Customer Reviews for

Bullet (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter Series #19)

Average Rating 4
( 1085 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(541)

4 Star

(263)

3 Star

(144)

2 Star

(61)

1 Star

(76)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

strong urban fantasy

At the Circus of the Damned, vampire executioner extraordinaire and zombie animator Anita Blake sees her lover St. Louis master vampire Jean-Claude arguing with his second in command Asher. They were once lovers, but Jean-Claude refuses to share his body because he fea...
At the Circus of the Damned, vampire executioner extraordinaire and zombie animator Anita Blake sees her lover St. Louis master vampire Jean-Claude arguing with his second in command Asher. They were once lovers, but Jean-Claude refuses to share his body because he fears how Anita will react. Anita assumed the pair was having sex all along. Richard Zeeman informs her he has reconciled himself to what he is and joins the fun,

They are having fun, when Belle Morte, Jean Claude and Asher's creator interrupts them in a metaphysical astral projection. She has a piece of the Mother of All Darkness, the first vampire in her body which makes her believe she can bind them to her. She is wrong and Padma Master of the Beast tries to break the ties that bind them to each other which will weaken them.. The Vampire Council is determined to destroy the Triumvirate of Richard, Jean-Claude and Anita because they are accumulating so much power they threaten the vampire hierarchy everywhere even the ruling Vampire Council. The Mother wants Anita's body since she lost her own, but Anita is strong and rejects the Mother and the Council trying to prevent her and her lovers from owning America starting with assassins sent to kill them.

The nineteenth Blake Vampire Hunter urban fantasy is a great entry, which is extraordinary as most of the long running series is excellent. The keys to this terrific tale is so much comes to a head as the vampires and shapeshifter hierarchies fear the Triumvirate and decide to destroy it before it is too late. The fun is trying to discover who are the assassins, spies and enemies in the Mother of All Darkness war. With sedition and a mole inside the Circus to augment the action, fans of the saga will relish this strong thriller as hell is coming to St. Louis.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on May 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

70 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

nothing unexpected

The Anita Blake series has become quite a bad habit. It is trite, tiresome, pornographic, and almost uninspired; yet, I still consume it. Devour it. It's like not being able to take your eyes off a bad accident. I breeze through the pages not knowing if it's because I s...
The Anita Blake series has become quite a bad habit. It is trite, tiresome, pornographic, and almost uninspired; yet, I still consume it. Devour it. It's like not being able to take your eyes off a bad accident. I breeze through the pages not knowing if it's because I simply want to get through it or in the hopes that Hamilton will eventually redeem herself. It could also be the affinity for the characters, very understandable after 19 books. Whatever the case, if you've stuck with the series this far, pick this up. Bullet is perhaps 50% about sex, 40% detailed account of someone's eye color, hair color, silk shirt, leather pants, &c., 9% plot development, and 1% resolution. I exaggerate of course but this isn't so far from the truth. If you read this all in good fun, then you'll enjoy the ride. If you expect a literary masterpiece, save your money. Hamilton's work is not about finesse. It has always been about what is dark, dirty and forbidden; only now she writes it in spades.

posted by MyHeadInTheClouds on June 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted June 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    nothing unexpected

    The Anita Blake series has become quite a bad habit. It is trite, tiresome, pornographic, and almost uninspired; yet, I still consume it. Devour it. It's like not being able to take your eyes off a bad accident. I breeze through the pages not knowing if it's because I simply want to get through it or in the hopes that Hamilton will eventually redeem herself. It could also be the affinity for the characters, very understandable after 19 books. Whatever the case, if you've stuck with the series this far, pick this up. Bullet is perhaps 50% about sex, 40% detailed account of someone's eye color, hair color, silk shirt, leather pants, &c., 9% plot development, and 1% resolution. I exaggerate of course but this isn't so far from the truth. If you read this all in good fun, then you'll enjoy the ride. If you expect a literary masterpiece, save your money. Hamilton's work is not about finesse. It has always been about what is dark, dirty and forbidden; only now she writes it in spades.

    70 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    Anita is as Anita does

    As an avid reader to the Anita Blake series, I whole-heartedly love this series. That being said, I'm getting a little bored with it. After reading 18 book with the same characters, I'm still in as much love with them as I was when I was first introduced, but each book's plot is almost exactly like the previous: someone tries to break Anita and Jean-Claude's power structure, Anita has sex to save lives, regrets most of it, adds more power to herself and her two triuvirates, and little action developes outside the bedroom. There was such promise of a meaty new crisis,but like the other books that held that potential, it never happend. It almost seems as if LKH wears herself out with coming up with freasher ideas for sex scenes and then is too tired to actually fill in the plot. I still love them, but I need something more.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    Not A Magic Bullet But Still A Solid Hit

    Bullet is not a plot-driven book; it's a character-driven book. In some ways, Bullet has more in common with literary fiction than genre fiction. Laurell K. Hamilton's books have become less about what the characters are doing than who they are becoming. In Bullet, readers will not find the larger-than-life conflicts and flashy climaxes of early Anita Blake novels. If you like fast-paced action, you're going to be dissatisfied when the majority of a book focuses on the internal workings of the characters' minds.

    Inside Anita's mind is exactly where the majority of Bullet's story takes place. This is a fine thing, but readers who long for the days when Anita rushed from one life-or-death emergency to the next will be frustrated. If you like heavy doses of carnal lust (or at least don't mind them), then you'll be rewarded with some interesting character development happening in the midst of, because of, or in spite of the sex. Take your pick.

    That being said, sex, while abundant and one of the driving forces of Bullet, is not the focus. Bullet is almost exclusively focused on Anita's private struggles. The conflict is about Anita working her internal issues and the external forces feel like little more than scaffolding raised to hold together the architecture of a novel.

    Major plot points were glossed over in favor of a quick and tidy ending. Throughout the whole book, I kept waiting for Anita to tap into her magical abilities and throw down, metaphysically speaking, with the antagonistic characters in her life. Anita has worked her relationship issues and sexual hang-ups enough. I'm ready to see her genuinely embrace her necromancy. I have yet to see her treat it as anything more than a job, at best, and a temporary bandage for metaphysical boo-boo at worst.

    As powerful a necromancer as Anita is supposed to be, it seems like she should have a lot more to say about whether vampires like Belle Morte or Marmee Noire can take over her mind and body. Where is the Anita who raised small army of vampires as zombies during daylight hours? When do we get to see Anita say "enough" and use her power - hers, not power borrowed from the men around her - to fight back? As much as I like the character development in Bullet, I miss watching Anita kick butt and take names.

    On the plus side, fans will be happy to see Richard finally get a grip, pull his head out of his bum, and start holding up his end of the triumvirate. The turn-around is a relief, but I'm not sure I'm ready to trust it. Richard is notorious for taking a baby step forward only to let his emotional baggage come crashing down on everyone's head. I hope Bullet is a set-up for a new story arc that will demonstrate how powerful Anita's triumvirate with Jean-Claude and Richard can be. It certainly felt like a lead-in to something bigger. I eagerly await the next installment.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointed

    Obviously I've stuck with this series, reading all the books because once I start a series I have to finish it whether I like it or not. I'm not saying I don't like the series because when I read the first few books I was hooked but then "Narcissus in Chains" came out and everything changed. I keep hoping we'll get to see a glimpse at the Anita Blake we fell in love with but after more of the same in 'Bullet" I'm thinking that dream is lost. This latest installment was a let down for me. I felt like she spent more time describing every man and their attire than she did telling any kind of a story. I mean get on with it already. What happened to raising the dead or being a U.S Marshal? Now it's all about group sex and weird vampire possession plus it's getting really hard to keep track of all the men in her life. I find myself having to spend to much time thinking "o.k. who is he and where did he come from again?" It's like I need a cheat sheet for the lovers of Anita Blake. I miss the old books!

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    Where's the rest of it?

    Laurell K Hamilton was the first vampire series I ever read back when I was a freshman in high school. The first Anita Blake books were my standard for what made a good vampire book. After Narcissus, I liked the added mysticism, but like most fans, didn't really appreciate all of the sex. Lately her books have been acting like she's been trying to go back to the original writing style, but it doesn't seem as genuine and then Anita just falls back off the hardcore wagon and lands on a misplaced erection. I got to the end where she sums up the near-future and was like, "Wait, what? This isn't over yet! You didn't do anything!" It had the potential for so much--spies, the Harlequin, guns, etc.--and then there's a party and the book ends. It feels like she gave us the first half of the book. I have a feeling that the next book might be the end, that there will be no more Anita after Mommie Darkest is defeated.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    So Excited, So Disappointed

    I was really excited when I first started to read this book. I have no issues with the sex or the long winded character descriptions. I was on edge while reading the first 3/4ths of the book. It seemed to be leading up to an epic battle. Then I was crushed and disappointed when LKH decided to wrap everything up in a neat little bow in the last 5 or 6 pages. I loved the idea of the story and felt this book could have gone on for many more chapters and been such a great book! I was a little weary of reading it after "Flirt" (a complete waste of time in my opinion), and now after this ending... I'm not so sure I want to read the next book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    bullet

    I loved the earlier books in the series, it has become somewhat predictable
    now. i did enjoy the book better then flirt which my friend lent to me. I was very i didnt spend the money on it.
    i feel the book could have been longer,the next book is just going to be the same stuff....someone is trying to kill them. The book was a little redundant with the usual character hangups

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Hoping for the thrill

    The last book, Flirt, was a little disppointing!! I am hoping this book gets back into the mystery, unknown and tackiness that we all like! I do feel like Anita is getting close to the end of her rope. After 19 books I wonder what direction she is heading and if there will be an ending.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Really torn on this one!!!

    Well, this was a vast improvement over Flirt, I must say, but something has still been lost. I am glad Richard was brought back into the fold, but it was not as I expected. The plot to this one was really thin. If you want a book filled with very descriptive sex scenes, this one is for you. In Laurel's previous books, (with the exception of Flirt, and Micah), there was a great plot, and suspense to go along with the sex and attraction with the many characters. This new book seems more of an orgy and not much else. I really hope that if she is going to continue this series, she brings back some of the old magic that made it so popular. Anita needs to be raising the dead and working with the police. As it stands in this book, she seems to eat, drink, and have sex. And bring someone in to shake things up. All the characters seem complacent.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Ehhhh.....

    Love fhe series but I agree that it seems to only be about how many more they can add to list of sex partners. Also little catch phrases, thoughts & comments are repeated throughout the book which makes it seem to me to have been written in sections yet no one read it through in its entirety. More main character drama, less sex and more bad ass Anita, please

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Love this book

    This series is amazing. There are so many different characters and they are all fascinating! This is one of my favorites!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    No Surprises

    I've loved Anita Blake's Vampire Hunter Series and couldn't wait for each new read but it's like she no longer cares about the storyline and can only write about sex. Enough! Get back to the core characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Decent...

    I have been thrilled to see Ms. Hamilton back to taking us on a journey through her world in the last few books - as opposed to the very sexually heavy plot line. While sex is still a big part of the story in BULLET, there is a lot of wrap up from previous loose threads.

    I have two main complaints about the book. First, it very much feels like a prequel to the real story. And secondly, the last chapter puts too neat a bow on some of the story lines from the novel - like she was in a hurry to wrap up the book. (One of the plot lines is summed up in literally one sentence.) Overall, a decent read.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Last book, FLIRT, wasn't that great; hopefully, this will be better!

    I downloaded Laurell's last addition to the Anita Blake series onto my nook when it first became available--unfortunately, it didn't really have much of a plot.

    It seems like many of her last several books have slagged off on plot development--I hope that BULLET will be an improvement in this area.

    And of course, the presence of Jean-Claude and Asher in this book will undoubtedly make it better than FLIRT, anyways!

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8