BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Burn

Average Rating 3.5
( 146 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Proof of the old saying, "Money is the root of all evil,"?

Entertaining, for sure! This has all the exciting elements, suspense, mystery, romance, lessons in friendship, bonding, a hero to save the,(or destroy your life)....Yep! That's for me!!!...Loved it!...Also recommend another author I've become a great fan of, Linda Pirru...
Entertaining, for sure! This has all the exciting elements, suspense, mystery, romance, lessons in friendship, bonding, a hero to save the,(or destroy your life)....Yep! That's for me!!!...Loved it!...Also recommend another author I've become a great fan of, Linda Pirrung, author of EXPLOSION IN PARIS; also love Barbara Taylor Bradford,Lisa Scottoline, Lisa Gardner...

posted by Lannie on October 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing!

I am a huge Linda Howard fan and pre-order all of her books. This is the first book I have read by her that I have no desire to read again. None. The characters are boring, story totally WEAK. I have read most of her books over and over and over again. Countless times. ...
I am a huge Linda Howard fan and pre-order all of her books. This is the first book I have read by her that I have no desire to read again. None. The characters are boring, story totally WEAK. I have read most of her books over and over and over again. Countless times. There was not one single scene I wanted to revisit in this book.

True Linda Howard fans will read this anyway because reviews like this are unbelievable. Everyone else: consider yourselves warned. Save your money and your time. Read something else, or read a different Linda Howard book again. This one is terrible.

posted by Voracious_ReaderRG on July 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    trying to care...

    I have LOVED Linda Howard's books for many years, keeping most of them, because they are among my most cherished re-reads. What has happened!!? This book was a struggle to finish--SO much repetition, and I really couldn't get attached to any of the characters. Then, abruptly, the book ended, leaving me with the feeling (substantiated by other reviewers) that the last pages were missing. The trouble is, I really can't get myself to care enough to pursue it. I was just too glad to be done with this book! This was such a disappointment--I have the same feeling reading this one that I occasionally have with an unfamiliar author that I try out, and say, "Oh, well, I won't read any more of her books." And that is so un-Linda-Howard-book to be feeling...

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Proof of the old saying, "Money is the root of all evil,"?

    Entertaining, for sure! This has all the exciting elements, suspense, mystery, romance, lessons in friendship, bonding, a hero to save the,(or destroy your life)....Yep! That's for me!!!...Loved it!...Also recommend another author I've become a great fan of, Linda Pirrung, author of EXPLOSION IN PARIS; also love Barbara Taylor Bradford,Lisa Scottoline, Lisa Gardner...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    Disappointing!

    I am a huge Linda Howard fan and pre-order all of her books. This is the first book I have read by her that I have no desire to read again. None. The characters are boring, story totally WEAK. I have read most of her books over and over and over again. Countless times. There was not one single scene I wanted to revisit in this book.

    True Linda Howard fans will read this anyway because reviews like this are unbelievable. Everyone else: consider yourselves warned. Save your money and your time. Read something else, or read a different Linda Howard book again. This one is terrible.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Huh?

    I did a lot of skimming through this book. Sometimes she went into the most boring of details about these people's lives. It has some entertaining moments but not enough to make me want to recommend it to anyone else. I don't know what happened to Linda? It makes me wonder if she took some bad advice along the way of her career. I don't understand how the same woman who wrote "Shades of Twilight", "After The Night", "Mr. Perfect", and her other beloved older books can write the stuff she has written in the last few years. LINDA COME BACK!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2009

    Boring!

    While I have read all of Linda Howard's books, I found Burn to be boring.
    Have you ever noticed that the more books an author writes, the worse they get? Sandra Brown is the same way. Waste of money! Yet we contuniue to buy because we remember how great the previous books were and this one just might be another great read. Get this one in your local library or used book store.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Burn is Boring! Love Her other Books

    I am a Linda Howard fan from way back. I read her early paperbacks like Come Lie With Me and Loving Evangeline, etc. I devoured her westerns which were fantastic. Lady of The West, Angel Creek,etc. My favorite novel of hers is After The Night. I have reread ten times, it is so powerful and moving. THAT book has everything. Then her hardcovers came out which I prefer. Mr. Perfect, Open Season, Dying TO Please, Dream Man,...basically all but a few are wonderful reads with great plots, steamy sex scenes, and humor in the right places! Her latest book Burn falls flat like a pancake. You are on a luxury liner for most of the plot. The heroine is supposed to be funny but she is annoying like a gnat. The hero is bland and lackluster. The secondary characters have no depth. I am 3/4 of the way through and don't know if I can finish. The idea was great, winning the lottery, but I think Linda Howard lost her mojo when she scrounged around what to do with her characters.Don't bother to read this one.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2010

    I loved it!

    I loved this book. I have loved Linda Howard's other books. If you like her other books, more than likely you'll like this one too. It does take a few chapters before you meet the "hero," but those chapters are interesting and have to do with character development. I like all the descriptions the author gave and thought they enhanced the story. I even liked the ending. I will definitely be reading this one again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    Loved This

    Classic Linda Howard. I didn't think I would enjoy this story much because it sounded like a story line that has been overdone, but I loved it. If you enjoy Linda Howard then you should enjoy this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I Loved It!

    I like Linda Howard, mainly because the last couple of books she's written have not been typical romance. I like Linda because of her originality in characters and plot lines.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not worth your time!

    As other reviewers have written, I am (was) a fan of Linda Howard... waiting with anticipation for her next book. However, after suffering through her latest, I doubt I'll ever read another! The plot is tissue thin, the characters unlikeable, and there are too many repetitive lines (they had Syd...) ugh! The dialogue is flat and uninspired.
    Pass this by.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    You are my favorite...what happened here?

    I run to the bookstore when a new Linda Howard book comes out, but this??? I could hardly believe it was the same author who wrote Death Angel, Duncan's Bride, Loving Evangeline, and so many others I adore.Your characters have become cherished friends......but I had to push to get through this. It lacked the sexy man, who you (that would be me!) were dying to get your hands on, and the plot that made me tell others to 'bug off...I'm reading my Linda Howard book". Since I love her work so much, I hope she reads this, and gives me back my gorgeous men, wonderful women (I love you Mandy!....Duncan's Bride) and a plot that leaves you unable to read it just once. I was so surprised this book came from Linda Howard. I opened it, but nobody home!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    Linda Howard way to go

    It was a fast read for me. I've read almost all her other books.It kept you interested the wholeway through.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Summer Read

    Winning the lottery proves to be a challenge but the escape on a cruise turns out to be near deadly. No one is who the seem to be and the twists and turns leave your guessing who is the good guy from the bad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    FIRST TIME READER

    This is the first time I have read anythng by Linda Howard. I enjoyed the story line. I'm not much of a Romance reader but this had enough intreague to keep me interested. A little romance along with some mystery works for me. I like her writing style and I am now looking forward to reading some of her other books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    Another winner

    "Burn" by Linda Howard is a very entertaining and suspenseful novel in a long line of winners by this author. Initialy, I found it a little difficult to get into, but it was well worth perserving. Jenner and Cael are extremely entertaining in their acrimonious exchanges as the plot wends it way from kidnapping to saving a cruise ship full of wealthy passengers from a maniac set on annihilation. Jenner reminds me of Jane Bright from "Mr. Perfect" and Blair from "To Die For" and "Drop Dead Gorgous" - smart, acerbic and hysterically funny. I ALWAYS get Linda Howard's novels as soon as thy hit the shelves. Bravo!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    A Fan

    I really couldn't get into this book like her other books. It was okay but just couldn't keep my interest.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Quite

    In Burn by Linda Howard (Random House 2009), Jenner Redwine's life changes when she wins the lottery - and not in a good way. First, her father steals from her, her recently turned ex-boyfriend tries to sue for half, and her friends drop her when she stops paying for everything.

    Years later, she agrees to go on a charity cruise with her new best friend - someone who has helped her navigate through this new world of money. However, Jenner is taken hostage and forced to comply with her captors or they will hurt her best friend, who was also kidnapped.

    What follows is a story filled with humor - Jenner certainly holds her own against her captors and even wins them over. However, Linda Howard does not provide the intense page-turner like some of her other novels (Mr. Perfect and Dream Man). The story feels a bit contrived and unrealistic. We know who is good and who is bad from the beginning, which takes away much of the mystery in this romantic suspense.

    It was a fun read, but not a must read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Maybe....

    Jenner Redwine is a unique character in a unique situation. After the initial hump of winning the lottery, where she dumps her boyfriend, pushes her vain, money-hungry friend to the side, and her father steals part of her fortune, seven years later, she's scheduled to take a cruise with her only true friend, Syd. Enter hero Cael, who is a clandestine/obstruse intelligence agent for what agency, we don't know. Cael and his band of fringe agents kidnap Syd in CA and Jenner on the luxury liner. His sole purpose is to spy on one of the owners of the ship, again, the reasons are as murky as polluted waters. The plot was plausible, except so predictable and voiced. The sizzle b/t Jenner and Cael, not the best but do able. The necessity of Jenner winning the lottery seemed a bit contrived. For someone who was always used to working and independent from a young age, her character changed too much after winning the lottery. She seemed lost and confused until Cael pops into her life - then she knows exactly what she wants to do in her life. However, I enjoyed the wit and verbal blows between Cael and Jenner, sometimes I even laughed out loud. I would not, however, say that this was my favorite Linda Howard. All The Queen's Men is still my top favorite. Burn was a nice book that you didn't have to think too much about because the author told you what was going to happen before it happened; there was no real thrill or suspense.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing!

    I am a huge fan of Linda Howard but lately some of her books have been lacking a certain something. Well that is not so with this book.
    Burn went back to having a spunky, courageous, honest, and funny leading lady with attitude. Jenner Redwine made me laugh out loud. Cael Traylor was a good old fashioned hunk. He was rough around the edges but a true hero.
    I enjoyed the one liners and all the side characters too. There was even a very touching moment when an older lady reminisces about her past and it brought a tear to my eye.
    Overall I totally enjoyed this novel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2009

    Boring!

    Wow, what a disappointment. After reading it a few times, Up Close and Dangerous grew on me and now I like it. Death Angel was okay and I'll read it in a pinch. But this book was so boring. I liked the characters but didn't feel like she did enough with them. The plot was just plain boring and not interesting. I didn't like the beginning, it got a little better in the middle, and then the ending was horrible. I was glad I waited for the library instead of buying. Not your typical Linda Howard- try Cover of Night, All the Queen's Men, Mr Perfect.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8