Customer Reviews for

Bungalow 2

Average Rating 3.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    Okay but not great

    This book was not as captivating as other Danielle Steel novels. Parts of it seemed pretty redundant and I felt bored at times. It seems as though this book was written in a rush. That said, it was relatable to some degree as far as the ups and downs of relationships are concerned. Overall, as a huge fan of this author, I can honestly say that this particular book was disappointing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    To harstan

    Reck another book once again

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    The end was a disappointment ~ however well delivered overall. A good read it was.

    A great read until the end...which didn't seem to flow to Danielle Steels great hype on all her characters. Seemed the end was a plop of sorts...
    It was like she was 'grasping' to find a end to the story within a few chapters...Regardless, I adore all her books as they keep me in suspense, with many ahhh moments and some tears mixed with laughter...nothing better than a romantic novel which Danielle Steel consistently puts out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    having a family and a career that you enjoy comes with heartache

    having a family and a career that you enjoy comes with heartache and pain only Tanya Harris prove it to be wrong. loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Awsome book

    Great book couldn't put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    Highly Recommended for Moms

    I've read the book and it made me feel mad, upset and frustrated with what happend with the character's marriage. It was a good story and it tells us that not all good marriage that we thought good are perfect, though we trust our partners, we should also think that everyone has a skeleton in their closets. This book is brilliant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Bungalow 2

    I have read alot of Dannielle Steel books and I always enjoy her writing style. Once again she doesnt disappoint. I enjoy the main character in this book she is a strong character. She is a everyday women just a housewife that does writing on the side who get a once in a life time chance to write a movie script. But by taking the job it upsets her life. It is a very good story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Ehh..if you're bored it will do.

    I really enjoyed Secrets, so when I saw this one I thought it'd be similar. It's hard to root for the main character Tanya because she let's a selfish husband who just wants a housekeeper and someone to make him feel like a man 24/7 rule her world. Not to mention her bratty spoiled kids. I just want to punch them all while reading the book. For someone who is supposedly, so smart, she just annoys me. It's one of those books that you do not enjoy, but out of curiosity want to see how the thing ends. It takes getting half way through to book for anything to happen. Other readers mentioned how Danielle just repeats herself...it is true. We got it the first time. I don't need to read 50 pages of how Tanya chooses her ungrateful family over herself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    Great

    I loved this book, it lets you have hope =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    Great Book

    This was a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    loved this book!!!

    I loved this book and the way it was written. I'm all about going after your dreams and doing the things you've always loved doing. The only thing I didn't like was the fact that the main character would not have done it if her husband hadn't talked her into it. I'm so glad Danielle wrote this book, and I don't take this as a mean comment. But her photo on the back of the book looks like she went through hell writing this book and it shows in her piture. It took more than a few months to recover from this book, and that's good! I love the story and I'm going to add it to my DS collection. GREAT BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic!

    I haven't read Danielle Steel in years until this one. It just sounded like something that would interest me--fame, fortune, etc. I was draw into the world of the character and couldn't put it down. Two thumbs definitely up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An unexpected ending.....

    I adore Danielle Steel's writing and this book did not disappoint me in the least. It did start off a tad bit slow but when it picked up, I couldn't put it down. And the ending was so totally unexpected!!! Phenomenal writing!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2008

    Where was the editor?

    The perfect wife, the perfect husband, three perfect children, a perfect house, a perfect life. So starts Bungalow 2, one of a myriad of novels authored by Danielle Steel, the queen of romance. Tanya Harris, our heroine, is a freelance writer, producing articles for numerous magazines as well as scripts for the occasional soap opera. Her husband Peter, a successful attorney, is handsome and devoted to her. Tanya has everything she¿s always wanted, both materially and emotionally, with the exception of working on a screenplay for a movie. One day her agent calls with great news ¿ she¿s been offered a screenplay. To top it off, it¿s not just any movie, but one produced by Douglas Wayne, a top Hollywood producer whose work is practically guaranteed an Academy Award. The only glitch? Tanya would have to leave her suburban home to live in Los Angeles while the movie is being filmed. Will she take the job? If she does, how will her family survive without her for nine months? Will she return to her perfect life or will the glitter of Hollywood lure her away? The premise of Bungalow 2 is an interesting one and could easily entice readers bored with their own suburban lives. What would it be like to work with a famous Hollywood producer? To interact daily with A-list actors? Be treated like royalty by staff and live in a gorgeous apartment at the Beverly Hills Hotel? While these are all fun daydreams, the problem with this novel quickly becomes apparent within the first few pages. The first 20 pages of the book describe Tanya¿s perfect life, over, and over, and over again. The whole book reads like a first draft with so much text that has yet to be re-worked or deleted. Not just ideas, but whole phrases, are repeatedly used within the span of a few pages. For example, when talking about Megan, Tanya¿s spoiled daughter who hates her mom for leaving, Peter explains how Megan will forgive Tanya ¿¿when you come home¿ (pg. 145). Then, on the next page, ¿When you come home¿¿ followed on the next page by ¿I think it will get better when you come home.¿ Of course, Peter is also going on and on for several pages about the same thing ¿ when Tanya comes home, all will be well. It could have been said in one page. There are probably 50 pages of text that are redundant and should have been removed. Where was the editor when this book was being produced? Many of the characters in Bungalow 2 were rather one-dimensional and it was hard to understand how anybody could like them, particularly Tanya Harris, a woman of deep moral convictions. Of course, few people read Steel¿s books for their complex character development. The Hollywood life is an interesting backdrop and for that, it can be a fun read. Quill says: If you can skip over all the repetitive text, Bungalow 2 is an entertaining, fluffy, beach read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2008

    Nice summer read

    I felt it gave you a good look into a movie stars life. I could not put this book down. I laughed, cried, and laughed again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2008

    A reviewer

    Not a good book at all. Think a combination of 'Once in a Lifetime' and 'Secrets.' There is absolutely nothing new here. Ms. Steel seems to go back into her previous books for plots. Maybe it's time for her to retire.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2007

    EASY READING

    No surprises in this book. A good book to read before going to sleep. Comfortable but not exciting. Danielle Steel tends to repeat herself a lot in this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2007

    Another disappointment

    I have to agree with the other reviews. I only read the first 20 pages and then quit. I have been a long time fan of Danielle Steel, but I too have noticed how much she repeats herself over and over. It becomes so annoying! Does she really think her readers can't get the feel of her characters the first time? Just reading the book was making my stomach turn and there are so many other great books out there to read! I say don't waste your time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    Another light fantasy summer read - if you are looking for the typical brainless Steel book, this one is great. Always on the mark for the romantic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2007

    BORING

    Very disapointing. Not up to Danielle Steel's usual. Would not recomend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2