Customer Reviews for

Bullet (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter Series #19)

Average Rating 4
( 1087 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(542)

4 Star

(264)

3 Star

(144)

2 Star

(61)

1 Star

(76)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

strong urban fantasy

At the Circus of the Damned, vampire executioner extraordinaire and zombie animator Anita Blake sees her lover St. Louis master vampire Jean-Claude arguing with his second in command Asher. They were once lovers, but Jean-Claude refuses to share his body because he fea...
At the Circus of the Damned, vampire executioner extraordinaire and zombie animator Anita Blake sees her lover St. Louis master vampire Jean-Claude arguing with his second in command Asher. They were once lovers, but Jean-Claude refuses to share his body because he fears how Anita will react. Anita assumed the pair was having sex all along. Richard Zeeman informs her he has reconciled himself to what he is and joins the fun,

They are having fun, when Belle Morte, Jean Claude and Asher's creator interrupts them in a metaphysical astral projection. She has a piece of the Mother of All Darkness, the first vampire in her body which makes her believe she can bind them to her. She is wrong and Padma Master of the Beast tries to break the ties that bind them to each other which will weaken them.. The Vampire Council is determined to destroy the Triumvirate of Richard, Jean-Claude and Anita because they are accumulating so much power they threaten the vampire hierarchy everywhere even the ruling Vampire Council. The Mother wants Anita's body since she lost her own, but Anita is strong and rejects the Mother and the Council trying to prevent her and her lovers from owning America starting with assassins sent to kill them.

The nineteenth Blake Vampire Hunter urban fantasy is a great entry, which is extraordinary as most of the long running series is excellent. The keys to this terrific tale is so much comes to a head as the vampires and shapeshifter hierarchies fear the Triumvirate and decide to destroy it before it is too late. The fun is trying to discover who are the assassins, spies and enemies in the Mother of All Darkness war. With sedition and a mole inside the Circus to augment the action, fans of the saga will relish this strong thriller as hell is coming to St. Louis.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on May 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

71 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

nothing unexpected

The Anita Blake series has become quite a bad habit. It is trite, tiresome, pornographic, and almost uninspired; yet, I still consume it. Devour it. It's like not being able to take your eyes off a bad accident. I breeze through the pages not knowing if it's because I s...
The Anita Blake series has become quite a bad habit. It is trite, tiresome, pornographic, and almost uninspired; yet, I still consume it. Devour it. It's like not being able to take your eyes off a bad accident. I breeze through the pages not knowing if it's because I simply want to get through it or in the hopes that Hamilton will eventually redeem herself. It could also be the affinity for the characters, very understandable after 19 books. Whatever the case, if you've stuck with the series this far, pick this up. Bullet is perhaps 50% about sex, 40% detailed account of someone's eye color, hair color, silk shirt, leather pants, &c., 9% plot development, and 1% resolution. I exaggerate of course but this isn't so far from the truth. If you read this all in good fun, then you'll enjoy the ride. If you expect a literary masterpiece, save your money. Hamilton's work is not about finesse. It has always been about what is dark, dirty and forbidden; only now she writes it in spades.

posted by MyHeadInTheClouds on June 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 264 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    I Miss Anita Blake the Action Figure

    I thought the plot was good, but I was just a put off with the descriptions of their clothing. I'm still trying to figure out what those major clothing descriptions had to do with the storyline. I thought it was just filler and I personally skipped over those parts. Unfortunately, I think Ms. Hamilton may be running out of ideas for Anita's character. I, too, miss the good old days when Anita actually worked and was not stuck in the Circus of the Damned having sex almost 24/7. I so hope that Ms. Hamilton will clear all this up in her next book so Anita can get out and start working as a US Marshal Vampire Executioner and Zombie Animator again.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Just what I expected...in a good way!!!

    I have read every book in the Anita Blake series. I know what to expect and I am not suprised by the sex scenes. It cracks me up when I read other reviews that people have written complaining about all the sex...ugh have you read the last 10 or so books? I read Ms. Hamilton's books to take me away from my busy and overwhelming life and into Anita Blakes crazy,sex drenched,violent,fantasy world. I dont expect anything more of these books then to be entertained and with the exception of 1 book she has written, I always am. This was a great book for people who are fans, who have missed some of the minor characters, and have wondered what happened to a few of them. This is also a book for people who are open-minded. If ALOT of sex and violence turn you off then maybe not the book for you. Please dont let the negative reviews scare you away from a VERY fun and entertaining writer!

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2010

    The suspense feels like it's adding more to books to follow.

    I am a fan of Hamilton's Anita Blake series. I read through all of her books and found them exciting, thrilling, sexy, and dark. This, being the latest of the series, still holds those standards. This book is more sex than the rest, but it seems to be building to what the next book will hold.

    Through this book, I was waiting for a major bloodbath in the end, but it never came. I think the suspense in this book will add more color and adventure to the final battle with the big beasties. Every story needs its' suspense to make the final battle well worth it.

    I love the characters and they all stay true to themselves. I love Hamilton's writing style and how she can put you into the characters and make you believe they are real people. Her descriptions make them jump out of the page and make you believe they either want to make love to you or take a chunk out of your neck. The characters come to life and that is hard to put into writing. Props to Hamilton!

    Although I liked some of her other books better than Bullet, I do like this book as well. Some books put more into Anita's job as an animator, or U.S. marshal, others show more of her at home life. I think it is good to keep these different perspectives and show all aspects of a character's life. It makes them more real.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Missing the ABVH Gang

    Burned through all 19 books - now I'm missing the ABVH Gang. No, they are not the best books ever written, but I must admit they are entertaining, albeit somewhat repetetive. That's okay with me because I don't think they are meant to be literary classics. They are fun, funny, dangerous, erotic, distracting and just naughty enough to make them a little sinful. Good times.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    Much complaining about nothing!!!

    I was disappointed in the last Anita book/short story Flirt. But only
    because I wanted more and was disappointed in the full price offered for
    such a small book. I read all the reviews/bashing for Bullet and instead of following my own feelings, checked the book out at the library. This will definately be a book that I will buy and add to my entire Anita Blake library. I get how those who started out with Anita from the beginning are disappointed in how the series reads now. I for one started after Narciciss(?) in Chains, so the sexcapades don't bother me since I like paranormal/erotic fiction anyway. For me, when I went back and got the original books, I was a little bored:) If you don't like the new direction, which after over 7-10 books isn't a new direction anymore-just stop reading them!!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great

    All of Ms. Hamilton's books are excellent. I love to read them and I don't care how much sex she puts in them. It's a fantasy after all. If you don't like how she expresses herself, don't buy her books. She writes the way she wants to write and that is what I respect most about her. I do believe that you should read them in order so you don't miss anything or get confused about a particular character and their relationship with Anita.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    Just what I needed.

    This book is exactly what I needed! It was really the best one in a long time, as it had all my favorite characters front and center, Jean Claude, in particular. :) It was great to see Richard back as well, trying to work on his issues and not being so self centered for once. I will admit the ending was kind of lacking as it basically just ended after a whole book of build up, but that was kinda expected after the last couple. A lot of reviews I have read talk about the beginning of the books, and want it to go back to that, however, I am not sure if anyone realizes that this is now 19 books and if Anita never grew as a character you would all be mad because the story hasn't advanced at all. plus if you could see where it was going back then, why have you continued reading??? if you don't like it, don't buy it and if you did buy it, then don't complain cause you knew. there. Hamilton is an excellent writer, my only beef is her contsant descripition of the characters whom we all know and love and we don't need to have there features explained everytime they walk into the room. other than that I absolutely enjoyed this book and totally devored the contents in a happy drug induced coma, with an afterglow the size of montana. Thanks Laurell for a great read!!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Still a Great Series

    I have been a fan from the very start, ever since Circus (which I found in a Barnes & Nobles many moons ago) I still love the series though she has really gotten overly focused on the sex and relationships for my taste. I miss the old Anita who spent over half the book in another kind of action. I miss Dolph and the rest. I miss the police side of her job. I miss her catching the bad guy instead of seducing them. Having said all this I still really enjoyed the story and I am so glad that some of the major male characters have stopped acting like such girls. I look forward to the next book and am hoping it will be a "real book" like this one instead of the novella she has been passing off as new books (see Flirt).

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    You won't want to put this book down.

    I was enamored with Bullet. I only just picked up this series in February, and once you get so far into the plot and get to know the characters, you just eat every word. I was a little disappointed with Flirt, but I'm intrigued to see what LKH does next with this series. I definitely recommend this one.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    LKH fan but getting redundant - a little spoiler alert

    I am a huge LKH fan but like many others that posted reviews, it is getting a little redundant. As for the porn that many mention, that has been in almost every Anita Blake novel after about the first 2 or 3 books or so. They shouldn't be surprised; by now any Anita Blake reader knows how the ardeur works. As for storyline in this book, it is just ok. I found myself skimming over some of the descriptions (as other reviews mentioned) and even yawning through the chapters describing her run. Like other readers, I believe this is a gateway book and that the next one is going to be huge. There were several ideas that could possibly lead to other plots down the line such as the run-in with Valentina in the computer room. On another note, I like that Richard seems to have come around. He seems to have accepted his place and while he still seems to struggle internal with some of his feelings, he is getting better about control. Now, speaking of control this leads me to Haven's character. Spoiler: I was disappointed that his character was killed off. I mean, I read all the chapters after the incident/fight and I understand the struggle and yadda yadda yadda, but I am just disappointed. His character in this book came off as whiney and too young compared to the other books with his character. Oh, and as far as action, there really wasn't much action. I mean, there were a few fights and whatnot, but nothing compared to some of the other books. I hope her next book has more action in it. Like other readers, I would love to see her working a little more as either a vampire executioner or a necromancer. The small part in this book in reference to a case, as another review mentioned, did seem to just be "thrown in".
    With all of this being said, overall it was a decent LKH Anita Blake book but not the best one, in my opinion. I love this series and I refuse to give up on it and I really do think that this book was just the calm before the storm. I would recommend reading it if you like the series.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2010

    What a Thrilling Ride

    I could not put this book down, and even though the slew of recent books in this series had been good, this one just did it for me. Maybe it's the combination of some of the beloved characters that had been in the background for a long time finally taking stage (e.g. Jean-Claude, Asher and even Richard), and the fast moving plot...and although there is a lot of sex, I just felt it was well placed and it was an enjoyable read. I thoroughly enjoyed Anita gaining more power...I think that's why I will always read this series, because I love how strong she gets with each new book. It's not easy being Anita, but it's also not easy being one of her men. Through it all, Laurell Hamilton makes it work. I can't imagine not reading about this growing family of characters. It's not perfect, and I'm not fond of how soft Jean-Claude has gotten, but I wouldn't trade Anita's world for anything.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Anita Blake Gets a Face-Lift

    Overall, Bullet is an excellent book to own for any Anita Blake fan because it dramatically shifts the plot-line as Mommy Dearest, the Mother of All Darkness, presents a credible threat to her and her group of loved ones. Anita spends much of her time solidifying her power-base and preparing for the inevitable clash between the European and American vampires. The politics are fun, and Anita is her usual irreverent self. Unfortunately, as is currently the norm for Anita Blake, the only way she can seem to manage to power up is through sex and more sex, and the sex seems less about love and more about orgies than in the past books. While L. Hamilton introduces several interesting characters, much of their growth and development get lost in the sex and Anita's musing about her guilt for her actions. Her relationships with Richard and Haven are resolved in this book, though the impact of some those significant events are somewhat lost in the fast-paced nature of this book. The book was still enjoyable and worth the purchase.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2010

    What happens??

    I would have liked to see the story line continue more with Wicked and Truth. I was hoping they were becoming more involved with the life of Anita. I would also like to see Anita get more comfortable with her life, although she has come a long way, there are still many aspects of her "romantic life" that she still has trouble with. I love this series, have read them all and will continue to read the Anita Blake series until it's end. LKH is a genius where this genre' is concerned.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Huge Laurell Hamilton fan....probably the best Anita Blake for awhile

    I love Laurell Hamilton. There has been some redundancy in the last few Anita Blake books however. Yes they screw. Again. Again. Ooop Another. However this, in my opinion, is the best Anita Blake for a long time. Good read. Sex seemed to have a purpose and there was less of it. The book was not consumed by it. More story and more vamp politics. I enjoyed. Thanks LH.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Ride the Bullet to entertainment

    (Note to new readers: If you are just beginning the Anita Blake books, it is highly recommended you start from the beginning with Guilty Pleasures and read your way to Bullet - with this being the 19th book in the series, Hamilton doesn't waste time with rehashing who each character is. You may be lost if you don't know who is who.)

    When it comes to reviewing books by Laurell K. Hamilton, you either LOVE her writing or you HATE her writing - there is very little in-between. I am in the category of LOVING her work. I started out with the Merry Gentry books and absolutely loved her writing - then I moved on the Anita Blake, which I think is an even better series.

    For those readers who are more interested in "plot" driven books vs. "character" driven books, then this may not be the book for you. Because this is the 19th book in a series, I am all about the characters over the plot, although I do realize you have to have some type of plot to keep the story moving.

    For those readers who have turned against Hamilton's work because of all the real and metaphysical sex, again this may not be the book for you because Bullet is full of both kinds of sex. Personally, the sex is entertaining and takes me away from my everyday problems. The ardeur is present in this book, but it is not as prevalent as it was in the beginning. Anita seems to have more control over the ardeur and is able to feed on the power much better. Of course, there is lots of sex in the book - after all, it is an Anita book - but the majority of the sex is present without the ardeur.

    The plot of Bullet is to keep Anita and her vamps and weres safe from the Mother of all Darkness. Supposedly Marmee Noir was killed off a few books ago by a bomb exploding in the "cavern" where she had been asleep for thousands of years. It is learned in Bullet that many on the Vampire Council absorbed bits of the Mother's power and energy. Now the European vamps want to take over and stomp out the American vamps.

    After being absent for the majority of the past few books, Richard and Asher are again on center stage. We learn that Richard is beginning to finally accept the fact he is one of the monsters and he starts to work with Jean Claude and Anita instead of working against them. It is a nice change of pace from the arguments and fights found in the beginning of the series. Asher is finally stepping up to the plate and making demands on Jean Claude and Anita, up to the point of taking his werehyenas at going to Narcissus, but I am getting a little tired of Asher's continued pouting - he seems to have picked up where Richard left off. Jean Claude and Anita decide they must keep Asher in their power base, so they give in to a few of his demands.

    Up to this point the wereleopards have been my favorite form of weres, but I am starting to have a soft spot for the tigers - brown, red, white, golden, blue - there is just something about them that appeals to me. Saying that, I am glad Anita finally took care of the problem with Haven (Cookie Monster). Nicky is kind of growing on me as a Bride - once I wrapped my head around the idea of a reverse "bride of Dracula"- interesting concept.

    The Harlequins make a repeat appearance in Bullet - or at least one of their wereanimals does. The Harlequins are leaning more toward the side of Anita and her group and away from the Vampire Council. I even saw Belle Morte in a different light, especially when

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2010

    Ebook on the iPad

    I have all of the Blake books on my Nook so I was looking forward to this one coming out, but then I could not find it. I searched in iBooks for iPad and there it was. For those of you who do not want to be forced to buy the hardcopy or wait... buy it for your iPad.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    fabulously inventive author in need of an editor

    I continue to be fascinated by Anita's metaphysical machinations and disappointed by the dearth of action story lines. Bullet looked like it was heading back towards the action Anita of old, but there was still a great deal of the interpersonal/metaphysical going on, and this, as with the previous book, Skin Trade, took up most of the story line. And weirdly, both books span what seems to me a very brief time frame with respect to previous outings. Loved seeing Richard's presence again, but am wondering who is really inhabiting his body. Ms. Hamilton has a really unique and special imagination which I continue to appreciate, but she would really benefit from a good editor; style and flow shortcomings are becoming more and more unforgivable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    A good read.

    this was really good, I could hardly put the book down~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Ge Great

    Another great chapter from a fertile imagination

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 264 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14