Customer Reviews for

Bunnicula: A Rabbit-Tale of Mystery

Average Rating 4.5
( 169 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(124)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Great beginning chapter book for kids reading level 3+.

I heard of the bunnicula series from another teacher I taught with and she said how all the kids loved the series. I bought this as my nieces first chapter book and she can not put the book down. I have already gotten her the next book in the series.

posted by 605631 on August 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Stupid sample book

Okay, I'm not trying to be rude but, this book's sample was a peice of crud! The sample was books by the author, table of contenst, and the legal rights page. So to be honest, I'm never going to know what the book is like. I HOPE YOUR READING THIS BARNES & NOBLE!!! PLE...
Okay, I'm not trying to be rude but, this book's sample was a peice of crud! The sample was books by the author, table of contenst, and the legal rights page. So to be honest, I'm never going to know what the book is like. I HOPE YOUR READING THIS BARNES & NOBLE!!! PLEASE FIX IT!!! To be for real I shouldn't give this an amount of stars because I' VE NEVER READ IT!!!!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on April 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    a fun read

    We read this a chapter a night to start getting ready for Halloween. It was a hit with all my 6,9 and 11 year old kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Monroe family comes home one night from the movies with a ne

    The Monroe family comes home one night from the movies with a new pet- a rabbit named Bunnicula. The cat, Chester, is convinced that Bunnicula is a vampire and enlists the help of Harold the dog (the narrator) to dispense with the monster.

    This book is hilarious. My daughter and I read it together in one sitting. You may ask, what exactly is a vampire rabbit? A vampire rabbit sucks the juices and color out of vegetables. Of course that will absolutely not do. So Chester tries to drive a steak in Bunnicula's heart. Yes, you read that correctly- steak. Or to be more precise, a sirloin steak. Wait until you see the pictures. I think the best picture is Chester, wearing a cape, and trying to pantomime a vampire in an attempt to warn the Monroes.

    The book is intelligent. I hate when children's books dumb down the vocabulary, but Bunnicula is not guilty of this. In fact, there were times when I stopped and made sure my daughter understood certain things like blight, class lectures and the Carpathian Mountain region.

    We thoroughly enjoyed this book and laughed through most of it. It is a great story and a lot of fun to read aloud together. We will definitely be reading the next books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Recommended

    I bought this for my niece and her younger twin brothers. She's been reading it to them and they've all loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Favorite

    Looks like Harold and Chester have a new friend amongst their family. Only there's something weird with this cute bunny. One of my all time favorites. Noticing, I read more vampire books than any other genre or well, with the same type of character. A good start to the series. Love the duo of Harold the dog and Chester the cat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Good

    Good and funny for grades 2-4

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    "Bunnicula"

    This is a really funny book. I really liked it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2008

    meets a bunny and dracula

    like dracula spells backwards from hellsing, this is bunny and dracula put together which is the title character of the book. this is about a bunny who turns into a vampire and its up to the animals a dog and cat to stop or save him. this book was one of my faves since i was little and also liked howliday inn. would be wonderful if was made into a movie or series though done right and something the whole family can enjoy even the older ones who know the story and for the new generation. its nice to look back on what you read and read them again to refresh your memory and to introduce it to new readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2005

    My review

    I liked this book it was preatty great. I recomend this book to young readers. It's about this family who find a rabbit in a movie threate. They take it home and werid things start happening to all there vegetables. They all turn WHITE!! preatty cool huh. The cat trys to warn the famliy, but it doesn't work. I loved the cat the most because of all the werid things he does.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2003

    Is Bunnicula really a vampire-bunny?

    In the Monroe house,everything was normal and calm...until that mysterious little bunny came.That night, Chester the cat notices Bunnicula's 'unusual' appeareance. Strange happenings are happening at the Monroe house.Can Harold the dog help poor Bunnicula from Chester's crasy thoughts about him? You shall find out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2003

    =¤±=*^-^*

    This book manages to be, all a once, warm and clever. It gives a lesson about tolerance. Bunnicula is charming, suspensful, funny and just a great bool to read. it was very enjoyable story. If this was a movie, it would be a real success. I think people will love it. it was a thrilling story. It was hard to stop reading . It was a heartwarming story, funny all the times, too. I think it could warm the hear of the stingiest and grumpiest person on the Earth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2003

    I LIKE THIS BOOK.

    I THOUGHT THIS BOOK WAS SO ENTERTAING AND FUNNY. I RECOMEND IT FOR MOST ALL READERS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2002

    Bunnicula Review

    I am a fifth grade student and really enjoyed the book some students that hated to read now love reading. I was so suprised and the ending was shocking. I have to tell you the author did a good job writing this book. I am now so hooked on it I am going to read the whole series, hopefully. I recommend this book to you. I hope you enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2002

    A Must Read For Any Age ! !

    Anyrthing with vampires AND cute, fuzzy, bunnies is A-OK with me. My fovorite character is Chester because I think his actions are very amusing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2002

    Bunnicula-Is he a vampire bunny?

    In this book the Monroes go to see a Dracula movie and find a bunny that they bring home. The Monroe's also have a dog, Harold and a cat named Chester. Chester is sure that Bunnicula is a vampire bunny because of how he looks and because the vegetables get sucked dry. Chester does some pretty crazy things to prove that Bunnicula is a vampire bunny. You'll have to read the book to find out more. I recommend this book to kids who like really funny books and who also like books about spooky things. The book is good for kids from 7-11.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2002

    That is a great.

    I like the book because it begins when the Monrows found a box, and then found a rabbit. Then they went to their house, and then they wanted to find a name for it. The mother thought of a name for it, and she said that she was going to name it Bunncula. Then Harold said that Bunncula was crazy becaue Bunncula drank all of the tommado white. That is what I like most about that book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2001

    Rabbit Tale of Excitement and Intrigue

    I love reading this book with my students during October. The challenging vocabulary and writing style can be difficult for some young readers, but the humor and light-hearted spookiness makes it a favorite year after year. Some children (who do not usually enjoy reading) beg their parents for the sequels to this book, and turn into great readers! I always recommend this book to parents and other teachers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2001

    Bunnicula rules

    Bunnicula was very exciting. I never thought that book would be so great. I liked how the characters acted in this book. The cat was very funny at some parts. I think you should definately read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2000

    Great entertainment

    I read this book as a child and for some reason thought of this book the other day. I read it again and it's still great.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2