BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Bully: The Fall Away Series

Average Rating 4.5
( 144 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted December 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Tate and Jared used to be best friends. They loved each other -

    Tate and Jared used to be best friends. They loved each other - or at least she though they did. Then when they were 14 everything changed. Jared went from a loving friend to a bully for no apparent reason. He made it his mission in life to ruin high school for Tate. She got a brief reprieve from his torture for year, studying abroad in Europe. Now that she is back, she wonders if Jared will go back to tormenting her or if maybe he has forgotten all about her and moved on. Regardless of what his plans are, Tate vows to herself to not let him ruin her Senior year. If he is going to pick up where he left of, then this time she will fight back.

    I was so hesitant to read this book because the idea of falling for your bully kind of annoyed me. But after reading so many great things about it, I decided to give it a shot. Let me tell you, I am so glad that I did! Tate - my heart broke for her repeatedly for everything she endured at the hands of Jared. I mean, how much can one teenage girl take before she breaks? But Tate is too strong for that. She took a much needed time out from Life with Jared and came back from Europe and more self confident young woman. The Tate that came back home for her Senior year had a lot more attitude and was finally ready to stand up to him.

    And then there is Jared. Sigh. How I hated him through the majority of this book. And I'm not talking about a little hate, but full blown, I want to throttle you hatred. When Tate give her monologue in class and it is clear that Jared is emotionally affected by it, I realized there was a world of pain hidden beneath the bully veneer. At that point I started to forgive him and I want them to rebuild what once was an amazing friendship.

    There are some interesting side characters in here as well which I think will lead to some great additional books n this series down the road. I will say that I did not like Tate's best friend K.C. At all. she pissed me off and I felt like she was being a crap friend. On the other hand, I loved Jared's BFF Madoc. He made me laugh and especially at hard he worked to make up for being such a Jerk to Tate all these years. Plus he isn't afraid to call Jared out on how he really feels about her.

    This book is emotional and angsty and sexy and just down right all around awesomeness. You'll want to punch Jared in the face and then climb him like a tree. I am so glad I stopped being stubborn and read Bully.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Jared Equals Yummy I don't care what anyone says but in my opin

    Jared Equals Yummy

    I don't care what anyone says but in my opinion Jared fully redeems himself in chapters 30 and 31 of Bully. I don't need to read Until You to forgive him in all his yumminess but I will read it anyway...lol

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Angsty Amazing Read

    This book was an amazing debut novel. I loved the characters. The author brings you into the world of Tatum and Jared. I was blown away and could not wait to see what happened next. I devoured there story. If you choose to read this one you will not be disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    OH MY FREAKIN WOW!

    I loved, loved, loved this book. This story line was so amazing. I fell in love with Tate. She is so sweet, innocent, kind, and caring but also really lonely, she doesn't realize how lonely she is. Jared & Madoc are two guys you'll love to hate and then you hate to love them. Jared is such a lost and angry soul and Tate is his salvation. This story was so intence at times that my heart literally ached for Tate. Her life became so heart breaking I just wanted to slap someone. I cried so hard it almost felt real. The sexual chemistry between Tate and Jared grew to be unbelievably hot. The ending was perfect but I wish the story went alittle longer. 283 pages wss great but I still wanted more. I highly recommend this book to everyone. I will be looking forward to reading so much more from Penelope. This is the type of story you want to read over & over again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Gripping, Addictive, Intense... Overwhelmed! I Could. Not. Put T

    Gripping, Addictive, Intense... Overwhelmed! I Could. Not. Put This One Down!

    4.5 On Edge, Anxious Stars!
    The Review:
    Though I have very mixed feelings about this book, I completely loved it. First off, let me say, it was well written and I loved the story and what it stood for and since I was completely immersed in it, reading it all in one night, I can conclude that it was one of those books you love to hate. The characters, mainly the hero Jared, will make you both love them and hate them. This book was painful to read. I found myself gritting my teeth, balling my fists and silently shouting expletives in my head, sometimes aloud. Angsty doesn’t even start to cover how to describe this book.

    Story...
    Tate has been ridiculed, embarrassed and bullied for the past couple of years. Jared, the source of all her torment is her once, childhood best friend, the boy she loved and the one person she should have been able to trust above all others. But after returning home from a summer visit with his father when he was fourteen, Jared turned from the protective, caring and kind boy he once was to an aggressive mean boy. Deciding to get away from all the pranks and bullying, Tate travels abroad for school and vacation for a year. But she’s back now, in the town that caused her so much grief and hurt, hoping that her time away will have changed things and made them better.

    But after just one confrontation with her past, she realizes escaping isn’t as easy as she’d hoped, even if she has decided to find her inner bad girl.

    Jared is gorgeous, he’s popular, he’s feared, he’s respected, he’s got girls hanging all over him... and he has secrets. Deep, dark, horrifying secrets and with a hate raging as strong in him as the one he carries, an outlet is fundamental and Tate has become the object in which he releases all that anger, hurt and pain.

    Characters and Thoughts...
    I liked Tate a lot. When we first meet her, she’s scared and shies away from social situations all because she’s been bullied for the last three years. Jared came back from a summer visit with his dad a changed boy and started treating Tate like public enemy number one. He’s never given her a reason but Tate’s always wondered why he went from the best friend she ever had to her worst enemy. He goes to great pains to make sure Tate suffers, doing horrible things to her in the form of rumors, teasing, pranks and verbal beat downs. He pulls his friends into the bullying and this makes Tate constantly look over her shoulder, wondering where and what form the next embarrassing trap will come from.

    My stomach was in knots the entirety of this book. Watching all these things play out, all the sneering glares, quiet whispering and right out snickering was written so well I felt like I was walking in Tate’s shoes, living through her torment right along side her. I felt so bad for her and I really, REALLY disliked Jared and his partner in crime, Madoc. I even grew to dislike Tate’s only BFF, KC, because with a few sweet words and a bit of hero play from Jared, KC turns from Tate’s confidante to accusing her of being the problem. And then there was the kids in that town. I wanted to strangle EVERYONE with the exception of Tate!

    But then secrets are revealed and things start to change for Tate and Jared. However, after everything, I’m not sure I could ever trust a person who did those things to me, even after knowing his reasoning. This is where my conflict comes in. I wanted Tate to be able to move past all that pain and find a way to let it go but trusting Jared would have been hard for me, if I were her.

    As for Jared, I really loved to hate him most of the book. You could tell the things he was doing were for a revenge of some kind. Through the incredible writing, you could also tell he was conflicted even as he carried out these awful plans. And even when we find out his secrets it took until the end of the book for me to like him... and truthfully, I’m not sure like is the correct word. Probably acceptance is more like it. Yes, he was gorgeous and a completely hot bad boy but I felt he needed to atone more and truly feel the guilt of what he’d done. I both loved and hated him!

    NOTE: The next book in the series, Until You (Fall Away 1.5) is in Jared’s POV so I’m hoping to get all those goodies and “feels” from his side of the story! Yay. I’m excited for that one.

    I can’t conclude this review without taking the time to acknowledge how this author does a wonderful job of showing what bullying can do to a person. How the daily hurt and conflict and fear can turn you into a person you don’t recognize in the mirror. Tate found herself doing and saying things she normally wouldn’t have done. She found an aggression inside her she didn’t like but found necessary unless she wanted to continue to cower and be stomped all over. I do love how for the most part, she was able to hold on to her true self. But it did change her and how she viewed people, the world and the way she fit in it.

    The Wrap Up:
    This is one of those books that will make you think.. and think.. and think some more because you are so conflicted about how to feel. I loved the book. I loved the story. I really didn’t love some of the characters and their actions. But I wasn’t supposed to. I was supposed to be conflicted. This is not your traditional love story. Tate is either really stupid or an incredibly forgiving and wonderfully kind person. She’s strong, that’s for sure because I’m not so sure I would have been strong enough to let it all go. But I’m glad she did because when these two finally come together, they are sexy as hell and the story turns from sour to sweet. Now, on to the next book!

    *Written for Craves the Angst Book Reviews*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Loved Bully. Loved Until You. Please Ms. Douglas, won't you pl

    Loved Bully. Loved Until You. Please Ms. Douglas, won't you please consider writing a short novella with Tate & Jared that takes place after the events of Until You. Just a little something to keep us readers tied over until Rival comes out next summer..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Great read. New adult genre usually is not my cup of tea but thi

    Great read. New adult genre usually is not my cup of tea but this was good really good. The reading was light and the story compelling. Overall a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Excuse me while I try to put together the words that will descri

    Excuse me while I try to put together the words that will describe how much I loved this book.  I guess breaking it down will help, sort of like a math equation. We've got a bad boy (I love them!) and the girl next door, and an intense hatred that's one sided while the other is unaware of the reason why. Girl goes away and comes back totally changed, unwilling to put up with the bad boy's mean ways. All the previous elements are ones I love to read about. I love strong heroines as much or maybe more than I love a bad boy.




    Another thing I loved was the drama.  Oh Lord was there drama!  I didn't know if Tate and Jared were ever going to figure things out without bloodshed.  Besides drama, there was lots and lots of chemistry and heat. If they weren't giving off sparks because of their tempers, they were sparking because of the tension between them.  I really liked Tate.  I loved seeing her decided enough was enough and to change the way things were for her.  Jared I didn't really like in the beginning because he was both a bad boy and an @$$#*^%.  Even his reason for why he was an @$$ didn't make much sense to me, but since his logic started when his thinking processes weren't fully developed I let it slide.




    I ended up reading this book in one sitting. There were no pauses or respites.  I was hooked and if I wasn't laughing, or cheering, I was emotional, but happy.  This book was everything I'd heard it would be and I loved it more than I thought it would.  I absolutely love Penelope Douglas for sharing Tate, Jared, Madoc, Fallon, Jax, and K.C. with us.  I may not always like the characters all the way through the story, but you can't help but care for them and keep on reading.  I'm really looking forward to seeing them in future books.  And the same can be said about anything Penelope Douglas writes. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    It¿s amazing to read this and know that Penelope Douglas was a n

    It’s amazing to read this and know that Penelope Douglas was a new author when writing it! The characters in this book are so well developed and I was completely lost to the story. 
    This book is intense, but in the best ways. So be prepared to feel as much passion as you will pain. 
    Tate is a really fantastic leading female. She has been a really crappy situation and has found a way to get through it. Her best friend, the person she loved the most in the world, is now her biggest enemy. We are not just talking about the silent treatment and dirty looks. Jared has spent years making her life a living hell through bullying and humiliation. Worst of all, Tate has absolutely no clue why. She doesn’t rise up to Jared’s bait most of the time, and while some might look at that as being a doormat, they would be so wrong. Instead, Tate just knows how to pick her battles. She smart and level-headed, she knows when a situation is beyond saving. And yet, she has a huge heart and even though Jared is the devil to her, she still cares and I loved that about her. 
    Jared is so full of pain. Even though the book is from Tate’s POV, it is easy to see. Unfortunately, he’s let that pain fester into uncontrollable rage and has directed it all at Tate. He is the school king. Everyone is equally in awe of him and scared to death of him. He takes every opportunity to cut Tate down, until one day she decides to pick a few more battles, rather than turning the other cheek. He begins to recognize what he has lost and the fact that the reasoning behind it was unjustified. Now he has to undo years of wrong to get back what was so right. 
    Jared could so easily be a hero you hate, but Penelope has crafted a story that shows you very quickly that things aren’t what they seem. Despite the anger and frustration I felt for him, my heart was absolutely breaking for him, and I didn’t even know why. Then when he sets about the task of convincing Tate to forgive him, I absolutely fell in love with him. He is desperate to have her but the years he spent torturing her, were also torture for him. And as a result, he is wading through neck deep water hoping not to drown. He doesn’t know how to be soft, sweet, and romantic. Except… in his own way, he really does. It’s there, it’s just that vulnerability doesn’t come easily to him. 
    The passion between these two is off the charts. They had me turning up the air conditioning and sucking down ice water to get through the scenes. The sexual tension alone is so strong, I could feel it filling up the room from inside the pages.
    In the end the story is wrapped up so beautifully. Like I said, it’s intense. So, don’t expect a happy-go-lucky love story. Even with the HEA, the ending is heavy. It’s like life really, HEAs exist, but they aren’t perfect. Life doesn’t end with the prince’s healing kiss. Jared and Tate still have to forge a path with the scars of their past. But, in the end, the reader is completely convinced that they can do it. 
    I’d take another Jared/Tate story in a heartbeat! So, great news! There is a companion novel that tells the story of Bully from Jared’s POV. Penelope managed to create an entirely new novel, despite sharing the same story. Its chalk full of additional scenes so the reader doesn’t feel it’s too repetitive. But, most importantly, you will truly understand Jared and any residual negative feelings towards him from Bully will most likely be snuffed right out. 
    I really loved this book and Penelope Douglas is definitely on my 1-click list!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2014

    I'll be honest, I'm probably not the right person to rate a YA b

    I'll be honest, I'm probably not the right person to rate a YA book of today. I'm 42 and I usually read racier material, although I have read other YA books and enjoyed them. The writing itself was fine, there was no story lag.  However, I just felt no real empathy or even respect for the characters. None of them. I was the subject of extreme bullying when I was young, and to be honest I just could not get behind this girl's choices. I finished this book because I was just that ticked off at the main character... I kept hoping she really wouldn't go there with this guy, although I knew that's what the story was about. Are high school girl's today just that low on self esteem?  Maybe I was the exception when I was young, I don't know. I know I never, ever, had sex with any guy who had ever hazed me or bullied me. I found both main characters just TSTL. Maybe it's my generation, or maybe I'm just not a masochist, but I had to be honest.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    Must read

    Love this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    I was and still am being bullied

    My name is sarah and im a sophmore this year in high school.
    Ive been bullied scince the 1st grade. Then in 5th to the middle of 6th this one girl we started to hang out everyday after school and then she asked me if i wanted to fight cuz i thought she ment like a video game but soon as i said yes she grabbed me by the neck and started to beat the crap out of me. Then in 8th grade it was gym class and she started to follow me around the gym with a baseketball and then i turnded around and she threw it at me. Then i walked away then she started to kick my leg and tore the top layer of my skin off and i was bleeding. And i never ever hit here back evwn when we were hanging out adter school. Then she posted stuff on google images saying go f...ing kill urself and no one likes u and u dont belong on this planet. Then i started cutting and it was a week tjen someone saw the cuts and told. Then i got called to the office. That was all in 8th grade.
    THERES WAY MORE THAT HAPPEND IN FREADMEN YEAR I WILL SAY IF ANYONE WANTS TO KNOW?
    SARAHBEAR

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    Obsessed

    I am absolutely obsessed with this story! It just goes to show you never know the reasons behind some ones actions. Emotional pain can make you blind to the real world. I love how he is the bad boy who redeems himself. The right girl can change you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    So Amazing

    I rarely write reviews on books and I have over 200 on my nook currently and this book was so amazing I took the time to sign on and make one...

    Its heartbreaking and sad but you long for the characters so much and they just come to life. I longed to find out why Jared was so jaded and my heart broke for Tate with every page...so amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Geez, things are really complicated for Jared and Tate. Things a

    Geez, things are really complicated for Jared and Tate. Things are always complicated and intense when you are between the ages of 'I'm in hormone hell' and 'Crap, I think I'm dying'. But things are really hard between these two, because they are a big hot mess of hormones, 'I'm dying', my-peanut-butter-hates-your-chocolate, he ripped the head off my voodoo doll, no one can hate her as much as I hate her, no one can have her--but I don't want her, he's not there if I don't look at him, AND NO ONE CAN EVER LOVE HIM/HER MORE THAN I HAVE SINCE WE FIRST MET. It's like the Magic 8 Ball as a relationship.

    Does it sound like a cluster-eff of angst, drama, loathing, self destruction, and trauma? Dude... it really is a cluster-eff of angst, drama, loathing, self destruction, and trauma and worth every freaking moment! Every. Freaking. Moment.
    This book is sexy. It's sexy in all the ways that makes mothers tell their daughters to stay away from bad boys. Penelope Douglas has her finger on the pulse of what makes a relationship that terrible combination of tragic perfection where love destroys and hate give birth to stronger beautiful things that no one should ever have to make. First let me say--this is NOT the relationship I would ever want my sister to be part. I don't think anyone would wish this on anyone, but it's an exaggeration of a relationship that is closer in reality to what most girls out there are going to encounter than the majority of YA novels available in contemporary YA genre. Does it make it an ideal relationship? NO! But it makes a effing phenomenal story and I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the amount of heartache and emotional torture. There have to be over 9000 reasons to read this book and one of those reasons is because I say you need to! My reason has more weight than the other 8999 because I am the coolest effin' person on the Earth.

    I haven't said jack-squat about Bully other than blah, blah, blah yet though…

    Tate and Jared were once inseparable. The two of them were in one another's pockets. Original BFFs, who had secret sleepovers--they lived next door and shared all their secrets and dreams with each other. Then parts of Jared's body started being like, "Hey, she has a socket and you have a plug." Feelies began to evolve and thoughts began to change to, "Hey, she has a socket and I love her. She's mine. I have a plug." But the thing is girls are from one side of the tree and guys are from the other and guys think with their plugs but never use their words. So where Tate was thinking along the line of, "Jared is awesome and he has pretty eyes, I wonder if he would ever like to kiss me?" and giving him fluttering lashes, Jared thought she had something in her eye and never said crap. Outcome: Jared makes a choice that ends up having devastating results and the resentment of all his plug anger gets hoisted on Tate.

    Yes, this book--boiled down to a quick summary is: Adolescent penis fury fuels malignant passionate ill will between true lovers, in rare psychotic perversion of schoolyard tormentor game.

    By the time the story of Tate is rolling she has become tempered steel. She has been in the flames for a VERY long ass time and struck down to a powerful weapon. Jared and his friend Maddoc have been going after her; slandering and persecuting her to the point where in the past she felt unsafe leaving her house and because she lived next door to Jared she'd not been sure that was safe either. To further exacerbate the situation she was ashamed that things had become so bad. She had no respect from her schoolmates and no self-respect. She was going to a year long study abroad and couldn't be happier to leave Fall Away St. behind her. When she returns she is full of fury. She doesn't know where the strength is coming from but she isn't taking crap from Jared and Maddoc anymore. The result isn't that they stop torturing her... it's that Jared can't get enough of her. He's mesmerized and the plug has never wanted her socket more.

    This book is great. I don't think this is a 'how-to' book for dealing with bullies for young adults. Do not think your bully and you are going to fall in love. Dicks don't become princes most of the time. Do not run out and find a Jared. If you are a girl of 13-992... boys of this ilk are bad, bad news. Boys with their crap together that can take care of you is what you want. Guys in a downward spiral taking everyone with them are terrible for you. When someone you are with gives you a diet of crap, that isn't love. Don't eat crap; it will go to your thighs. (This review was written for my blog All The Things Inbetween at AlltheThingsInbetween-dot-net)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    Terrible book just makes hurting our girls okay

    I could not believe all the good reviews! Just perpetuates this kind bullying against young girls this guy should go to jail! Fouyears of this crap?
    Anyone who has ever been bullied would agree. The guy character is just messed up and it encourages his friends to do the same!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    Glorious!

    Gaaah!! Loved it so good can't wait to read more from her!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2014

    This book just blew me away! I have a hard time believing this i

    This book just blew me away! I have a hard time believing this is a debut novel! The chemistry, the angst, just blew me away! Can't wait for more from Penelope!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Best book ever

    I love it so much I always read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    Wow

    A great start to a new series. Wonderful read. Wasn't sure what I would be reading when I bought this book and happened to find the author by accident. So I glad I did. I have found a new author I will be follow through this series. Second book was also great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8