Customer Reviews for

A Burial at Sea (Charles Lenox Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

love this author!

have to respond to the 1 star...why give 1 star to just be snarky? Love this author-if you like a true mystery, with Victorian atmosphere (backed by an author who knows the Victorian period) this is the author for you. Haven't read the book yet, of course, but have neer...
have to respond to the 1 star...why give 1 star to just be snarky? Love this author-if you like a true mystery, with Victorian atmosphere (backed by an author who knows the Victorian period) this is the author for you. Haven't read the book yet, of course, but have neer been disappointed by him. I'll buy the hardbacked copy of this book the day it comes out.

posted by ac123 on October 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Patrick O'Brian meets Anne Perry

Charles Lenox undertakes a mission to Egypt and runs into murder and intrigue aboard ship and on shore. Set in England in the 1860s, this series is a good mix of history and mystery. Lovers of both should enjoy this 5th book.

posted by 4979559 on December 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    love this author!

    have to respond to the 1 star...why give 1 star to just be snarky? Love this author-if you like a true mystery, with Victorian atmosphere (backed by an author who knows the Victorian period) this is the author for you. Haven't read the book yet, of course, but have neer been disappointed by him. I'll buy the hardbacked copy of this book the day it comes out.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Patrick O'Brian meets Anne Perry

    Charles Lenox undertakes a mission to Egypt and runs into murder and intrigue aboard ship and on shore. Set in England in the 1860s, this series is a good mix of history and mystery. Lovers of both should enjoy this 5th book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    One of the all-time best historical mystery writers.

    As a mystery buff who has read all of Charles Finch's books, I am so gratified by his sensitive character development, interesting plots, thorough research, and enthralling stories. At his young age, he will undoubtedly grow into one of the all-time great authors.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    Favorite Author!!

    Charles Finch is one of my favorite authors!! If this book is like all of the others in the series, then it is sure to be an excellent read. Can't wait to read it!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    My favorite Lenox mystery yet

    I've read all of Finch's books and this in is my favorite. I do miss Graham and Jane, though.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Charles Finch's best one yet

    I have enjoyed all of Charles Finch's books about Charles Lenox. While this one is quite a departure from the previous books I found it to be the most entertaining one yet. Most of it takes place aboard a ship, and Finch obviously did his research to make certain he got the details right. He gives an absorbing feel of life aboard a sailing vessel, and made me feel part of the whole experience. That's what I look for in a good book, and Charles Finch delivered. A thoroughly enjoyable read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    My wife and I read every Charles Finch book as soon as it come o

    My wife and I read every Charles Finch book as soon as it come out. We love this series and this is one of the best. Great sailing ship/Royal Navy background for this murder mystery. If you love mystery stories based in the 1900's, you will love this. Lent it to a friend and he read it almost overnight (he's a Marine and loves the era of the old sailing ships).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    The whole series is wonderful!

    If one likes mysteries, especially Victorian, the Charles Lenox series will have you praying for more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Enjoy it very much

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A Burial at Sea by Charles Finch Set in 1873, in the middle of

    A Burial at Sea by Charles Finch

    Set in 1873, in the middle of Victorian England, this is the fifth installment of the murder mysteries that have Charles Lenox as the protagonist.

    Sir Edmund Lenox, Charles, brother sends Charles on a diplomatic/spying mission to Egypt - where the recently finished Suez Canal is probably the only reason keeping France from declaring an all out war against England.

    On his way to Egypt, aboard the Lucy, a murder occurs. The captain of the boat, Mr. Jacob Martin, asks Charles to use his prior detective skills to solve the mystery. It's soon evident that one of the officers on board is the culprit. Things can't get any worse, as the captain himself becomes the murderer's second victim. Mr. Lenox has to race to uncover the perpetrator of theses crimes - or risk becoming the next victim himself.

    A wonderful murder mystery, a spy story and an evocative journey into the Victorian era, this books is a wonderful and easy read. I read it in two days - wonderfully told from the third person point of view. A fun read....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Great author

    I have all his books love them 1-1-2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Book

    Really good and very glow details. Indeed very good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Hell Ll

    Its teribble!!!!!!!!!!!""""""""""""!!!!!!!!!!!""

    0 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2