BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Bunnicula: A Rabbit-Tale of Mystery

Average Rating 4.5
( 181 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(133)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Great beginning chapter book for kids reading level 3+.

I heard of the bunnicula series from another teacher I taught with and she said how all the kids loved the series. I bought this as my nieces first chapter book and she can not put the book down. I have already gotten her the next book in the series.

posted by 605631 on August 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Stupid sample book

Okay, I'm not trying to be rude but, this book's sample was a peice of crud! The sample was books by the author, table of contenst, and the legal rights page. So to be honest, I'm never going to know what the book is like. I HOPE YOUR READING THIS BARNES & NOBLE!!! PLE...
Okay, I'm not trying to be rude but, this book's sample was a peice of crud! The sample was books by the author, table of contenst, and the legal rights page. So to be honest, I'm never going to know what the book is like. I HOPE YOUR READING THIS BARNES & NOBLE!!! PLEASE FIX IT!!! To be for real I shouldn't give this an amount of stars because I' VE NEVER READ IT!!!!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on April 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 133 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great beginning chapter book for kids reading level 3+.

    I heard of the bunnicula series from another teacher I taught with and she said how all the kids loved the series. I bought this as my nieces first chapter book and she can not put the book down. I have already gotten her the next book in the series.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2008

    Great for young monster-lovers

    This is the book I used to introduce my young son to vampires because it uses a somewhat unintimidating bunny as its villan and animals as victems. This shouldn't scare children too much and if it does it will do it in a fun way.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Hi

    I absoloutly love this because most childrens books dont have pictures and take forever to read! This took no time and ithas somepictures andits hillarious you'll love it! :)

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    This is a great book for kids

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2002

    It's a good book to read

    It's a good book to read. I gave it five stars becuse I really understand it.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    Wonderful!

    I bought this book for my sister to read to her six year old daughter. I loved reading it to my children when they were younger. Once they could read it - they read it over and over again. The cover looks a little scary but the story is not. It is a truly delightful and fun story.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    I Got This Book

    I have this book and its really good.It makes you sad,laugh & read all the books

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Great

    This is an awsome book best book ive ever read

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Harold the dog and Chester the cat are comfortable in their hom


    Harold the dog and Chester the cat are comfortable in their home with Mr. and Mrs. Monroe and their two sons, Toby and Pete (all fake names for their protection). Harold and Chester are far more erudite than we humans could possibly believe and are, shall we say, well-read.

    One evening, the Monroes, having been out to see a movie, arrive home with a small bundle that turns out to be a tiny rabbit in a shoebox full of dirt. The little black and white animal has a note tied around his neck with a ribbon and Harold recognizes the strange words as an obscure dialect from the Carpathian Mountains of Roumania. Mrs. Monroe names him Bunnicula because they found him at a Dracula movie.

    That first night, after everyone has gone to bed, is when a very odd thing happens and, a few days later, Chester determines that this little bunny is not your average bunny. He must save the Monroes and Harold and himself from what could be a terrible fate as no one else, including Harold, understands just what this creature really is. Harold, at least, is willing to help with the mission as long as he doesn’t have to wear garlic.

    First published in 1979, this is the first of a delightful series written for the 8-to-12-year-old crowd but its humor is sophisticated enough to keep adults laughing, too. (My favorite scene is when Chester is playacting to try to warn the Monroes. He becomes the kitty version of Bela Lugosi, cape and all.)

    Highly recommended.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Hey you

    Look! Some of you peeps think yall can go around putting stuff like,worst book ever,and this sucksBAD,but this is my fav. book now you can either shut up or go through me and I dont think you would want to do that! From smiley:-)

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Qer

    I loved it

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Please read this

    I would actually rate like 20 stars but i cant do that. Best book anyone has ever read. My dad says that he read this before. How i got this book is that i was searching things earlier and dad said to look up Bunnicula. I did and I didnt put the nook down until I finished it. I would say that i read it like 10 times a week for two weeks. I would recomnend this to anyone who can read. Of course if you couldnt read you wouldnt be reading this review!! And if you cant read have someone read it to you. The book i mean. Not this review. But if you want someone to read this review be my guest. This book makes me want to get a bunny myself. And my dog Rosco and cat Bella. My mom says Bella meeans beautiful. Im going to quit yapping and let you read the book. Trust me its a good book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    I first read this book nearly 25 years ago and I don't remember

    I first read this book nearly 25 years ago and I don't remember ever reading a funnier or more delightful book. Children love it and adults can revel in the word games the author has his main characters use. The pen-and-ink drawings compliment the story beautifully. My adult friend and I read this book out loud to each other and periodically had to stop to wipe the tears of laughter and to catch our breath. I HIGHLY recommend this book to both children and adults. ENJOY!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Oh the memories....

    This takes me back to first grade library storytime sitting at the table surrounded by classmates, listening to the antics of these three characters. Years later I found this at a Borders snatched it up and read it once I was home. It's still great at any age. Today I read this book to my daughter at our own little storytime ahh it comes full circle. So get this you won't be sorry.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Love the book

    This book is a great book my teachers read this book to all of our grade and there is like 100 kids in our grade total everyone loved it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    READ IT

    If you are a book reader read this book. I'm 9 and i read it"

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Bunicula...I love this book!

    I read this to my children, several times, and they loved it. I now have the great pleasure to read it to my grand children. What a joy and honor. We will have many happy hours together. I am so grateful it's still available. Enjoy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Nice!

    Thumbs up

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2001

    The Bunnicula Review

    I gave it that many stars because I like mysteries. I like the story because I like cats, rabbits, dogs and it is interesting. Like when Bunnicula went on his midnight run and when Chester tries to kill him. I think people who like mysteries should read this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 133 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7