Customer Reviews for

Bumped

Average Rating 3.5
( 314 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(55)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

great

Unique plot, great writing. keeps you entertained

posted by BookaholicTracy on January 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

89 out of 105 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing...

Ok, I want to start off by saying that the summary of this book really intrigued me, especially the author's note on how much society is focusing on teen girls getting pregnant and almost making it seem "cool". For example, shows like Teen Mom and the teens on those sho...
Ok, I want to start off by saying that the summary of this book really intrigued me, especially the author's note on how much society is focusing on teen girls getting pregnant and almost making it seem "cool". For example, shows like Teen Mom and the teens on those shows always seem to be making headlines in gossip magazines. This glamorizing of teen moms really bothers me at times, so I felt that this book would be right up my alley.

I must say, I was really let down by Bumped. The beginning of the story starts off kind of slow and jargon/terminology for this specific book/futuristic world are given, but not defined. This left me confused and broke up the flow of the book. In addition, the beginning of the book explains that one of the main characters, Melody, is pregnant. Yet, approximately 15-20 pages later readers find out she's not, that she was wearing a fake pregnant belly that lets one see how it would feel to be pregnant. Once again, I was left confused and actually restarted the book to see if maybe I had missed something. This choppiness just kept throwing off the flow and pacing of the book.

Another reason I did not really enjoy Bumped is because the "teens' voices" in the book seem forced and unnatural, ultimately making them seem unrealistic. This being the author's first official teen fiction novel left me feeling like she was trying a little too hard to sound like a teen. Although I was able to get through the unnatural teens' voices, it just brought the book down a level. As the storyline of Bumped moved along, especially towards the latter part of it, suspense and tension grew. I finally started getting more excited and interested to know what was going to happen next. I started reading the pages quicker and thought maybe I had been misjudging the book all along. Yet, I was disappointed again by how quickly the conflicts were solved, which made them underdeveloped. Sure, the suspense grew, but ultimately, the quick resolutions had me disappointed.

I am not one to not enjoy and/or not recommend books that include sexual content, drug use, or profanity, especially if they help move the storyline along. However, in Bumped all of these were included and were used in an over the top way. I thought some of this type of content could have been removed without changing the intent of the book itself. In the end, Bumped did not stand up to my expectations. The writing was poorly done and felt forced, the characters were unrealistic, and although parts of the storyline increased my interest in the book, the conflicts were too easily solved. I do think there will be a high interest in Bumped when it is released, but with the vast array of dystopian novels being published, I don't think one stands out from the crowd.

posted by Book_Lover_85 on February 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Okay

    I really enjoyed the world that these characters lived in, but I didn't enjoy the way the characters went. I was very dissapointed with the last few chapters, and that sort of ruined the rest. All in all, I wouldn't recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Anonymous

    Truthfully, I enjoyed this book, but it was a little hard to follow. The idea of the book, was great, but the teenage voices were forced and unnatural. The book confused me, and I found myself skipping pages just to get to the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Interesting...

    This YA book has an interesting premise-teenagers actively wanting to be surrogates due to a virus that leaves individuals sterile by their early 20s-but leaves something to be desired. The author's use of langauge that seems familiar but must be redefined for the content lends to the quirky quality of the plot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Book Review: Bumped

    I was both intrigued and a little appalled by this book. The idea seemed very interesting, and I was curious as to how it was to be presented. I wasn't sure if it was going to be a more "cutesy" novel or have a more sinister feel.

    I really liked Melody. Take out the pregnant story line and you have the typical story of a teen who is pushed to hard by her parents to be perfect. Her parents have forced so many think of her to make her well rounded. But, nothing she does seems good enough. She's constantly belittled with comments that bring her down. I like that she's doesn't seem to behave in the typical fashion of the other character throughout this book. You can see that she wants to be more than what she's been limited to.

    I felt the same way about Harmony. As identical twins, they are alike in so many ways. Both want more than what has been given to them. But, it's never in a selfish way that makes you dislike them. Harmony never seems resentful that she's had a harder life than Melody. I never thought Harmony's only goal was to bring Melody to the Goodside. She just had to admit it to herself first.

    I also enjoyed Zen. He's a great compliment to Melody's character. He's genuinely caring. It's funny that in most other books he would be the "it" guy. But, he's short. So in this story, that one characteristic is his downfall. But his heart more than make up for his stature. He will do anything for Melody. That dedication flows out to Harmony as well. I was so glad that Melody was able to see his redeeming qualities.

    With such great characters and a light quirky story, you would think I enjoyed this more than the 3 rating I gave it. Sadly, I thought the actual idea of teen surrogates as presented in this book wasn't all that great. I was ok with IV insemination, etc for teens. I wasn't overly found that for official pregging, teens actually had sex with whoever was procured for them. It took the intimacy out of the act and I wonder how it effected those who had done it later in the their life with their partners. I really disliked how parents would basically pimp out their daughters for money, fame, etc. Melody's parents made sure she was flawless so she could have her college paid for, a new car, and a 6 figure bonus. A teen would get pregnant on purpose with her boyfriend and then sell the baby to the highest bidder. The idea didn't sit well with me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2014

    A look into a future that is very realistic, it's scary. Mel

    A look into a future that is very realistic, it's scary.




    Melody and Harmony are identical twins. In Melody's village woman under 18 are supported and encouraged to pregg. In Harmony's village, she lives in a very church based place where pregging is not encouraged. Harmony comes to Melody's village and wants to get Melody to come back to her village with her but decides she likes Melody's village afterward.




    On to the boys. Jondoe was... interesting. I mean, he was sweet and all and I would probably date him myself, but I definitely prefer Zen much more. Zen was so hot, perfect. I have a twin myself, and between the twins I liked Melody better, maybe because I was more like her. I liked Zen better than Jondoe but still liked Jondoe. However, Zen seemed more rebellious, and therefore made him more swoon worthy to me.




    The story line was set up great and has a scary twist in it where people become infertile after they turn 18. It seemed so real, it was scary. The author did a great job writing the story and making it very believable.




    I recommend this book to readers who enjoy dystopian and romance.




    Rating: 6.1/10
    Parental Rating: 14+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Pregnet 10 year old help

    Resons i like being pregnet.

    People like my belly
    People say i have a graand belly
    Reasons why they saay that i go to a school were amost every body is ppregnet and i love my big belly and how i can rub it and feel my baby kicking in my lovely big belly tell me about your pregnet belly and label your commet pregnetcy oh how i love being pregnant what a nice feeling to have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    Very hard to understand all the words the author made up for thi

    Very hard to understand all the words the author made up for this book. Very hard to understand the context of the whole first chapter. Not enough lead in or development of anything until the very end which ends very abruptly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good read but predictable

    I liked the concept of the book. The fact that at the age of 18 you will be sterile, so when you are a teen you are studded out to surrogates to procreate for the highest bidder. It makes me wonder where on earth these authors come up with this stuff.

    The lingo took a little bit to get used to but you sort of get the hang of it after a while. I didn't really get used to all of the Jesus talk though. The Hallelujah's and the "oh my grace" was a bit much but with her being a heavily religious person I can totally see that.
    It took me a LONG time to get used to the MiNet. I really did think that people in the future have eye problems. It wasn't until closer to the end that I realized that all the wink left, wink right, blink, blink, butterfly kisses, was actually them looking onto the MiNet and communicating with other people.

    I wish the book wasn't so predictable though. You know what is going to happen from the start but for some reason you read the book anyways. Don't get me wrong, it was a good book but I really do wish that it had some curve balls to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Didn't actually read the book

    I just busted out laughing when I read the synopsis.
    Jondoe? Like, as in, John Doe? Lol!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Dig

    Cmkgsx

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Hopeful

    Starting off it was slow going but by the end i wanted to know how the girls's lives would work out. I like it a lot, but the ending to the first book makes feel like it should have been longer. You can't just read the first without have the second a the ready. It ends with you totaly confused about where their lives are headed, however over all if you have a open mind it's a page turner. The dumb thing teens will do when they don't know what they really want.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This story felt a little been there, done that. Yet another tale

    This story felt a little been there, done that. Yet another tale of a future where young girls have a horrible fate in store for them when they grow up. Instead of dying at a young age, they simply become infertile. What exactly does the future have against teenage girls?

    Despite the feeling of deja vu, I did like the story. Melody and Harmony are twins who were separated at birth; Melody to be raised to become the perfect surrogate and Harmony to be a wife and mother on a religious compound. Neither one is happy, but they aren't quite sure what they actually want.

    The chapters alternated between the two girls, but were clearly labeled so there was no confusion over which twin was narrating. Of the two, I found myself liking Melody a little more, as Harmony seemed to act out of character with little provocation. And I didn't really buy the ending.

    Gave this one a 3/5 as it was a likable read, but I didn't love it. I really liked some of the details, such as internet access via contact lenses and an earpiece. How cool would that be? If you read this one, am curious what you thought of it. And are you as tired as I am of the dreary future for teenagers trend in YA?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Pretty good

    When a virus makes everyone over the age of eighteen infertile, would-be parents pay teen girls to conceive and give birth to their children, making teens the most prized members of society. Girls sport fake baby bumps and the school cafeteria stocks folic-acid-infused food.

    Sixteen-year-old identical twins Melody and Harmony were separated at birth and have never met until the day Harmony shows up on Melody’s doorstep. Up to now, the twins have followed completely opposite paths. Melody has scored an enviable conception contract with a couple called the Jaydens. While they are searching for the perfect partner for Melody to bump with, she is fighting her attraction to her best friend, Zen, who is way too short for the job.

    Harmony has spent her whole life in Goodside, a religious community, preparing to be a wife and mother. She believes her calling is to convince Melody that pregging for profit is a sin. But Harmony has secrets of her own that she is running from.

    When Melody is finally matched with the world-famous, genetically flawless Jondoe, both girls’ lives are changed forever. A case of mistaken identity takes them on a journey neither could have ever imagined, one that makes Melody and Harmony realize they have so much more than just DNA in common.

    From New York Times bestselling author Megan McCafferty comes a strikingly original look at friendship, love, and sisterhood—in a future that is eerily believable.

    My Review - This was kind of hard to get into for me because of all the futurist wording. BUT once I got use to that then this book was pretty good. I got into sort of a reading rut for about a month as you can see, it took me over a month to read this book. That was just simply because I never wanted to read. I hated it! BUT I'm reading again now. :) I can't wait until next month when the second book in the series comes out. I loved that Melody came to realize how crazy it was was about being a surrogate. I wanna know what happens between Melody, Zen, Harmony and Ram. But I also wonder if the next book has anything about Jondoe in it. HUM...come on April!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Decent read

    Book started off slow, but then got much better. By the end you are really routing for the main characters and looking forward to the next book to see what happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Clueless

    I'm 11 and i just read the sample and i'm wondering if i should get it.please help!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Eehh

    It was interesting but nothing is explained,like certain acronyms. Not the usual type of writing seen in teen books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Just ok but will be buying number 2

    This book was good but was sometimes hard to under stand the specailiead language suited to the time peroid (the future). However i will be buying the secoun one because the ending is like a cliff hanger.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Hm

    Im only 11 and im not sure if i should buy it if its inaproprote. Please help!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Interesting concept

    It really makes you think What If? And the answer is.... this could probably really happen!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    A little to religious

    There was just a wee bit to much religion not enoguh future for my taste¿ but still a pretty good book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4