Customer Reviews for

Bumped

Average Rating 3.5
( 313 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(66)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(55)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

great

Unique plot, great writing. keeps you entertained

posted by BookaholicTracy on January 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

89 out of 105 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing...

Ok, I want to start off by saying that the summary of this book really intrigued me, especially the author's note on how much society is focusing on teen girls getting pregnant and almost making it seem "cool". For example, shows like Teen Mom and the teens on those sho...
Ok, I want to start off by saying that the summary of this book really intrigued me, especially the author's note on how much society is focusing on teen girls getting pregnant and almost making it seem "cool". For example, shows like Teen Mom and the teens on those shows always seem to be making headlines in gossip magazines. This glamorizing of teen moms really bothers me at times, so I felt that this book would be right up my alley.

I must say, I was really let down by Bumped. The beginning of the story starts off kind of slow and jargon/terminology for this specific book/futuristic world are given, but not defined. This left me confused and broke up the flow of the book. In addition, the beginning of the book explains that one of the main characters, Melody, is pregnant. Yet, approximately 15-20 pages later readers find out she's not, that she was wearing a fake pregnant belly that lets one see how it would feel to be pregnant. Once again, I was left confused and actually restarted the book to see if maybe I had missed something. This choppiness just kept throwing off the flow and pacing of the book.

Another reason I did not really enjoy Bumped is because the "teens' voices" in the book seem forced and unnatural, ultimately making them seem unrealistic. This being the author's first official teen fiction novel left me feeling like she was trying a little too hard to sound like a teen. Although I was able to get through the unnatural teens' voices, it just brought the book down a level. As the storyline of Bumped moved along, especially towards the latter part of it, suspense and tension grew. I finally started getting more excited and interested to know what was going to happen next. I started reading the pages quicker and thought maybe I had been misjudging the book all along. Yet, I was disappointed again by how quickly the conflicts were solved, which made them underdeveloped. Sure, the suspense grew, but ultimately, the quick resolutions had me disappointed.

I am not one to not enjoy and/or not recommend books that include sexual content, drug use, or profanity, especially if they help move the storyline along. However, in Bumped all of these were included and were used in an over the top way. I thought some of this type of content could have been removed without changing the intent of the book itself. In the end, Bumped did not stand up to my expectations. The writing was poorly done and felt forced, the characters were unrealistic, and although parts of the storyline increased my interest in the book, the conflicts were too easily solved. I do think there will be a high interest in Bumped when it is released, but with the vast array of dystopian novels being published, I don't think one stands out from the crowd.

posted by Book_Lover_85 on February 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    Disappointing...

    Ok, I want to start off by saying that the summary of this book really intrigued me, especially the author's note on how much society is focusing on teen girls getting pregnant and almost making it seem "cool". For example, shows like Teen Mom and the teens on those shows always seem to be making headlines in gossip magazines. This glamorizing of teen moms really bothers me at times, so I felt that this book would be right up my alley.

    I must say, I was really let down by Bumped. The beginning of the story starts off kind of slow and jargon/terminology for this specific book/futuristic world are given, but not defined. This left me confused and broke up the flow of the book. In addition, the beginning of the book explains that one of the main characters, Melody, is pregnant. Yet, approximately 15-20 pages later readers find out she's not, that she was wearing a fake pregnant belly that lets one see how it would feel to be pregnant. Once again, I was left confused and actually restarted the book to see if maybe I had missed something. This choppiness just kept throwing off the flow and pacing of the book.

    Another reason I did not really enjoy Bumped is because the "teens' voices" in the book seem forced and unnatural, ultimately making them seem unrealistic. This being the author's first official teen fiction novel left me feeling like she was trying a little too hard to sound like a teen. Although I was able to get through the unnatural teens' voices, it just brought the book down a level. As the storyline of Bumped moved along, especially towards the latter part of it, suspense and tension grew. I finally started getting more excited and interested to know what was going to happen next. I started reading the pages quicker and thought maybe I had been misjudging the book all along. Yet, I was disappointed again by how quickly the conflicts were solved, which made them underdeveloped. Sure, the suspense grew, but ultimately, the quick resolutions had me disappointed.

    I am not one to not enjoy and/or not recommend books that include sexual content, drug use, or profanity, especially if they help move the storyline along. However, in Bumped all of these were included and were used in an over the top way. I thought some of this type of content could have been removed without changing the intent of the book itself. In the end, Bumped did not stand up to my expectations. The writing was poorly done and felt forced, the characters were unrealistic, and although parts of the storyline increased my interest in the book, the conflicts were too easily solved. I do think there will be a high interest in Bumped when it is released, but with the vast array of dystopian novels being published, I don't think one stands out from the crowd.

    89 out of 105 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    Okay

    I expected a lot more from this book that was not delivered. The story idea was very interesting, but as what happens with many unclaimed authors, the writing was not as good as the idea. Megan had the right idea, but the wrong writing style. For example, not explaining this whole confusing world of how these "surrogates" and the disease work really takes away from the story because half the time the reader is trying to piece a puzzle together with many, many, MANY, missing pieces. Overall the book was not worth the money, but if you are looking for an interesting story with mediocre writing and a confusing story timeline, this book is for you!

    22 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Eh...

    The concept of this book intrigued me, but the actual content was disapointing at large.

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Good concept. Poor deliver. Part 2

    I accidentally hit post before I was done.
    Anyway, Melody realizes that being a surrogate is what her parents want, not what she wants. She also realizes that she is in love with her best friend, Zen. They kiss. He tells her he loves her. She goes home to work things out with Harmony only to find that Harmony has left to return to her church cult group. She starts to rush after her, but litterally runs into Johndoe. He has come looking for Harmony declaring his love for her. The End. Yeah, that's how it ended.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    I would just like to start by saying that different people have

    I would just like to start by saying that different people have different tastes and just because I didn't find it to my liking doesn't mean you won't. WIth that said this book was very hard to read for me. I had a lot of trouble following along therefor not making the book any better. It was religious which also might be a factor since I am not a very religious person. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone under the age of 16. Would I recommend it to my friends? I am sorry, but no. I hope I helped with your decision :-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Where is the ending?

    I was willing to excuse a lot of things about this book because it is juvenile literature. I like to inderstand character's motivations and I just didn't buy how quickly these ones changed their minds about their belief systems. I went along though because you have to move things along with younger readers. However, the book seemed to end right in the middle of the story. I DO require and actual ending in my books and this one had nothing like that. Is it meant to be a series? Doesn't seem to be. It's just a book with no end. Good thing I only paid a dollar for it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Just finished bumped

    The ending was sweet but a major cliff hanger. Still think it was kinda gross though.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Not what I expected

    I read the sample for this book today. The plot seemed really good, so I started reading. Immediately, I was turned off by the lyrics to the Babiez R U (really?!?!) and I am not even going to say them. (err, type them)
    I felt no connection whatsoever to the sisters even though they were newfound sisters. It felt like two different stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Such a downer

    I understand why religion was a topic, but even that was convaluted. The wittiness was lost in the midst of the silly verbage, and leaves you hanging at the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Ehh

    The terminlology in thid book is never explained and sometimes hard to get the idea is good but it was almost like the book was never finished. Would not recomend it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    A little slow...

    This book was a little slow and juvenile for my tastes with all the made up slang and OMGs....although the topic is adult in nature. And then it abruptly ends.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Missed The Mark

    Sounds just weird enough to be really good, right? Unfortunately, that's about as interesting as it gets.

    What I liked: 1) The idea. It's completely unlike anything I've ever read, so I definitely thought that premise was great. Add to that the whole, twins separated at birth aspect which makes it all definitely intriguing. 2) Melody - I appreciated her...struggle with the future she was raised for. 3) And I liked Harmony's altruism - to a point. I also loved that they were named Melody and Harmony. Pure comedy.

    What I didn't like: 1) There is a lot of slang that goes unexplained in Bumped. You can pick it up eventually, but it takes some getting used to and in the meantime it interrupts the flow of the plot. 2) Harmony's hypocritical attitude. She's never completely honest with Melody yet she preaches to her about her morals. 3) There is little to no explanation of their technology. I appreciate leaving things to the imagination, but I found this one a bit of a stretch.

    Overall opinion: I've read worse, I've read better. I probably won't be reading it again. But it did spark some curiosity in me when it was all over, so when book 2 comes out (Thumped), I'll check it out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A bit of a Mixed Message...

    Far into the future girls between the ages of 11 to 18 are becoming surrogates to want-to-be parents due to a virus that causes infertility for both sexes once they reach the age of 18. As a result, girls are competing for `professional' contracts that would garner them among other things money, cars, and full college tuition if they become impregnated by a male of the sponsor-family's choosing. No in-vitro. No test-tube babies. Condoms are illegal and a punishable felony. Melody was adopted and grew-up in this world. Her just-discovered identical twin-sister Harmony was adopted and raised by a religious family far from this behavior. When Harmony leaves her small town to show Melody that she should "have God", paths get crossed and Harmony loses her message in the process.

    I feel like this is another author making evangelical Christianity out to be a cult. In that view, I was disappointed. I'm afraid that the target audience (young girls) reading this book may get the wrong idea and think that unprotected sex is just fine, and that a pregnancy is the only result. Especially after reading JonDoe's parent's argument, which sights passage's from Scripture. The author does show a good knowledge of the Bible. I wanted to like this book because it's an interesting concept, but I personally can't put aside my differences of how this book could be taken one-sided by young teen girls.

    BTW: I have the ARC of this book, which indicates the target audience as 14 & up

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    What??

    Dont waste your money. Its ok once you get used to te dialoge but it is EXTREMELY SLOW AND HARD TO FOLLOW when all youre looking for something fast paced. And its like she didnt finish the book. You will have to read book two to find out what happens. The end gave no closure at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    I felt so frustrated reading this book. I hated Harmony's charac

    I felt so frustrated reading this book. I hated Harmony's character almost the entire time. I literally forced myself to finish the book so I could justify spending the money to buy it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Bumped

    This book really dissapointed me.
    The summary was really good. The book is a little hard to follow. Which one is pregnant? One? Both? Neither? I was also unhappy on how it glamorized teen pregnancy. It was hatrd to really get into. However, i will be getting the second book to review for you guys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2012

    Really boring! It was hard for me to get into this book. I thoug

    Really boring! It was hard for me to get into this book. I thought it was one of the boringest books Ive read.I recommend you dont read this book.Its a waist of your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Different but enjoyable

    Megan McCafferty takes you into a totally different world where anyone over the age of 18 becomes infertile and it leaves couples wanting to have children turning to teenage girls to have babies, or bump, with someone. Some even become professional's, selling their looks and intelligence to bidding customers. Melody is one of those teens who is going "pro" and getting a great contract, if only the family would pick the guy out and let her bump. But Melody has a secret, she has a identical twin sister, Harmony, who was adopted by a Church family and raised in a different world. When Harmony finds out she has a twin, she makes it her mission to bring her back to Goodside and make her see the error of her ways and save her soul. The rest of the book is all about how things dont go totally as expected and that Harmony might not want to go back to her old life after all.
    The characters are funny and interesting, even the secondary characters like Zen and Jondoe are well thought out and have a few surprises thrown in. The nice thing is that two girls who thought they were alone, now have a sister to call their own and they work through the problems they encounter together. For a fast read, this is a great book to make you laugh at the possibilities, but also make you cry and swoon as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Could've done so much more...

    This book had a good theme to it and ultimatly won me over just by reading the summary, but as I read further into the book I was greatly dissapointed by the lack of detail given about any; character, setting, or theme. This had great potential in the idea but maybe a(n) more experienced author would have brung this book to the level of potential it didn't recieve from being written by this perticular.

    - FaithfullyCRITICing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2