Customer Reviews for

Burn

Average Rating 3.5
( 146 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Proof of the old saying, "Money is the root of all evil,"?

Entertaining, for sure! This has all the exciting elements, suspense, mystery, romance, lessons in friendship, bonding, a hero to save the,(or destroy your life)....Yep! That's for me!!!...Loved it!...Also recommend another author I've become a great fan of, Linda Pirru...
Entertaining, for sure! This has all the exciting elements, suspense, mystery, romance, lessons in friendship, bonding, a hero to save the,(or destroy your life)....Yep! That's for me!!!...Loved it!...Also recommend another author I've become a great fan of, Linda Pirrung, author of EXPLOSION IN PARIS; also love Barbara Taylor Bradford,Lisa Scottoline, Lisa Gardner...

posted by Lannie on October 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing!

I am a huge Linda Howard fan and pre-order all of her books. This is the first book I have read by her that I have no desire to read again. None. The characters are boring, story totally WEAK. I have read most of her books over and over and over again. Countless times. ...
I am a huge Linda Howard fan and pre-order all of her books. This is the first book I have read by her that I have no desire to read again. None. The characters are boring, story totally WEAK. I have read most of her books over and over and over again. Countless times. There was not one single scene I wanted to revisit in this book.

True Linda Howard fans will read this anyway because reviews like this are unbelievable. Everyone else: consider yourselves warned. Save your money and your time. Read something else, or read a different Linda Howard book again. This one is terrible.

posted by Voracious_ReaderRG on July 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Proof of the old saying, "Money is the root of all evil,"?

    Entertaining, for sure! This has all the exciting elements, suspense, mystery, romance, lessons in friendship, bonding, a hero to save the,(or destroy your life)....Yep! That's for me!!!...Loved it!...Also recommend another author I've become a great fan of, Linda Pirrung, author of EXPLOSION IN PARIS; also love Barbara Taylor Bradford,Lisa Scottoline, Lisa Gardner...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2010

    I loved it!

    I loved this book. I have loved Linda Howard's other books. If you like her other books, more than likely you'll like this one too. It does take a few chapters before you meet the "hero," but those chapters are interesting and have to do with character development. I like all the descriptions the author gave and thought they enhanced the story. I even liked the ending. I will definitely be reading this one again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    Loved This

    Classic Linda Howard. I didn't think I would enjoy this story much because it sounded like a story line that has been overdone, but I loved it. If you enjoy Linda Howard then you should enjoy this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I Loved It!

    I like Linda Howard, mainly because the last couple of books she's written have not been typical romance. I like Linda because of her originality in characters and plot lines.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    Linda Howard way to go

    It was a fast read for me. I've read almost all her other books.It kept you interested the wholeway through.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Summer Read

    Winning the lottery proves to be a challenge but the escape on a cruise turns out to be near deadly. No one is who the seem to be and the twists and turns leave your guessing who is the good guy from the bad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    FIRST TIME READER

    This is the first time I have read anythng by Linda Howard. I enjoyed the story line. I'm not much of a Romance reader but this had enough intreague to keep me interested. A little romance along with some mystery works for me. I like her writing style and I am now looking forward to reading some of her other books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    Another winner

    "Burn" by Linda Howard is a very entertaining and suspenseful novel in a long line of winners by this author. Initialy, I found it a little difficult to get into, but it was well worth perserving. Jenner and Cael are extremely entertaining in their acrimonious exchanges as the plot wends it way from kidnapping to saving a cruise ship full of wealthy passengers from a maniac set on annihilation. Jenner reminds me of Jane Bright from "Mr. Perfect" and Blair from "To Die For" and "Drop Dead Gorgous" - smart, acerbic and hysterically funny. I ALWAYS get Linda Howard's novels as soon as thy hit the shelves. Bravo!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing!

    I am a huge fan of Linda Howard but lately some of her books have been lacking a certain something. Well that is not so with this book.
    Burn went back to having a spunky, courageous, honest, and funny leading lady with attitude. Jenner Redwine made me laugh out loud. Cael Traylor was a good old fashioned hunk. He was rough around the edges but a true hero.
    I enjoyed the one liners and all the side characters too. There was even a very touching moment when an older lady reminisces about her past and it brought a tear to my eye.
    Overall I totally enjoyed this novel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Great read!

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2010

    AMAZING!

    I'm not a avid book reader, but Linda Howard is one author that I just can't pass her books when I see them on a shelf! Every one of her books that I have read; I just could not put them down! I literally fight sleep trying to finish them! I'm a young fun crazy type of girl, who never has time to really read, but I make time for these books! AWESOME! Really great story lines!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic

    This was a suspensful and very sensual erotic romance that i could not put down. Jenner's character pulled me right in so i could relate. She wins the lottery but what happens next is the good part. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    Burn by Linda Howard

    This novel had me on the edge of my seat, and not wanting to go to bed before I got to the end! The biggest problem is - there were only 367 pages in the book, so I never did get to the end!!!! Every book store I've either visited or called has only 367 pages in their copies. I sent an e-mail to Random House more than a month ago, and have had no response. I finally wrote a letter to Linda Howard in care of Ballantine Books Publicity, in New York City, and am waiting to hear back. How could the proofread and editor, and the author herself, not notice this discrepancy??!!

    Sincerely,

    Nancy A. Schobert

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't wait!

    I've been counting the days until Linda Howard's newest book. I'm anticipating another great read!

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3