Customer Reviews for

Bump in the Night

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

J.D. Robb is at it again!

I have been hooked on the stories Nora Roberts writes as J.D. Robb since I read the first one. I have always loved anything Ms. Roberts writes, but especially her Eve Dallas stories. The only thing I had a problem with in Bump In The Night was that it was too short. ...
I have been hooked on the stories Nora Roberts writes as J.D. Robb since I read the first one. I have always loved anything Ms. Roberts writes, but especially her Eve Dallas stories. The only thing I had a problem with in Bump In The Night was that it was too short. The story was too hurried. I read to relax and enjoy myself. All of Nora Roberts books do this for me! I have every one of her Eve Dallas books and can't wait for the next one. I really wish the Eve Dallas series were made into a movie or a made for television movies and would star Ms. Roberts as Eve!

posted by Anonymous on September 2, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

Well the first story was pretty good..the second however was kind of corny at the end..I think it could have ended better, or even that the writing of the whole story could have been better and more interesting...The third was better than the second, I liked it also(eve...
Well the first story was pretty good..the second however was kind of corny at the end..I think it could have ended better, or even that the writing of the whole story could have been better and more interesting...The third was better than the second, I liked it also(even if its kinda strange..)...The fourth, Mellow Lemon Yellow, was my favorite...Im glad the book ended on a good note...

posted by Anonymous on July 3, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2006

    J.D. Robb is at it again!

    I have been hooked on the stories Nora Roberts writes as J.D. Robb since I read the first one. I have always loved anything Ms. Roberts writes, but especially her Eve Dallas stories. The only thing I had a problem with in Bump In The Night was that it was too short. The story was too hurried. I read to relax and enjoy myself. All of Nora Roberts books do this for me! I have every one of her Eve Dallas books and can't wait for the next one. I really wish the Eve Dallas series were made into a movie or a made for television movies and would star Ms. Roberts as Eve!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2006

    This is a Good Book for an Escape from Reality

    I find this book fasinating so far as a police detective story can tell. It could be very interesting if the detective has to deal with supernatural or a ghost.The intervening murders between the two eras. It took me a while to get into the story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2007

    A reviewer

    Well the first story was pretty good..the second however was kind of corny at the end..I think it could have ended better, or even that the writing of the whole story could have been better and more interesting...The third was better than the second, I liked it also(even if its kinda strange..)...The fourth, Mellow Lemon Yellow, was my favorite...Im glad the book ended on a good note...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2006

    Very bad, not worth your money

    At least, not worth mine. I bought it because I'm a fan of Robb, but even that was not enough for the money spent. The story was OK, but nothing to write home about, and it's true that it's a bit surprising to find Eve so easily persuaded to believe in gosts. The 2nd story barely passed the mark, with the corniest ending, the 3rd however was just plain STUPID !! and made me want to hurl the book at the other end of the room (and I love books...) Anyway, the 4th story saved the antology, nice story, a bit cloying, but hey, it's a romance book. Nothing bumps in the night, no chills, no thrills, buy something else....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Unfortunate disappointment

    I absolutely love the In Death series. Unfortunately, I couldn't get on board with this one. It was a short story and you can skip it and go to the next book in the series w/o skipping a beat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2006

    surprised!!!!!!!!

    I picked up this book for the J.D. Robb and she was as good as ever but the surprise of the book was Mary Kay McComas's story 'Mellow Lemon Yellow' It was fun it was thoughtful and best of all in the genre that boast about romance but doen't always deliver this short story was quite simply touching to the extreme. For a writer i hadn't yet discovered three cheers!!! And i will definately be looking for her past works! That is why i give this anthology 5 stars, really i am just giving them to McComas

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2006

    Disappointing

    I am a huge JD Robb fan and that's the primary reason I buy these anthologies. I was eager to read the mini Eve Dallas story, having found the previous two in these collections, to be quite good but Haunted in Death came across as hurried and sloppy. Eve investigates the murder of a man, whose family background is linked with the decades old mysterious disappearance of a jazz singer, and in the process finds herself in 'Number 12' the supposedly haunted house at the centre of the jazz singer's vanishing act. The main problem I had with this story was not so much the supernatural themes, but the fact that Eve, so grounded in reality and facts, suddenly finds herself face to face with spirits and ghosts and suddenly the story is over and she's convinced. Why? An ending that was entirely too pat for my liking and not in character with Eve Dallas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2006

    Vivid imagination and unique

    Another world that you'll look forward to escaping to. As original if not more so than 'Between Shadow & Light.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    four fine science fiction-fantasy tales

    ¿Haunted in Death¿ by JD Robb. In 2060 NYPD Police Detective Eve Dallas investigates two related homicides that happen to have occurred one hundred years apart with the prime suspect being a ghost even if the sleuth does not believe in apparitions. --- ¿Poppy's Coin¿ by Mary Blayney. In 1817 London, David is guardian to preadolescent Poppy and her infant brother Billy. He raises them as his own with love and tenderness. Poppy gives her ¿Papa¿ a gold coin that legend says makes wishes come true though not quite in the way that the beneficiary expected just ask Papa and Lady Grace. --- ¿The Passenger¿ by Ruth Ryan Langan. The plane crash near Spirit Lake brought their lives rushing past them as each of the pair reflects on the ghosts of their past and what could have been. As athletic adventurer ¿fearless¿ Josh and photojournalist Grace begin to emotionally heal from more than just the crash they find more than surviving in common as they become lovers as each now knows how fragile life is. --- ¿Mellow Lemon Yellow¿ by Mary Kay McComas. Mellow Lemon Yellow has not visited Charlotte since she began to grow up and no longer needed an imaginary friend. However, Mel is there for his Charlotte when her father dies except this time he is a real person either that or Charlotte has totally lost it. These are four fine science fiction-fantasy tales that fans will enjoy especially the whimsical poignant ¿Mellow Lemon Yellow¿. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2006

    3.5 stars

    *** Eve Dallas finds herself with two murders set a century apart to solve in Haunted in Death. Though Eve refuses to believe in ghosts, she may have to deal with one as she once more takes care of the dead. Whether as Nora Roberts or JD Robb, this is one author you can always trust to entertain you. In Poppy's Coin, Mary Blayney tells of a magical coin that makes wishes come true in unexpected ways. The story is sweet and old fashioned, with only a hint of paranormal activity, and what magic there is could be explained away if you simply want a historical story. The Passenger, by Ruth Ryan Langan, uses a plane crash to bring about spiritual healing for two unlikely lovers as they literally face the ghosts of their pasts. Though sweet, this is the weakest link of the book, with a rambling style that makes it hard to enjoy. Finally, the anthonlogy rounds out with a very pleasant surprise in Mellow Lemon Yellow by Mary Kay McComas. Charlotte's father's funeral brings an old friend back into her life a very handsome man named Mel (short for Mellow Lemon Yellow). No, his parents were not hippies, he's a living, breathing imaginary friend come to life, and someone Charlotte could love, but is he right for her, or is there a deeper purpose to Mel's visit. He's outrageous, funny, and loveable. Yet, for all the laughs, this is the most poigant tale in the book. Keep a hanky on hand when you read it. ***

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2