Customer Reviews for

Building on Nature: The Life of Antoni Gaudi

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 7, 2009

    Lyrical and Inspiring

    Rachel Rodriguez has a wonderful ability to write lyrical descriptions of complicated buildings in language accessible to children yet enjoyable for adults. The illustrations enhance and illuminate the text. It's one of those books you hope that your child will pull down from the shelf and request before bedtime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    Story and art match that of Gaudi!

    For anyone who loves the art and architecture of Antoni Gaudi, this book captures both beautifully. Although written for children, I loved the story as much as my grandchildren. We also loved Rachel's book about Georgia O'Keefe. She has a wonderful way of capturing the essence of her subjects.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2009

    A Masterpiece!

    Building on Nature is a beautiful representation of the human spirit. With poetic language and rich illustration, Rodriguez and Paschkis weave together the inspirational life story of Antoni Gaudi, an artist unwilling to be anything but himself. This book is destined to be in every classroom! Congratulations to the author and illustrator on their exceptional work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolute quality!

    I adore the fact that Ms. Rodriguez continues to educate children on the incredibly talented artists of the past. First Goergia O'Keefe and now Antoni Gaudi. "Building On Nature" is beautifully written and illustrated. My boys and I stay on each page to savor the words and study the pictures. Absolute quality!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautiful Book

    "With wide eyes, he observes the world. All around him is light, form, and the Great Book of Nature. He will read from it all his life." Isn't that a beautifully written passage? Rachel Rodriguez's spare but evocative language and Julie Paschkis's illustrations, which remind me of Tomie dePaola, complement each other wonderfully in this introduction to the world of Antoni Gaudi. It's a wonderful and simple story of a creative man who made his fantastical visions a reality, and challenged people's perceptions of what buildings could and should be. After reading the book, you'll want to travel to Spain to see his creations in person--at least that's the effect it had on me! This would be a great addition to a classroom library, or the personal library of art lovers young and old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2009

    One of the best books on architecture for children -- EVER!

    There isn't a great deal of literature out there that that will inspire children about architecture, excepting maybe David Macaulay's books. But this a different kind of architecture book for children; it focuses on a single architect, his architecture, and the inspiration behind his architecture. It's visually rich, even for an adult, and the language is poetic. As an architect, and someone who has visited Gaudi's work in person, this book was a treat, and just the kind of book I would want a young person who might be leaning towards the arts, or maybe even architecture, to have. (And if they aren't leaning that way, it's probably even MORE important that they have this book!)

    It's hard to do this book justice in a verbal description, but I can see it becoming one of a child's personal treasures. You won't find a better present for a child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2009

    Natural Blend of Talent & Topic

    Rodriguez & Paschkis come together again (Through Georgia's Eyes was also brilliant) for another breath-taking blend of prose & pictures.
    Building on Nature brings the reader through the life & challenges of this gifted architect's life. It illustrates through word & illustration, the inspiration for Gaudi's work, difficulties he faced, and triumphs he had, perhaps even more so after his death, in shaping the world with his amazing work!

    Bravo, Rachel & Julie! Thanks for bringing another incredible human story so vividly to life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2009

    Bringing art to life

    It is rare for art to be brought to life on the printed page but the author and illustrator of this stunning book are able to do so in a very accessible and inviting way, not just for children but for teens and adults too. I love the contrast between the simple poetry of the narrative and the exuberant contours of the illustrations, which reflect the many sides of Gaudi's own personality. I don't see this as a children's book or an art book or an architecture book. It is more of a celebration of one extraordinary man's genius and his unique perspective on the world around him that should appeal to everyone of all ages and all levels. Congratulations!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2009

    Shared Beauty

    With poetic text married to sparkling illustrations, this wonderful little book takes us along on the journey of Gaudi's life: a story of disabilities overcome, one man's artistic convictions and nature's beauty captured in architecture. Children will immediately identify with Gaudi's creativity and adults will be introduced to the creations of a beautiful mind. Well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2009

    Building on Nature Creates Children's Life Lessons

    My daughter is eighteen now, but had this gorgeous book been published when she was young, I know it would have been one of her favorites. I read Ms. Rodriguez's first book, Through Georgia's Eyes as well as Building on Nature, and I am in love with her concept of introducing children to the great artists through a series of colorful and wise books. In both books, the artwork is gorgeous and magical, and Rachel's writing is spare and full of insight. What I love most, though, are the life lessons she gently offers up, like how important it is to be yourself; to trust that you are creative, too; and how important it is to notice the beauty in the world, whether it's made by humans or not. I can't recommend these books highly enough, for children as well as adults!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A beautiful book for my daughter

    I just got my copy of Building On Nature and it is simply a gorgeous book. The illustrations are incredible and help tell the story of an incredible artist/architect. I am an architect and love that I can share my work with my daughter by telling her the story of Gaudi. This will help her gain an appreciation of art and architecture. I read it to her last night and she was enthralled by the images and asked to flip to the front to see it again. Its a wonderful, visually stimulating book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1