BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Bunheads

Average Rating 4.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Amazing!!

This book is perfect for all readers, including dancers and non dancers because there is just so much packed in this book. We pick up the life of Hannah, a dancer at the Manhattan Ballet Academy and a dancer in the corps de ballet. She's struggling like so many dancer...
This book is perfect for all readers, including dancers and non dancers because there is just so much packed in this book. We pick up the life of Hannah, a dancer at the Manhattan Ballet Academy and a dancer in the corps de ballet. She's struggling like so many dancers are, trying to get the attention of the managers and to also keep their waif like bodies from breaking and ruining their chance at stardom. Hannah started dancing back home when she was very young and quickly she found she had a talent, enough so that she wins a scholarship to the MBA and moves out at the age of 14.
The book is littered with ballet terms and choreography and for someone who has trained and knows the life, its very dead on. For those non dancers, or pedestrians as the book calls them, you can feel very much a part of the whole scene because of the way Ms. Flack has written this book.
Hannah learns as the book goes on that there is a life outside of the ballet that she is wanting to try. It takes the surprise promotion of one girl in her group to principal dancer that makes her finally start to open her mind to the chances out there. I do love that Hannah takes that chance and does something else, but still enjoys ballet, teaching, not dancing it. But the real joy is getting to help teach girls that ballet isn't about willowy figures and stress, but about enjoying the music and expressing emotion thru dance.
A perfect book for all readers!!!

posted by DanceBree17 on November 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A nice story...

Being a dancer, I enjoyed experiencing anothers dancer's world. The book was not perdictable.. but not suspensful either. I would recommend this to a younger reader in their teens. Good story, but something just wasn't the greatest for me.

posted by 12109590 on August 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing!!

    This book is perfect for all readers, including dancers and non dancers because there is just so much packed in this book. We pick up the life of Hannah, a dancer at the Manhattan Ballet Academy and a dancer in the corps de ballet. She's struggling like so many dancers are, trying to get the attention of the managers and to also keep their waif like bodies from breaking and ruining their chance at stardom. Hannah started dancing back home when she was very young and quickly she found she had a talent, enough so that she wins a scholarship to the MBA and moves out at the age of 14.
    The book is littered with ballet terms and choreography and for someone who has trained and knows the life, its very dead on. For those non dancers, or pedestrians as the book calls them, you can feel very much a part of the whole scene because of the way Ms. Flack has written this book.
    Hannah learns as the book goes on that there is a life outside of the ballet that she is wanting to try. It takes the surprise promotion of one girl in her group to principal dancer that makes her finally start to open her mind to the chances out there. I do love that Hannah takes that chance and does something else, but still enjoys ballet, teaching, not dancing it. But the real joy is getting to help teach girls that ballet isn't about willowy figures and stress, but about enjoying the music and expressing emotion thru dance.
    A perfect book for all readers!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Amazing!

    This is the first ballet-related book I have read and I loved it! I definitely could relate to the passion for ballet that Hannah had and I adore this book!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Great book!

    At first I thought it was going to be boring, but after reading it for awhile it got really interesting. I couldn't stop reading it and the plot was really interesting. A great read I reccommand it to anybody, especially ballerinas.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Live To Read

    was surprised how much I liked this novel. The main character certainly wasn't the nicest, smartest, or best overall I have read, but that was part of what made her so likable. I really enjoyed following Hannah's point of view and getting glimpses into her thought processes throughout the novel. She is determined, extremely hardworking, and manages to persevere through the pain and disappointment that comes with being a dancer.



    The story starts with all of the ballet dancers working hard to get a promotion-the coveted soloist positions that could make them "real ballerinas." The reader will be introduced to several dynamic secondary characters. They are all hardworking, many are very obsessed with weight. I think the author did a wonderful job of capturing the "typical ballet dancer" mentality.



    Jacob, Hannah's potential love interest, added an extra bonus to the book. He provided Hannah a view into normal, everyday life. That small snippet will come back to haunt Hannah, increasing her desire for other things-beyond dancing. Overall, the author was a great writer, there were no awkward scenes and the dancers' emotions came across as genuine. This book is recommended to young adult/teen readers.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    Book Thoughts: Bunheads by Sophie Flack

    Bunheads quickly immersed me into the wonderful world of dance, but through the protagonist, Hannah, the reader soon discovers that the world is far from wonderful. The constant routine and intense practicing the girls go through is compelling. As a person on the outside [of dance] it is always captivating to see the inner workings of things since it does not cross your mind until it comes up. Bunheads is a nice read that shows an individual must have a lot of dedication to pursue an avocation that he/she loves.

    There are a ton of intricate dances within this book. (Duh, the character is a professional ballet dancer.) Multiple dances are repeated constantly throughout the book, but only their titles are given. Most people do not know the steps to a dance and cannot picture what the character is doing in his/her head. Like others, I am foreign to these dances and wished a few of the more common ones were explained in detail. Most of the time, I pictured random graceful moves when Hannah and her friends performed because I did not know how the moves were executed.

    I found Hannah¿s relationship with one of her friends, Zoe, different. The two have a love-hate relationship which doesn¿t usually appear in YA novels between girls. Each is the other¿s main competitor, which is the main cause of their confusing friendship. I¿m glad stress is put on their relationship in their novel; if it happens in reality, why shouldn¿t it happen in fiction?

    Hannah¿s thoughts and decisions confused me. They vacillate frequently, and left me unsure of which way the story would go. I am still not sure if I see that a positive of negative part of the story. I know I switch my decisions multiple times and think things over and over again but for some reason it really bothered me when it came to the story. I also had no idea where her relationship with Matt or Jacob would go. The whole novel felt like a giant mental battle and the reader doesn¿t find out her final decision until the very end. I wished the ending hadn¿t been so sudden and the story had carried on for a few pages more after the solution of the main conflict so I could have seen the aftermath.

    Still, the protagonist¿s voice is effortless to fall into. One of the colleges I would like to attend is NYU and Jacob , the cute NYU student, made me want to go even more. Bunheads is a nice read. If dancing is your thing, I definitely suggest it (I already have two friends who want to read it).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    I loved this book! As a dancer in high school, I totally related to this book. Everything about the dancing world is right to the T, and I loved the characters.

    What I liked most about this book, is the great plot line. Filled with aspiring dancers yearning for the spot light, to get to that place it takes really hard work. I loved all the dancers in the book, the competitions and the drama. The feeling of the rush of adrenaline while on stage filled my veins as I read this book. I haven't danced for years, but to fill the dance, the music, and the to see the audience watching gave me the feeling I haven't felt in years.

    The characters in this book were great.I loved the development of them and the way they saw things. A whole new perspective is brought to the readers eyes and it held them there. The characters make some sacrifices, some good and others bad. The love interest captivated me. I loved how he made it easy for Hannah to be herself. What caught me about him, was her never ending of giving up.

    Bunheads is a perfect book for those who want a whole other experience. A dance life is something different and a great experience. I loved my dance life in high school. It was something that steadied me and LOVED to do. You should most definitely read Bunheads. With an amazing view of a dance, you too will be dancing!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Awesome

    I really love this book. I am a dancer myself( ballet, jazz,tap,lyrical,modern) and I really can relate to this book. I just think that before you buy the sample notice that u can't get the actual book until 2018 which I am disapointed because I got so hooked on it so before u get hooked remember u can't buy it yet. But I still recomend it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    A nice story...

    Being a dancer, I enjoyed experiencing anothers dancer's world. The book was not perdictable.. but not suspensful either. I would recommend this to a younger reader in their teens.
    Good story, but something just wasn't the greatest for me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    So excited!!

    I read a sample of the book already in the october issue of teen vogue and its soooo good! Im a dancer and have been for 10 years and i read lots of dance books and this has to be the best. The author writes about her pwn experiences as a dancer in the New York City Ballet through the main cahracter, Hannah Ward. Overall, im super excited for his book to come out and will definitely get it as soon as it does! :)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    I cant wait

    Im soo ready for this book!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Cant wait

    Iam so ready for this book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    !!!!!!

    I love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Love- read more for what i said!

    Im a dancer myself and adore the book ! It shows the hardships between social life and dancer life•

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Review from a Lifelong Dancer

    I thought that the respresentation of the hardships of a dancer were extremeley relevant. My life has been pointing toward the same direction as Hannah's, along with my best friend Savannah's, and it reminded me of the choice I will soon have to make... and atm I can promise myself that I am a Bunhead and always will be....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    I am a dancer and this book was great

    If your a dancer i sugest this book and if your not a dancer than i still recomend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Captured the life of a ballet dancer perfectly

    I, being one myself, could totally relate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    An interesting world of ballet

    The book showed me the hardwork, hours of starving and two or three hours of sleep (if ur lucky )side of ballet. Hats off to hannah who survived this world with determination and confidence :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    loved loved loved it!

    loved loved loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Great

    I love because I am a dancer my self (jazz ballet lyrical) I can really connect with the drama backstage!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2012

    I really liked this book b/c I could connect with it

    I really liked this book b/c I could connect with it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4