BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Bungalow: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Simply fantastic!

    Fantastic! The less I write about how great this book is, the more coherent and sane I will sound. Sarah Jio has a knack for pulling the reader into the story. She writes so eloquently that it's easy to picture yourself in the surroundings she writes about, whether its an apartment in an assisted living center in the present, a beautiful beach in a Pacific paradise, or a war ravaged hospital in Europe during World War II.

    This book brought tears to my eyes. It's not a light read, of course the subject material is no laughing matter either. I dare you to read it and not be moved and not be amazed by how awesome this book is.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    Good read

    Great book. I'm happy to have a new author to follow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    A What a wonderful story

    Beautifully written. Great time period. The ending had me in tears

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I have heard a great deal about Sarah and her books. I was del

    I have heard a great deal about Sarah and her books. I was delighted that Penguin gave me the opportunity to share The Bungalow with you.
    Synopsis:
    Anne and Kitty sign up for a tour of a lifetime in the summer of 1942. Both have studied to be nurses and decide to further their experience by signing up for a tour with the navy as nurses. Kitty is going for adventure and to get away from her life in Seattle. Anne feels the need to support Kitty her best friend. Anne is also engaged but not satisfied to settle down and raise a family. She discovers more than she dreamed on the island of Bora Bora. Will their friendship with stand the test of this trip? How will it change them?
    My Thoughts:
    The critics are right! Sarah is a great writer. I very much enjoyed the book. I got close to the end and could not put it down. Sarah’s writing has been described as life changing. I couldn’t agree more. I love a good historic story. I loved how the story developed what you got to learn about both Anne and Kitty along the way.
    Friendship is one of the main themes of this book. Anne and Kitty‘s relationship changes throughout the book. It is hard when friends grow and change. Have you ever experienced a friendship change? How has that affected you? I felt that Sarah really honored this relationship in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Amazing

    A true love story with a beautiful setting. I can't say enough good things about this book. It's a MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    I loved this book! It was recommended by Jen Lancaster (another

    I loved this book! It was recommended by Jen Lancaster (another MUST READ author) and I am so glad that I read it....I didn't want to put it down. I immediately ordered her first book "Violets of March" and can't wait until her new one is published.
    As another reviewer said, it's not a light read, but it is a fantastic book. You feel like you are actually in the middle of the story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    A beautiful, beautiful story! I love it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Loved it

    Beautifully written. I couldnt put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    beautiful book.

    i devoured this book in a single day, and was moved to tears by the ending. it is an incredible period book, and it completely transports you along with the characters. highly recommend!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    I am definitely going to recommend this book!

    All the details in this book make it so realistic and once you start reading it you can't put it down! I loved all the characters in this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    MUST READ

    I was not expecting to love this book as much as I did! Its amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    Love it!!!

    "The Bungelow", Sarah Jio's newest novel is such a great story. I fell in love with the characters and their journey through Bora Bora during WWII. Sarah's description of the island during a time long ago is unforgettable. The white sands, the lap of the tide and the smell of the blossoms invade your senses while drifting through the pages. This is a story of love, loss, heartache, murder and, most of all passion - passion for a lifetime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    LOVED IT!

    A great, easy read! Couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1