Customer Reviews for

Buried Prey (Lucas Davenport Series #21)

Average Rating 4
( 633 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(281)

4 Star

(170)

3 Star

(94)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(42)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

John Sandford shows why readers love his Prey police procedurals as he gets deep into the psyche of his hero

In 1985, Lucas Davenport was still in uniform when two young girls, Nancy and Mary Jones disappeared while playing outside. After a search of their usual haunts, the police assumed that a sexual predator kidnapped, raped and killed the girls. A tipster, later known to...
In 1985, Lucas Davenport was still in uniform when two young girls, Nancy and Mary Jones disappeared while playing outside. After a search of their usual haunts, the police assumed that a sexual predator kidnapped, raped and killed the girls. A tipster, later known to be John fell, called the cops twice implicating homeless schizophrenic Sharpe in their abduction; evidence pointed in his direction. When the alleged culprit died, the police closed the case while Davenport argued to keep searching for Fell as he had doubts that Sharpe was the culprit.

In the present, a sidewalk is being dug up when the bodies of the Jones sisters are found; their bodies mummified and recognizable. Lucas is now in a law enforcement position to hunt a predator who has killed other children. He and his partner on the original Jones case Del intensely search for a psychopath. When one of his cherished friends goes down in the line of duty by this perpetrator, the case turns personal as Lucas struggles not to do something he will regret when he catches this vicious beast as he knows he will.

John Sandford shows why readers love his Prey police procedurals as he gets deep into the psyche of his hero who is already over the top of Eagle Mountain with anger towards the serial killer preying on the young, but goes stratospheric with rage when a close friend falls victim. Besides his struggle to control his feelings, readers also gets a chance to see Lucas as a young but experienced rookie who retains the same values he displays as a veteran including his efforts to do what he believes is right even if it means bending the law. Series fans will enjoy Davenport's internal battle to stay in control as this case is an emotional dynamo.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on March 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

52 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

Price too steep for me

I LOVE John Sandford and have read all of his books. However, I won't be reading this one as at $14.99 -- it's just too much. I can't believe that it is priced so high for an electronic book. No trees were cut, no paper used, no union printers involved ... why should...
I LOVE John Sandford and have read all of his books. However, I won't be reading this one as at $14.99 -- it's just too much. I can't believe that it is priced so high for an electronic book. No trees were cut, no paper used, no union printers involved ... why should it cost the same as a hard cover? B&N, you're going to lose my business if best-sellers continue to cost this much.

posted by JIPthereader on May 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 641 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 33
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    Loved it

    As good as ever. Great characters

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Wasn't expecting this

    Just so you know, this book upset me. I can't believe the aurthor did what he did. After finishing the book, I had to think the next morning to remeber how it ended. That one spot had me so flustered I couldn't think straight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    John Sandford is one of my favorite authors. I've read most of h

    John Sandford is one of my favorite authors. I've read most of his Lucas Davenport books, and it seemed like Lucas was shifting as a character from an investigator to a manager. I was ok with that, because the Virgil Flowers series is also awesome - another great character. But I was happy to pick up this book and find Lucas back in the lead investigator's role. As usual, Sandford created a plot that kept me turning the pages rapidly - and eventually unable to put down the book. I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Too slow and uninteresting.

    John Sandford and Lucas Davenport should retire. I'm a Davenport fan from way back; Buried Prey is tired and a regurgitation of the series. Slow and boring. Sorry I bothered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Okay !

    I did not find this book very exciting. It was a bit dull. Started out well with the find, but more or less plodded along.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Good Book

    Very good book, moves along. Very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    PLEASE REPLY

    Im 15 and one of my teachers gave me this book. I'm not so much concered about the content as I am the quality. If a book is truly good, I will make time and finish it. I want a book I cannot put down and keeps me wondering about it when I am not reading.
    If you can reply, I would really appreciate it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    For John Samdford lovers it is a must read.

    It fills you in on Davenport's early years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend!

    This is a great installment of the Lucas Davenport series. It will keep you guessing until the final chapter. Characters still just as rich and fascinating as before. Enjoy...but set aside time because you won't want to put it down once you start reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    BURIED Prey

    An excellent series. The plots get better with each book. Looking forward to the next entry in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Read all the Prey novels - just keep getting better

    Tenacious, rugged Lucas Davenport goes back to his beginnings as a rookie and an unvolved crime - his first on the job. But it wasn't right; it wasn't finished. It had to be ended. His tenacity and drive to right a wrong, his stubborn, relentless need to close the case compel him to pick up the pieces and bring closure to the families and peace to the dead and justice to the killer.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    I got it for $9.99

    Patience.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Really liked this book. This is my first Prey book and I'm goin

    Really liked this book. This is my first Prey book and I'm going to get another!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    One of his best

    Reading this, you can appreciate how law enforcement operates without nutty endings that can ruin a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    I need to qualify this rating because ...

    I need to qualify this rating because ... While I had my Nook w/me, I was away from my computer for nearly a month. I finished "Buried Prey" during that time, but there was a fairly lengthy delay B4 I was able to review it. I went to do the review & to my surprise realized I couldn't remember much about the book.

    I admit this seldom happens to me w/a J.S. book, but since it was apparently so "forgetable" ... I decided not to invest any time in "detective" work & give it an average rating.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Great reaf Great read

    Have read all the Prey novels and this one gives us a look at Lucas when he was just starting out





    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    Another Solid Sandford

    Enjoyed the book. Though not one of his best it was a solid read. I did like the way the story was presented. A little different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Updated

    Discovery of the bodies of two young girls, murdered 25 years earlier, sets the stage for a look at the popular protagonist, Lucas Davenport, both as a rookie patrolman and later as the seasoned investigator of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension a quarter of a century later. Soon after joining the Minneapolis police department, Lucas worked with the Intelligence Division on a couple of murder investigations, especially the case of the two young Jones Girls.

    He became so involved in the work that he solved one of them, and came close to discovering the identity of the culprit in the girls’ slaying. The facts continued to haunt him and 25 years later, when the bodies are found during the excavation at a construction site, he pursues finding the killer with an obsession, using all his training and intelligence (and a lot of luck) in the chase.

    The depth of the plot and taut writing give the reader incentive to keep turning pages. The dialogue is sharp and the pace well-measured. Character development is extremely effective. Another welcome addition to the series, and recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Another great Sandford book !

    Loved it. Another great Lucas Davenport book from John Sandford. It don't get any better than this !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Book is boring

    The book drags out a lot, boring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 641 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 33