Customer Reviews for

Bumped

Average Rating 3.5
( 313 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(66)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(55)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

great

Unique plot, great writing. keeps you entertained

posted by BookaholicTracy on January 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

89 out of 105 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing...

Ok, I want to start off by saying that the summary of this book really intrigued me, especially the author's note on how much society is focusing on teen girls getting pregnant and almost making it seem "cool". For example, shows like Teen Mom and the teens on those sho...
Ok, I want to start off by saying that the summary of this book really intrigued me, especially the author's note on how much society is focusing on teen girls getting pregnant and almost making it seem "cool". For example, shows like Teen Mom and the teens on those shows always seem to be making headlines in gossip magazines. This glamorizing of teen moms really bothers me at times, so I felt that this book would be right up my alley.

I must say, I was really let down by Bumped. The beginning of the story starts off kind of slow and jargon/terminology for this specific book/futuristic world are given, but not defined. This left me confused and broke up the flow of the book. In addition, the beginning of the book explains that one of the main characters, Melody, is pregnant. Yet, approximately 15-20 pages later readers find out she's not, that she was wearing a fake pregnant belly that lets one see how it would feel to be pregnant. Once again, I was left confused and actually restarted the book to see if maybe I had missed something. This choppiness just kept throwing off the flow and pacing of the book.

Another reason I did not really enjoy Bumped is because the "teens' voices" in the book seem forced and unnatural, ultimately making them seem unrealistic. This being the author's first official teen fiction novel left me feeling like she was trying a little too hard to sound like a teen. Although I was able to get through the unnatural teens' voices, it just brought the book down a level. As the storyline of Bumped moved along, especially towards the latter part of it, suspense and tension grew. I finally started getting more excited and interested to know what was going to happen next. I started reading the pages quicker and thought maybe I had been misjudging the book all along. Yet, I was disappointed again by how quickly the conflicts were solved, which made them underdeveloped. Sure, the suspense grew, but ultimately, the quick resolutions had me disappointed.

I am not one to not enjoy and/or not recommend books that include sexual content, drug use, or profanity, especially if they help move the storyline along. However, in Bumped all of these were included and were used in an over the top way. I thought some of this type of content could have been removed without changing the intent of the book itself. In the end, Bumped did not stand up to my expectations. The writing was poorly done and felt forced, the characters were unrealistic, and although parts of the storyline increased my interest in the book, the conflicts were too easily solved. I do think there will be a high interest in Bumped when it is released, but with the vast array of dystopian novels being published, I don't think one stands out from the crowd.

posted by Book_Lover_85 on February 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 314 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    Disappointing...

    Ok, I want to start off by saying that the summary of this book really intrigued me, especially the author's note on how much society is focusing on teen girls getting pregnant and almost making it seem "cool". For example, shows like Teen Mom and the teens on those shows always seem to be making headlines in gossip magazines. This glamorizing of teen moms really bothers me at times, so I felt that this book would be right up my alley.

    I must say, I was really let down by Bumped. The beginning of the story starts off kind of slow and jargon/terminology for this specific book/futuristic world are given, but not defined. This left me confused and broke up the flow of the book. In addition, the beginning of the book explains that one of the main characters, Melody, is pregnant. Yet, approximately 15-20 pages later readers find out she's not, that she was wearing a fake pregnant belly that lets one see how it would feel to be pregnant. Once again, I was left confused and actually restarted the book to see if maybe I had missed something. This choppiness just kept throwing off the flow and pacing of the book.

    Another reason I did not really enjoy Bumped is because the "teens' voices" in the book seem forced and unnatural, ultimately making them seem unrealistic. This being the author's first official teen fiction novel left me feeling like she was trying a little too hard to sound like a teen. Although I was able to get through the unnatural teens' voices, it just brought the book down a level. As the storyline of Bumped moved along, especially towards the latter part of it, suspense and tension grew. I finally started getting more excited and interested to know what was going to happen next. I started reading the pages quicker and thought maybe I had been misjudging the book all along. Yet, I was disappointed again by how quickly the conflicts were solved, which made them underdeveloped. Sure, the suspense grew, but ultimately, the quick resolutions had me disappointed.

    I am not one to not enjoy and/or not recommend books that include sexual content, drug use, or profanity, especially if they help move the storyline along. However, in Bumped all of these were included and were used in an over the top way. I thought some of this type of content could have been removed without changing the intent of the book itself. In the end, Bumped did not stand up to my expectations. The writing was poorly done and felt forced, the characters were unrealistic, and although parts of the storyline increased my interest in the book, the conflicts were too easily solved. I do think there will be a high interest in Bumped when it is released, but with the vast array of dystopian novels being published, I don't think one stands out from the crowd.

    89 out of 105 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Dissapointed :/

    I'm an avid reader. I love to read anything and everything, so I figured I should check out and read this new novel! I was dissapointed, this book did not hold my attention at all. And I personally found it all so confusing ( it was set in like 2036 or something...) I like Megan Mccafferty, I read her Sloppy Firsts books series and loved them. But just this was terrible and I personaly wouldn't recommend it.

    31 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Unique plot, great writing. keeps you entertained

    25 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    Okay

    I expected a lot more from this book that was not delivered. The story idea was very interesting, but as what happens with many unclaimed authors, the writing was not as good as the idea. Megan had the right idea, but the wrong writing style. For example, not explaining this whole confusing world of how these "surrogates" and the disease work really takes away from the story because half the time the reader is trying to piece a puzzle together with many, many, MANY, missing pieces. Overall the book was not worth the money, but if you are looking for an interesting story with mediocre writing and a confusing story timeline, this book is for you!

    22 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    DoNotRecommend

    This book doesn't even deserve a one star. It keeps on getting off topic and doesn't make any sense. The book is all about pregnancy and how apperantly it is cool to be pregnant as a teen. It is not cool and the book absoulutely stinks. It was 0.99 and I wasted every penny. Do not get this book.

    10 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Eh...

    The concept of this book intrigued me, but the actual content was disapointing at large.

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Love this book!

    It grabbed and held my attention from the very begining until the end and i cant wait for the second book. I would recomend this book to anyone!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Different from McCafferty's Usual Books

    After reading Megan McCafferty's Jessica Darling series, I was eager to read more by her. Therefore, when Bumped, her new dystopian, landed in my hands, I was excited beyond words. Luckily enough, Megan has made her "official" YA debut with a quite the bang, as Bumped is compelling, enthralling, and full of twists and turns that will leave nearly any reader on the edge of their seat, dying to know what will happen next.

    The main aspect that originally drew me to Bumped was the premise. The idea of teenagers completely embracing the idea of pregnancy and all the wealth and power it brought them seemed startling yet something that could unquestionably happen in the future. The execution turned out to be purely brilliant, because not only did Megan McCafferty fully flesh out this idea, but also she brought so much than just that to the table. You see, Bumped is so much more than just a "teen pregnancy" novel; instead, it is a book about embracing yourself, overcoming society's perceptions on how you should or should not be. It is about being strong when all you want is to be a weak fledging, about becoming the best person you can be- someone you admire as well as like- and that makes it all the more valuable, in my opinion.

    Tying into this, the main characters in Bumped were the ones fighting these standards of this dystopian society. For one, there's Harmony, a girl whose always lived in a world where signing a fertility contract a must have, but the thing is Harmony doesn't really want this. She wants to be able to date her best friend/crush; more importantly, she wants to be normal, making her relatable to the fullest potential. Then, there was Melody, her twin sister. She's a girl who has grown up in Godside where religion is everything. Nerveless, just like Harmony, Melody wants so much more than what she's given. However, what I loved most about these characters was that they were average- they made mistakes, but they learned from them; they did not know where they were going or whom they wanted, but they knew they would find out eventually; they were bratty and annoying at times, but who is not? Their imperfections are what made them perfect in my eyes, and I think most others will agree with me on this.

    I also have to add that I loved the secondary characters in this. From Zen to Jondoe, nearly all secondary characters were developed fully to bring not only more heart to the novel but some big laughs as well.

    Lastly, Megan McCafferty's writing and world building in this is simply fabulous. Her writing truly captured the voice of a teen as well as brought the world and its characters to life. However, I have to admit I was still left with several questions about everything, but I'm sure they will be answered in the sequel.

    Well worth a read, Bumped is a novel I will definitely be recommending come its release.

    Grade: B+

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Karin Librarian for TeensReadToo

    Gold Star Award Winner! Picture a world where a virus has rendered everyone over the age of 18 infertile. What are married couples supposed to do if they want children? That's right! Hire a surrogate. In this world there are Professional Surrogates who enter into strict contracts with couples to provide them a baby. These surrogates are required to Bump in order to get pregnant - it's strictly business. The boy and girl will probably be total strangers and most likely never see each other again after the pregnancy test shows a positive result. These surrogates are chosen strictly for their genetic and physical traits. Some girls are Amateur Surrogates - not quite good enough to make it Pro. They Bump with anyone they want and then hope to find a couple willing to purchase the offspring. Melody and Harmony are identical twins who were separated at birth. At 16, they were able to look into their birth records and found each other. Melody, a Pro Surrogate, was less than thrilled to find there was someone in the world exactly like her. It hurts her chances in business. Now, she can't be promoted by her agent as unique. Harmony couldn't be happier to have found Melody. As someone who is neither Amateur nor Pro, she looks forward to preaching to Melody about God and hopefully prevent her from living a life of a sinning surrogate. Megan McCafferty does an excellent job building this futuristic dystopian world. The word play alone is enjoyable. The media bombards these young tweens and teens with advertisements, clothing, and music encouraging drug use in order to help them relax. Condoms have been outlawed, and the term "baby" is considered a nasty word because it encourages affection for the Bump. Harmony and Melody's lives are turned upside-down after a case of mistaken identity leads them both down paths they never imagined. When you get to the last page of BUMPED, you'll definitely ask yourself, "How long do I have to wait for the sequel?"

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Annonymous

    Most of these reviewers arent being quite fair. I found this book to be hilarious and relevant to todays time. While some thing, like the virus for example, werent elaborated on, i wasnt confused. If your looking for an entertaining read with comical phrases, this is the perfect book!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    Fun, fast world! Dive right in!

    Although "Bumped" was a little disconcerting at first with its futuristic lingo and somewhat disturbing premise, after a few chapters, I found it hard to put down. McCafferty writes two such different yet believable characters which each seem to, at least at first, to buy whole-heatedly into their respective worldviews. But I love how they grow and change as the events unfold. I recommend this book as a fresh change of pace from your typical dystopian YA novels.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Dislike

    I expected better. Honestly I had to force myself to read it. It fails as a novel for still not having hooked it's reader by the end of the second chapter.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Dissapointed

    I was lookimg forward to this book, the idea is compelling but the execution was terrible. I was dissapointed and don't recommend Bumped.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Good concept. Poor deliver. Part 2

    I accidentally hit post before I was done.
    Anyway, Melody realizes that being a surrogate is what her parents want, not what she wants. She also realizes that she is in love with her best friend, Zen. They kiss. He tells her he loves her. She goes home to work things out with Harmony only to find that Harmony has left to return to her church cult group. She starts to rush after her, but litterally runs into Johndoe. He has come looking for Harmony declaring his love for her. The End. Yeah, that's how it ended.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Just OK

    I must admit I didn't finish this book (and I finish ALL my books). This was just too PREACHY and predictible. I did LOVE to quote on the 1st page of the book -- all teenage girls should read that quote... Several of my friends did finish the book and gave me the synopsis. OK to read if you have nothing else, but you might find something better.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Hmmm

    Its interesting, good read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Not all its cracked up to be.. pun intended.

    The summary was intriguing enough to convince me to buy the book, but due to undefined/confusing slang and underdeveloped characters it just wasnt worth it. Not something i would recommend.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Weird....

    The slang is confusing and i hoped that there was more romance.I cant wait to be finish this horrible book.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    I would just like to start by saying that different people have

    I would just like to start by saying that different people have different tastes and just because I didn't find it to my liking doesn't mean you won't. WIth that said this book was very hard to read for me. I had a lot of trouble following along therefor not making the book any better. It was religious which also might be a factor since I am not a very religious person. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone under the age of 16. Would I recommend it to my friends? I am sorry, but no. I hope I helped with your decision :-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    Overall very good book!

    This is the first time i have read a book made by Megan McCafferty, so i didnt know what to except. I looked at the reviews but half of them where bad and the other half was good. But i took my chances and read it anyways, and im glad i did! The first section of the book was confusing to me, but i kept reading. The second section was a little less confusing and i started to understand everything. At the end of the third section is wear it starts to get really good. Finally the the rebirth section was full of drama and i couldnt put the book down. One thing that i like about this book is that Harmony (one of the twins) is Christian, and so am i. Its really nice having a book where someone is Christian because there are not that many popular books now a days that do, so thats always a plus. Now i cant wait to buy the second and start reading that one.Overall it was a very good book.
    I would give it an A

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 314 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16