Customer Reviews for

Buried Memories: Katie Beers' Story

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great

I was too young to remember this happening, but i was def sucked in! What happened to katie is unimaginable and I kept forgetting it was a true story. I never felt better spending 10 buvks on a book knowing if nothing else her horrorific childhood is now helping feed he...
I was too young to remember this happening, but i was def sucked in! What happened to katie is unimaginable and I kept forgetting it was a true story. I never felt better spending 10 buvks on a book knowing if nothing else her horrorific childhood is now helping feed her family

posted by Anonymous on January 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

BURIED MEMORIES

WHAT IS THIS BOOK ABOUT I WATCHED THE SHOW ON DR.PHIL AND WAS SUPRISED AT HER KIDNAPPERS' WAY OF HOLDING HER CAPTIVE AND HOW HE ABUSED HER AND WONDERED HOW THIS BOOK WAS AND GIVE KATIE BEERS MY REGARDS AND BLESS HER AND HER FAMILY

posted by Anonymous on January 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Great

    I was too young to remember this happening, but i was def sucked in! What happened to katie is unimaginable and I kept forgetting it was a true story. I never felt better spending 10 buvks on a book knowing if nothing else her horrorific childhood is now helping feed her family

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is a very well written book about Katie's experience being

    This is a very well written book about Katie's experience being kidnapped and held captive by John Esposito. The book goes back and forth from Katie telling her story to Carolyn Gusoff, a tv reporter who covered the case, telling her point of view of covering the disappearance and investigation of what happened to Katie. Carolyn's part of the book is valuable since there are some things Katie does not remember from being held captive that Carolyn covers in her chapters. It is a fascinating story of Katie's determination to overcome what happened to her and to move on with her life after she was rescued. Katie is a very strong person to have endured being kept in the underground bunker and not knowing at the time if she would ever be rescued. I highly recommend this book for people who enjoy reading survival and true crime stories.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Great Read

    This book is very well writen and the timeline is so easy to follow. I am glad it had a fairly decent ending for Katie. Though your heart still ached for her and all she went thru. Would recoommend this book for sure!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Sad

    Can't believe this actually happened. Sad"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I'M SO PROUD OF YOU KATIE!! 

    I'M SO PROUD OF YOU KATIE!! 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Delete your post

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    I remember the name faintly when I saw the book.  I read it cove

    I remember the name faintly when I saw the book.  I read it cover to cover in one sitting.  It was difficult to put down.  Told by Katie, the victim and journalist Carolyn Gusoff, who covered the story when it first broke 20 years ago, it was a rare and deeply compelling story.  It reminded me that headlines are connected to people and often times, the story after the headline is as important as the one originally told.  What happened to the neglected little girl who was abused by not one predator but two? The details of her ordeal were horrid, heart wrenching.  The book is refreshingly honest. Anticipating, then answering my questions.  Was she ok? I learned that the answer to that question is complicated.  Abuse and neglect leave scars, deep ones.  this is a story of resilience but hardly one with a fairy tale ending.  Katie struggles, even today, but like her little girl self, her intuition and self awareness is incredible.  Its a headline story brought full circle, thoroughly, compassionately and realistically with no thorns removed. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Awesome book!! As tough as it was to read about Katie's neglect

    Awesome book!! As tough as it was to read about Katie's neglect and abuse, I was captivated by this remarkable little girl whose spirit and courage inspired me so!  The more I read, the more I became attached to Katie.   I couldn't put it down. I had to know how it all turned out and how she is doing today.
    Extremely well written and surprisingly uplifting despite the horrors of her early life.  I'm still thinking about this story and hope to meet Katie and co-author Carolyn Gusoff someday.                      

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Loved it- you go Katie

    Loved it- you go Katie

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    To the previous comment

    Its supposed to be about her time as a prisoner, how she escaped ect.

    1 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    BURIED MEMORIES

    WHAT IS THIS BOOK ABOUT I WATCHED THE SHOW ON DR.PHIL AND WAS SUPRISED AT HER KIDNAPPERS' WAY OF HOLDING HER CAPTIVE AND HOW HE ABUSED HER AND WONDERED HOW THIS BOOK WAS AND GIVE KATIE BEERS MY REGARDS AND BLESS HER AND HER FAMILY

    1 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    VERY GOOD!

    Well written. Katie is a true survivor! Wish I could give her a hug. The people who were in her life her first 10 years didn't get what they deserved. I really respect Katie and wish her and her family the very best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Cannot say enough good things!

    Incredible and brave story to tell. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Fantastic

    This book is incredibly interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Well written and incredible story of resilience

    This book stays with me, but the story is an important read to understand that we all must be watchful over society's children. Thank you to Katie Beers for telling her story, as difficult as it may be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2013

    Very Good Book - I recommend this book!

    This book has explicit language and situations. I strongly recommend this book to everyone. After reading this book all I wanted to do is HUG and PROTECT young Katie Beers. I was happy to read that she had amazing people in her life to help her adjust and create her life as she knows it. I was absolutely amazed that a young girl could think and react so well in her situation. Katie Beers is an amazing woman to have been through HELL and found her way out. It's awful to know that there are mean ugly people out there, but Katie is a Survivor!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Cgj .

    ?ti .yrejrtiudhrurubjdir hwgjvjtuiitctiyif . ?g i

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Revenge

    Dr. Phill did a segment with katie beers. She was held in a bunker by her aunts boyfriend .to get to the bunker was a seven foot drop. I don't remember how long she was in the bunker but what I do remember is that whenever she was found her aunt did not believe her story. But I hope you believe it. This book "burried memories" is a sad,remarkable,and unbelievable story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Keep your kids close

    This book makes us feel like we need to keep a watch on all our loveone closer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Excellent

    God bless katie and her stregnth! I have often wondered how she was and how her life turned out and am happy that the sadistic animals that preyed on an innocent child did not win. Katie showed them that she is resillient and her soul can never be tainted. Writing this book helps so many people who have gone thru similar abuse to know there can be light.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3