BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Bump in the Road: From Happy Hour to Baby Shower

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good but with too much drinking

    Except for the fact that the main character was sooooooo obsessed with drinking I thought this book was great. They are a happy couple still living it up but a surprise pregnancy changes everything. I love that the couple remain connected and in love despite the surprise 'bump.'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Love it

    Just my kind of read - I laughed out loud so many times - This book had a great story and a wonderful underline meaning - I just adored it! - Its true, she may have been a little to in love with drinking but it didnt so much get in the way of the story. Def a fun quick read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Bump in the Road Review

    I really enjoyed reading this book. It was a humorous tale about life and pregnancy. I found myself laughing out loud many times while reading this book, I even teared up at the end when Clare finally gave birth. The only things that put me off a bit was the fact the Clare drank during her pregnancy,and it seemed that her friends and husband drank ALL THE TIME (not so much when Clare's pregnant but she is always complaining how she wants to drink RIGHT NOW) and that she was actually kind of mean during several scenes in the book- she was mean to her sister-in-law, Natalie, and the author never really told us why. But overall, the book pulled me in and wouldn't let me go until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    What a fabulous debut novel!

    Maureen Lipinski is off to a great start with her debut novel. The book follows celebrated blogger/event planner extraordinaire, Clare Finnegan, as she is assigned to plan a huge black tie event around the same time she finds out that the little get-away trip she had in Vegas with husband, Jake, has resulted in an unplanned pregnancy. The book is filled with quirky, yet lovable characters that are just the right mix of being over the top yet real enough. We have the annoying co-workers that you wish the ground would swallow, the best friends that just happen to be feuding with each other, the weird family members that are just a perfect fit for the bumpy road that the Finnegan's are on. While the outcome was pretty obvious of what it would be, the way the story was told kept me intrigued through the entire book. I read it in an afternoon and am anxious for the release of the sequel now. This book has definitely taken up residence on my permanent book shelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2010

    A wonderful novel that will have you laughing along with this new expecting mother.

    This is a story about a newly married 27 year old, Clare who learns she is pregnant after a weekend in Vegas with her husband, Jake.
    You will laugh out loud numerous times along with Clare as she takes this new journey into motherhood.
    Clare has two wonderful friends, Julie and Reese, (although the two don't get along). As Clare trys to balance each new fact about pregnancy, every new craving, and trying to have a normal life, she finds herself.
    A wonderfly entertaing read that will have you laughing and guessing until the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Maureen Lipinski hits the nail on the head with debut book, A Bump in the Road! Definitely a top beach read for summer vacations in 2009!

    Maureen Lipinski looks to be a new heavy hitter on the commercial women's fiction scene. I have to admit I read this book cover to cover without putting it down. A Bump in the Road: From Happy Hour to Baby Shower will have you laughing for the next nine months! The hilarious events that transpire throughout this clever take on the nine month rollercoaster of pregnancy hit so close to home that you start believing that the well defined characters are your own crazy friends and family! The storytelling and dialogue grab hold of you from page one and don't let go until the last page is done! "A Bump" is a must buy if you're a fan of other authors such as Jen Lancaster or Sophie Kinsella......looking forward to many more instant classics by Maureen Lipinski, because I have a feeling she'll be around for quite some time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2