Customer Reviews for

Building Moral Intelligence: The Seven Essential Virtues that Teach Kids to Do the Right Thing

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    This is the good stuff

    Very practical and comprehensive. Easy to work through. I started a conversation about the material about empathy (the first virtue) with my 10 year old daughgter and the conversation is continuing. She is taking this matter seriously because it affects her daily life and offers solutions to her unhappy experiences in social settings. This is a book that can change our schools. I am using it to change hers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2008

    A Must-Read For New Parents

    'Building Moral Intelligence' helped me to gain a new perspective of moral intelligence, and how I can raise my children to understand. This book was very helpful and informing.<BR/>No time to read the whole book? Check out the 8 page summary at ParentsDigest.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2002

    why a new book?

    It's beyond me why Michele is doing a new book on the same subject so soon - this one is barely a year old? Regardless, this 2001 edition is outstanding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2001

    Excellent book for parents and educators

    Dr. Michele Borba has a long and successful track record helping build the moral character of our youth. As an educator, I have long been quite familiar with her books and materials on building self esteem. Her concepts are not ¿feel good¿ simplistic ideas, but rather she works with the concept that self esteem comes from the acquisition of skills such as the seven virtues in this book. Building Moral Intelligence is an asset to parents who have a difficult job raising moral children in a society that offers many countering forces. I have used her book Parents DO Make a Difference in working with parent groups. I expect this book will be as valuable for parents and educators alike. Working with children and raising a family are both exciting yet challenging jobs. We are lucky to have Dr. Borba¿s help.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2001

    Building the future one child at a time...

    I applaud this book! During my 25 years teaching in public schools, I have witnessed a disturbing shift in the way young people view themselves and the world around them. In the midst of troubling news about kids today, <i>Building Moral Intelligence</i> offers a refreshing look at what can be. A healthy mix of background information, authoritative research, and anecdotal content leads the reader to practical tools to evaluate and encourage positive personal growth. Clearly written and well edited, Dr. Borba's book offers a realistic understanding of current trends, then provides concrete solutions that address each critical issue. As one of the world's leading authorities on moral development, Dr. Borba has given us a real book for real people. <i>Building Moral Intelligence</i> holds the key to what is possible for kids everywhere. This should be mandatory reading for every parent, every politician, and every citizen who cares about the health of this nation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2001

    If you could only read one book on moral development!

    One of the more encouraging developments in the concern about the character and behavior of our young people has been the publication of books designed to bring the research of social scientists and educators to the public in a format and context that could be easily understood. Thomas Lickona accomplished that in 1981 with his outstanding book, Raising Good Children. William Damon did so with his 1988 book, The Moral Child. Now Michele Borba has continued that fine tradition, calling upon both the latest research findings as well as her extensive experience as an educator and visiting consultant and her knowledge base as the mother of three sons. She has written a remarkably thorough and yet completely accessible book on the whole topic of building moral intelligence, focusing on seven essential virtues she had identified, a book on how to teach children moral behavior by instruction, example, and practice. I wondered how she could possibly succeed at convering such an extensive topic. She does it by presenting interesting scientific data, by skillfully summarizing much of the complex and sophisticated research results in this field, and by innovatively interspersing the science with useful and entertaining experiences ands anecdotes that poignantly illustrate each virtue and each desirable behavior or issue. The helpful general and scientific references are found at the end, as well as contact Internet addresses. Dr. Borba never strays from her theme and purpose, and in doing so has written arguably the most comprehensive and useful book yet available on the important subject of how we, as parents, family members, educators, and members of the health professions, can evaluate and help young people to build their moral intelligence. The famous historian Heraclitus prophetically wrote that 'Character is Destiny.' As a health professional working with children and adolescents in a mental hospital, the words of Heraclitus resound with me. I only wish that the parents and family members of 'my kids' had already, or would read this book. Such a critical difference it would have or could make on the health and future of these precious children! If you could only own one book on moral intelligence, this is the one I would recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2001

    New book a great resource!

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Tools for preparing my kids for life Reviewer: A reader from El Dorado Hills, CA USA Being the mother of two small girls about to enter the public school system, I have spent many nights worrying what kinds of challenges lay ahead. After reading Dr. Borba's book, I sleep much easier. She provides such a clear desciption of the essential skills that will help parents and teachers prepare kids to succeed. By teaching these virtues to my kids, I know that they will flourish in any situation. Dr. Borba gives practical and easy to use methods to enhance virtues that research has proven reduces aggression in kids. Her examples are entertaining and teach the importance of every moment I spend with my child and the influence I have on developing these traits in her. By offering hard research, then clear descriptions of what each of the seven virtues is, I know how to make a difference in my kids' lives and their ability to cope. The book is filled with resources along with proven methods that are fun to implement and even more fun when I see the changes in my kids everyday. I hope all parents and teachers will take advantage of this great resource, for our kid's sake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2001

    Every Parents Needs This book

    This is the first book I've seen that gives me PRACTICAL ways to help my sons become decent human beings. The sections on bully proofing, self control and anger management are tops. If parents could only read this book together we really could reduce violence in our kids' lives

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1