolivo's book. This book also makes me feel like I am not alone. When you deal with self esteem issues you think that no one else is going through the same thing but after reading this book I realize that is not the case. Cocilovo writes this book in such a way that he makes it seem as though he truly understands. If a complete stranger can tell me to love myself, then why can't I love myself? After reading this book, I do! It has gotten me on the right track and has made such a difference in my life. I will always keep this book close to me because sometimes you just need that extra motivation which Vincent Cocilovo truly delivers.

posted by 2595723 on December 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Not worth it

Before buying based on the title like I did, ask yourself if this would work for you: "Love is a powerful thing...You are Life, Life is Love, You are love, and thus You are 'a powerful thing'...." For me, that's just silliness dressed as logic, and it has nothing to do...
Before buying based on the title like I did, ask yourself if this would work for you: "Love is a powerful thing...You are Life, Life is Love, You are love, and thus You are 'a powerful thing'...." For me, that's just silliness dressed as logic, and it has nothing to do with motivation to lead a healthy lifestyle.

posted by Timbuck on September 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    Bogus Reviews?

    Sounds like these 5 Star reviews are all written by the Author or someone really trying to push this book. A friend of mine read it and said it was extremely boring. And what's with the pre-teens on the cover? Is he the one who wrote it?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    Great, Great, Great, Great! THANK YOU!!!!

    Great! One word says it all! I ordered this book in the summer, read it the first time in about a week, and have consistently referred back to it for easy reminders! I was one of those people who kept trying the newest "it" diets. I bought so many different diet and exercise books that I think I could stock my own section of Barnes & Noble! Yet, I never found the long-lasting results that I sought. Then I read, "Build Your Mind, Your Body Will Follow"...and things started to change. Mr. Cocilovo doesn't give diet or exercise advice. He gives advice on how to mentally get it in gear...and I did, and now I am healthier, slimmer, and HAPPIER than I have ever been! Read this with an open mind...if you are like me...you have tried many other diets and are still not at the point you want to be...so what do you have to lose?! Thank you Mr. Cocilovo...THANK YOU!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2010

    OH MY GOSH!! I am giving this to 5 friends as gifts!

    This is the first review I have written for a book. So, that in and of itself should tell you something...THIS book is AMAZING! I purchased it about 2 months ago, because I was tired of always trying the next great diet, or joining a gym and then finding every reason not to consistently get there. I didn't want to be another statistic like so many others who can't seem to lose and keep weight off and get into shape! Mr. Cocilovo takes a totally different look at what we need to do BEFORE we start on a diet or walk into a gym! It is GREAT! I read the book in about a week (would've been faster but I have work, 2 kids, and family responsibilities). But, it is a very easy read, and WOW...so powerful! So, after reading the book, I reflected for a couple of days, and since then....I have been in the gym alot more, I have chosen to eat healthier, and even better...I FEEL GREAT ABOUT MYSELF! Oh, and I have lost 9 pounds in just over a month. Nothing crazy, but it is progress that will just keep coming, because I CHOOSE to be healthy! Thank you Mr. Cocilovo. And, now I am going to give this book to 5 of my friends as holiday gifts. I can't recommend this book enough!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2007

    Not so thrilled

    Wasn't so impressed - I've read things like this before and the concept is nothing new. It is very preachy and doesn't have any concrete principles. I was disappointed. At some points I was actually laughing it was so ridiculous.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2007

    Recommend to my patients

    I had the opportunity to read this book on vacation. The subject matter keeps you moving forward in anticipation of what is to follow in the subsequent chapters. I liked the philosophy chapter setting off the tone of the book. I will recommend to my patients.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2007

    This book changed my life and I am still utilizing the program.

    When I first picked up this book I was skeptical about the approach, but after reading it and feeling improvement - I am a believer! I found this book both encouraging and uplifting. I was empowered after putting together my personal fitness plan and achieving my goals. Although I am physically challenged, it helped me to regain strength and mobility in my leg after following the exercise regimen. This book was so helpful that I've purchased it for two of my friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2007

    A must have guide to achieving your goals!

    I read this stuff all the time. If it mentions exercise, food or losing weight, you can bet that I have read it. But this is not like the other books that I have read. Instead of focusing on an actual diet or exercise routine, it brings out that you need to find the motivation inside to make yourself the best you can be...and then your body will follow. To my surprise, I found myself learning more about how I think and act and could not put this book down. A particularly poignant message was the concept of how we all tend to do things to please others -- but what happens when those people leave? Who is left with the results? It is a quick read, and well worth it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2007

    Great book, makes you think, and get on the right track!

    I picked up this book on another site, but sent a few of my friends here to pick up the book. I had been on diets and exercise programs for the better part of the last 10yrs...always losing weight but then gaining it back and feeling badly about it. Well, Vincent's book helped me put things into perspective, to think more positively and to choose to loose weight. And, I can say that I am well on my way to being HAPPY, AND FIT! I highly recommend this title!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    very uninformative

    this book keeps promising to share information and by the end of each chapter i felt empty and confused. it leads nowhere. sorry, i could not finish this book. i do not recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Pass on this one

    THIS BOOK IS AWFUL AND IRRITATING! SAVE YOUR MONEY

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not What I Was Looking For

    The author talked so much about inspiring people that it was overload for me. I wanted a book that explained how to target certain parts of the body and how to exercise them. But instead it was how to motivate people to exercise. I was very disappointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I agree with the title but that was about it

    I agree that one has to get their mind straight in order to deal with fitness/health/weight issues - but author sets up some weird premises beyone that and writes like he thinks he is funny, but it isn't. Overall not useful

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3