Customer Reviews for

Buried Prey (Lucas Davenport Series #21)

Average Rating 4
( 633 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(281)

4 Star

(170)

3 Star

(94)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(42)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

John Sandford shows why readers love his Prey police procedurals as he gets deep into the psyche of his hero

In 1985, Lucas Davenport was still in uniform when two young girls, Nancy and Mary Jones disappeared while playing outside. After a search of their usual haunts, the police assumed that a sexual predator kidnapped, raped and killed the girls. A tipster, later known to...
In 1985, Lucas Davenport was still in uniform when two young girls, Nancy and Mary Jones disappeared while playing outside. After a search of their usual haunts, the police assumed that a sexual predator kidnapped, raped and killed the girls. A tipster, later known to be John fell, called the cops twice implicating homeless schizophrenic Sharpe in their abduction; evidence pointed in his direction. When the alleged culprit died, the police closed the case while Davenport argued to keep searching for Fell as he had doubts that Sharpe was the culprit.

In the present, a sidewalk is being dug up when the bodies of the Jones sisters are found; their bodies mummified and recognizable. Lucas is now in a law enforcement position to hunt a predator who has killed other children. He and his partner on the original Jones case Del intensely search for a psychopath. When one of his cherished friends goes down in the line of duty by this perpetrator, the case turns personal as Lucas struggles not to do something he will regret when he catches this vicious beast as he knows he will.

John Sandford shows why readers love his Prey police procedurals as he gets deep into the psyche of his hero who is already over the top of Eagle Mountain with anger towards the serial killer preying on the young, but goes stratospheric with rage when a close friend falls victim. Besides his struggle to control his feelings, readers also gets a chance to see Lucas as a young but experienced rookie who retains the same values he displays as a veteran including his efforts to do what he believes is right even if it means bending the law. Series fans will enjoy Davenport's internal battle to stay in control as this case is an emotional dynamo.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on March 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

52 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

Price too steep for me

I LOVE John Sandford and have read all of his books. However, I won't be reading this one as at $14.99 -- it's just too much. I can't believe that it is priced so high for an electronic book. No trees were cut, no paper used, no union printers involved ... why should...
I LOVE John Sandford and have read all of his books. However, I won't be reading this one as at $14.99 -- it's just too much. I can't believe that it is priced so high for an electronic book. No trees were cut, no paper used, no union printers involved ... why should it cost the same as a hard cover? B&N, you're going to lose my business if best-sellers continue to cost this much.

posted by JIPthereader on May 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 641 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 33
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    Price too steep for me

    I LOVE John Sandford and have read all of his books. However, I won't be reading this one as at $14.99 -- it's just too much. I can't believe that it is priced so high for an electronic book. No trees were cut, no paper used, no union printers involved ... why should it cost the same as a hard cover? B&N, you're going to lose my business if best-sellers continue to cost this much.

    52 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    John Sandford shows why readers love his Prey police procedurals as he gets deep into the psyche of his hero

    In 1985, Lucas Davenport was still in uniform when two young girls, Nancy and Mary Jones disappeared while playing outside. After a search of their usual haunts, the police assumed that a sexual predator kidnapped, raped and killed the girls. A tipster, later known to be John fell, called the cops twice implicating homeless schizophrenic Sharpe in their abduction; evidence pointed in his direction. When the alleged culprit died, the police closed the case while Davenport argued to keep searching for Fell as he had doubts that Sharpe was the culprit.

    In the present, a sidewalk is being dug up when the bodies of the Jones sisters are found; their bodies mummified and recognizable. Lucas is now in a law enforcement position to hunt a predator who has killed other children. He and his partner on the original Jones case Del intensely search for a psychopath. When one of his cherished friends goes down in the line of duty by this perpetrator, the case turns personal as Lucas struggles not to do something he will regret when he catches this vicious beast as he knows he will.

    John Sandford shows why readers love his Prey police procedurals as he gets deep into the psyche of his hero who is already over the top of Eagle Mountain with anger towards the serial killer preying on the young, but goes stratospheric with rage when a close friend falls victim. Besides his struggle to control his feelings, readers also gets a chance to see Lucas as a young but experienced rookie who retains the same values he displays as a veteran including his efforts to do what he believes is right even if it means bending the law. Series fans will enjoy Davenport's internal battle to stay in control as this case is an emotional dynamo.

    Harriet Klausner

    25 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    A fair price for something you love.

    Let's review the book here, not debate about price. If you want to see the author write more books then support them with your purchase.

    18 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    Expensive books

    Free e books can be download into nook from the library . Get a ebook library card

    16 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    John Sandford Never Disappoints!

    There are so many authors that I have followed for years that are very prolific, cranking out a book 3 times a year, making themselves and their publishers very rich but not staying true to their characters that have made them so successful. This cannot be said about John Sandford. I have read everyone of his books and he has meticulously written his original character, Lucas Davenport, so that he has evolved over the years in age and wisdom. "Buried Prey" is yet another example of another "Prey" adventure that doesn't fall short. I don't want to give away any part of the plot of this latest book but at one point, I actually was sobbing over the fate of one of Lucas Davenport's colleages that I have come to know over the course of this series. Mr. Sandford, unfortunately, I devour your books in one day and can't wait for the next, but will continue to gladly wait when the installments stay this good and the characters remain true.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    Bb

    Priced beyond my book budget

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    How is it possible to have a reader's review?

    Indicated publish date is May. My calendar says April. How is it someone has already read it and published the review?

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    WILL KEEP YOU GLUED!

    Two young sisters were killed in the early 1980s. When housing is torn down to make condos, their bodies were found. We flash back and forth to the original attempt to solve the case to try to solve this cold case. The original characters are revisited in this case. Lucas Davenport, being one, is one of the great characters in crime fiction with his fascinating strength of character. Lucas stops at nothing to catch a highly intelligent adversary, putting his own career and his team on the line to see justice done. Without revealing too much, One of them pays the ultimate price. Family life and using Lucas's years make for an interesting back ground and contrast to the dirty work at hand. This is edge of your seat reading. Intrigue and questions to be answeredwill keep you glued!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    nook book prices

    I am a Sandford fan, which is why I was interested in reaction to the book. That said, I do agree that as a Nook owner the pricing is higher that I expected and it should be called out.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    Sick of complainers

    If you can afford the nook you should be able to afford the book is my new motto!!

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Buried Prey

    The bodies of two girls are found mummified underneath a house that is being demolished. These girls disappeared about twenty-five years ago. In 1985 Lucas Davenport, as a young cop tried to solve the case. And now he is determined to find the killer. This novel bounces back from the present to the past, and then from the killer's point of view to the Davenport's. John Sandford had me guessing as to the identity of the killer but has again created a suspenseful mystery involving Lucas Davenport that never disappoints. It is riveting right up to the finale!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review the book !

    If you dont like the price, then just dont buy the book. This spot is to review the book. So quit complaining about prices! I love Sanfords writing, from Rules of Prey up to this book. Keep them coming!

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Another great Prey story

    Love all of Sanfords Prey books. This one gives a great insight as to how Lucas got to be what he is in all of the Prey books. The part going back to his rookie days adds a lot to the character, the plot and the entire book. VERY enjoyable, reasonably quick read, as all the Prey books are.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    BOOK WAS AWESOME!

    Book was great! Another great book in the Prey Series! Quit crying about the price.....and comment on the book! Price is not Sanford's fault! I'm ready for the next book!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    Highly recommened

    As always, a great read. The Prey series grabs you from the first page and carries you through to the end. I would have given this book five stars, but I thought too much time was spent on Lucas Davenport's earlier career. I like the "present day" Lucas Davenport. Still, one of my favorite books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    Too expensive for an e-book!

    Even though I have "maxed out" my gift card quota of 3 cards, I simply refuse to pay this 14.99 for an e-book! At this rate, I don't know if I'll ever spend my gift cards.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Intrigue galore!

    Two young sisters bodies are finally found, who were killed in the early 1980s, when housing is torn down to make condos. We glimpse back to the original attempt to solve the case and then return to the present day to try to solve this cold case. We revisit all the characters in this case. Lucas Davenport is one of the great characters in crime fiction with his great tenacity and strength of character. Lucas pulls out all the stops as he plunges into catching a highly intelligent adversary, putting his own career and his team on the line to see justice finally done. One of them pays the ultimate price. Family life and utilizing Lucas's older years make for an interesting back ground and contrast to the dirty work at hand. Edge of your seat tenseness and intrigue galore will keep you glued!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    Too much

    Why did your new books go up? I do not want to be sorry i bought this nook!

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    Love Lucas

    Great books. John keep them coming.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    John Sandford's Lucas Davenport at His Very Best!!

    I read all 592 pages within 24 hours with 7 hours of sleep in between. JS just keeps surprising me! Just when I think he can't get any better he up and does it again.I have read all of the "Prey" series and each of the Vigil Flowers books. I just can't get enough of them. My problem is once I get them I read them and then have to wait so long for the next one(Hint hint). Keep 'em coming JS, you know what I like!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 641 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 33