Customer Reviews for

The Builders

Average Rating 3.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Loved this book!

So sorry that Maeve is no longer with us. She makes her characters come alive and always makes us happy in the end.

posted by 17145611 on February 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Not worth the price

I have read (and loved) every book Maeve Binchy has written. Although this book was OK, it definately was not worth the $12 price I paid for it. You could sit in the corner of the bookstore and read it in less than an hour - which is probably why they don't have it in...
I have read (and loved) every book Maeve Binchy has written. Although this book was OK, it definately was not worth the $12 price I paid for it. You could sit in the corner of the bookstore and read it in less than an hour - which is probably why they don't have it in stock and I had to order it. I do recommend all of her books, especially Quintens and Light a Penny Candle. I just hope she doesn't write any more "small" books like this again.

posted by 2024534 on October 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2009

    Not worth the price

    I have read (and loved) every book Maeve Binchy has written. Although this book was OK, it definately was not worth the $12 price I paid for it. You could sit in the corner of the bookstore and read it in less than an hour - which is probably why they don't have it in stock and I had to order it. I do recommend all of her books, especially Quintens and Light a Penny Candle. I just hope she doesn't write any more "small" books like this again.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    Overpriced for the size

    This was a good story as usual. I was very disappointed to find it was only 40 pages and felt cheated. There does not appear to be a way to find the size of a book when purchasing it online or the Nook. We are trusting that what we buy from B&N is a good value and this is definitely not one.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Ripped off! $.25 per page

    Cant beleive i just spent 9.99 for 40 pages! Lovely story but couldve spent the money on a real book dont understand why b&n doesnt show number of pages before purchase

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    Very disapointed

    I enjoy reading Maeve Binchey's books and liked this one as well. However I was very disappointed to find it was only 40 pages. Especially for the price! I think that the discriptions should indicate that it is a short story.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    Overpriced

    This was actually a short story rather than a novel. I'm sorry I paid $7 for it. It was enjoyable as Maeve Binchy always is but over priced.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    Waste of money

    This was my 1st purchase for my nook and I could not believe it was 40pages and 25 minutes of reading for $7. time to return my nook so I know what I am getting for my money!! Great story how ever as usual from Ms Binchy.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2010

    An okay read

    I was so looking forward to reading this book having read all of Maeve's books. I wish I would have investigated the size of it before buying it. Definitely not worth the $7.16 I paid for it for my NOOK. Great read, disappointing price.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Quick Little Story!

    Very entertaining in its own small way. I think it took about twenty-three minutes to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Great quick read with usual twist

    Will miss this author now she has died. Always enjoyed her books and this is no exception.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Do not buy!

    A waste of money - just a short story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Loved this book!

    So sorry that Maeve is no longer with us. She makes her characters come alive and always makes us happy in the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2014

    Charming

    A very short tale by our beloved Maeve Binchy, heartfelt a usual and a varied and interesting cast of characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2