Customer Reviews for

The Burglar in the Closet (Bernie Rhodenbarr Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 147 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

My 1st Romance

This was my first "bodice ripper", back when i was a teenager. For such a book, it really is quite tame in comparison. I fell in love with the characters. I've read a few romances, but it is not my preferred genre. And to this day (25 years later), it is still one of my...
This was my first "bodice ripper", back when i was a teenager. For such a book, it really is quite tame in comparison. I fell in love with the characters. I've read a few romances, but it is not my preferred genre. And to this day (25 years later), it is still one of my favorite books...one that i have read over and over and over.

posted by 1156111 on January 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Why?

This is the first Montgomery book and it reads like a first attempt at a romance novel. I used to read a lot of her novels, but I don' t remember them being filled with rape and abuse. Even if I could have gotten past page 80 (by which time the heroine had been raped ...
This is the first Montgomery book and it reads like a first attempt at a romance novel. I used to read a lot of her novels, but I don' t remember them being filled with rape and abuse. Even if I could have gotten past page 80 (by which time the heroine had been raped twice and backhanded by her hero husband), the writting was awful! It was stilted, awkward, and had huge jumps in the "plot" that forced re-reading to try to make any sense out of it. The fact that this is considered a "romance classic" by so many women scares me and makes me question their emotional well-being- if you think rape and abuse are romantic, well that says too much about how desperate you are to justify your life experiences. And why does it have to get even one star before I can post this review?

posted by 5580886 on December 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Why?

    This is the first Montgomery book and it reads like a first attempt at a romance novel. I used to read a lot of her novels, but I don' t remember them being filled with rape and abuse. Even if I could have gotten past page 80 (by which time the heroine had been raped twice and backhanded by her hero husband), the writting was awful! It was stilted, awkward, and had huge jumps in the "plot" that forced re-reading to try to make any sense out of it. The fact that this is considered a "romance classic" by so many women scares me and makes me question their emotional well-being- if you think rape and abuse are romantic, well that says too much about how desperate you are to justify your life experiences. And why does it have to get even one star before I can post this review?

    18 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Such a let down

    Strike 1: book only 238 pgs long.
    Strike 2: plot all over the place
    Strike 3: lead female comes across weak and a bit of a flaky twit.
    Also.... the "love" scenes are not steamy what so ever. I would not recommend this book to anyone.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    My 1st Romance

    This was my first "bodice ripper", back when i was a teenager. For such a book, it really is quite tame in comparison. I fell in love with the characters. I've read a few romances, but it is not my preferred genre. And to this day (25 years later), it is still one of my favorite books...one that i have read over and over and over.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    My favorite book!!!

    I have loved this book since I read it as a teenager almost 30 years ago. I am glad that the main characters are not "perfect" as so many other authors write them. Jude's books are gritty and more real than most of the other romance novels I have read. This story is the first in the line about the lion belt and is well worth the money and the time.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    Highly Recommend; great romance

    Hightly recommend this book. The characters come across as real and you get quickly hooked and hate to put this book down. Great romance and intrigue.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Love her!!!

    Been a fan of hers for as long as i can remember. Always happy with her books. This was a good one i couldnt put it down nothing new for me when i read her books.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Overpriced author

    Her older books should be cheaper. The newer books are so boring

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Loved this book!

    This book has a nice variety of events and does not dwell too much on the lesser events, which was good. Although some may be offended by Ranulf behavior toward Lyonene, keep reading and you should be very pleased! Very good romance!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    good book

    I enjoyed reading this book, very good plot, keeps you entertained

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Very disappointed

    I have read books written by this author before and love the genre.. however i was disappointed with character development and appalled by the rape scenes (yes there is more than one) and the other abuse between the main characters. I don't agree with glamorization of domestic violence and think I will be enjoying the many other wonderful writers of this genre. I recommend not wasting your money on this book!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Hero is a jerk.

    Ranaulf is a sick abusive man. He is not "gentle" by anyone's estimation. He is sadistically jealous, then pathetically remorseful....again and again. If he were a modern man he would be charged with assault and his wife would be in therapy for sticking with such a jerk. Rape is not love. Physical abuse is not love. This is not romance.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Interesting

    Good story but could have been better. All the mistrust back and forth got a little tiring.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Ok story, just didnt reach me

    I understand the plot line of the man-woman-i-cant-tell-you-my-true-feelings. But this just drug it out another 100 pages. Plus the writting style made me feel detached from the characters. I really wanted to like Lyonene, but in essence, all i got from her was that she was a whiney 17yr old.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Love it

    I read this book at least 20 times when I was in high school. I have been looking for it for years. I can't wait to read it again



    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    Highly recommend

    >> This is my favorite Jude Deveraux book. The characters are interesting and kept me entertained threw out the book. I was engrossed in the book from start to finish. Couldn't put it down...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Not great

    I did not care for the physical abuse

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    Love Jude Deveraux

    I just love her books Very well done!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Great

    It was a very good book that had romance and action in it. I loved it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Enjoyed

    Enjoyed this one. Misunderstandings at times seemed silly, but enoyment of charcters was more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    Jude strikes the stars again with this one

    Very good with lots of action. Physical and emotional.Love it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8