Customer Reviews for

Burn (The Breathless Trilogy #3)

Average Rating 4
( 471 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(234)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(52)

1 Star

(54)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

R

Nwswgxghjkknqm

posted by 2343922 on August 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

I was hoping for something better than this. Once again I pre or

I was hoping for something better than this. Once again I pre ordered based on the first two books and, again, I was  disappointed. 
I do not understand the trend with e-book authors cranking out sub par books while charging more than an actual book would cost.
Eventua...
I was hoping for something better than this. Once again I pre ordered based on the first two books and, again, I was  disappointed. 
I do not understand the trend with e-book authors cranking out sub par books while charging more than an actual book would cost.
Eventually this greedy trend will backfire. The author could have used the characters of Ash and Josie to develop a meaningful plot.  
Instead all we get is filler. I wish these authors would take the time to give us our money's worth. How about it Maya? Can I get a refund?

posted by cheekys_dance on August 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 471 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24
  • Posted August 7, 2013

    I was hoping for something better than this. Once again I pre or

    I was hoping for something better than this. Once again I pre ordered based on the first two books and, again, I was  disappointed. 
    I do not understand the trend with e-book authors cranking out sub par books while charging more than an actual book would cost.
    Eventually this greedy trend will backfire. The author could have used the characters of Ash and Josie to develop a meaningful plot.  
    Instead all we get is filler. I wish these authors would take the time to give us our money's worth. How about it Maya? Can I get a refund?

    32 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2013

    Did Maya Banks really write this? I find that hard to believe. T

    Did Maya Banks really write this? I find that hard to believe. This writing is amateur and as mentioned by other reviewers, the lack of pronouns in every sentence Ash says has me grinding my teeth in annoyance. It really makes getting through the book very difficult. I understand that Josie is submissive but it seems to me that she agrees to everything Ash wants a little too easily especially as he is someone she just met out of the blue and for all intents and purposes was stalking her hardcore. To say I am disappointed in this book is an understatement.

    27 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Good, not great

    After reading Gabe and Jace's stories, this was a let down to me. Jace already did the love at first sight thing, so Ash's instantaneous lust seemed contrived. Their relationship was superficial, and even the vocabulary seemed off. I was disappointed. I expected more from Ash's story.

    23 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    This story felt so rushed and repetitive! I was very disappoint

    This story felt so rushed and repetitive! I was very disappointed. Not the best writing either. I always felt like Ash wasn't speaking in complete sentences. Tended to get annoying! I enjoyed the first 2 books of the series and enjoy Maya Banks work but this wasn't the best!

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Bummer:(

    I love Maya Banks books but this was a let down:( It was hard to even like Ash and little info was given about Josie to keep me invested. I also hated Ash's dialogue....where were the complete sentences??? He sounded like a caveman and not in a good way! Throwing in Ash's sister was good but really needed expanding....possibly her own book? Sex scenes were not as hot as usual for a Banks story and I hated the whole tie in with Josie's ex....just felt disingenuious:( Plus (spoiler!) the whole bringing back the conflict from book 1 with the businessman who tried to blackmail Gage was so out of left field...it did not fit at all!! It was like Banks was trying to throw a whole bunch of ideas together and it just made for a sub-par work. Hope future works will be better because I do usually enjoy her writting!

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    This was a sad followup to to two pretty decent books.  Ash was

    This was a sad followup to to two pretty decent books.  Ash was contrived, Josie really didn't have a substantial story behind her, and the sex scenes were just as boring.  I echo another comment where it seemed like a rehash of Jace.  I just bought it yesterday and I'm already over it.   

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    I was disappointed in this book, esp. after reading Rush and Fev

    I was disappointed in this book, esp. after reading Rush and Fever. I thought Ash's story would have been the best of the three, but at least for me, I enjoyed Rush and Fever, esp. Fever, way more than Burn. I found that Burn DID NOT Burn at all. It was actually quite boring. The relationship between Ash and Josie was not all that interesting. I was actually more interested in the relationship between Brittany and Kai Wellington. Now that is a book I would love to read!!! I did not quite understand why Maya Banks wanted us to believe that Ash was so much more a hardass than Gabe or Jace, esp. Jace, when for the past 2 books, Ash has been the laidback fun one. Ash had absolutely no personality in this book, and that was just downright weird. I don't care if Josie brought out his proctective and possessive instinct, he still should have been fun. You cannot change a character's personality that much, it just doesn't work. It made absolutely no sense that Ash would forget such big and important events occurring in his friends, that are really his family, lives. That was just weird. There is no way that Gabe, Jace and Ash have been best friends for over 20 years, and Gabe nor Jace realized that Ash was much more intense than either one of them. I wasn't buying it. I didn't find Joise to be very interesting either, and her reason for becoming so angry with Ash was just ridiculous, esp. her overreaction to it. I also thought we would have seen more interaction between Ash and his family, esp. since we have been continually told about the relationship for the past 2 books. The interaction that was there was over mighty quickly, and I was not quite sure whether anything was resolved or not. And Mia absolutely got on my nerves in this book. She continually inserted her foot into her mouth on numerous occasions without regard to whose feelings were being hurt. It annoyed me when she did it to Bethany in Fever, but it was way worse in this book. However, I did enjoy that the third book tied up lose ends from the previous books though, and I always enjoy any interactions where Jace and Gabe are involved.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    Baffled by Book 3! I waited for months to get to find out about

    Baffled by Book 3! I waited for months to get to find out about Ash's story and I am sorry to say that it was disappointing. the book was BLAH. No real plot line except at the end when there was some inclusion of the other two books of this Breathless Trilogy. I did not see what the attraction was for Ash and Josie. Was he just looking for a woman? Was she just looking for a new partner? By far, this was the least interesting book in this series. Gabe and Mia's story was the best (Book 1). Maya Banks is a better writer than this. It felt like she either ran out of ideas or just wanted to fill up pages. In fact, the secondary characters Brittany and Kai held my attention more. So sad:(

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Disappointed

    Agree with previous poster that this plot rehashed Jase's story line. I was alsomad that Ash just didn't have any more depth to him than pissed off. He was vengeful and even hateful at times which was so not his character. What irrates me even more is shellingnout $9 for less than 300 pages. I found the dialoge trite and repetitive. I expect better of a Maya Banks book. I am really rethinking her new Colter book coming out....

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    This is just not good reading

    As sorry as i am to have to say this, there is no story here. The characters were likable, but there is no plot. The dialogue is just tedius, and the interactions with the other charactets was flat. The sex scenes wew just not sexy. There are also numerous typo errors, makes me think this story was rushed to press. It is only vaguely more than an outline with a lot of filler. The last novel in the kgi series was also very disappointing. I hate to say it, but i will not be able to continue reading maya banks. It makes me sad, but i just am not wealthy enough to keep throwing money away on bad books. Maya, get a new editor....

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Dissapointed

    I have to say this was a let down. The plot was not exciting as most of her books. Did the publisher read this book before publishing? Waste of 9 dollars. If you expecting a good story move on.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Anonymous

    I couldn't even finish this book. There is such a thing as too much sex. It would be nice to have a storyline to go along with it. If I run out of things to read, I may go back and finish this book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    No thanks

    ## This series was not good. It's like someone else wrote it. Oh, how I usually love Maya Banks. Sorry to say that I can't recommend these books.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    After reading the first 2 books, this one is not what I had been

    After reading the first 2 books, this one is not what I had been expecting. A real let down. The language for this whole series was lacking greatly. These stories are about successful men in their late 30's, not a bunch of frat boys getting lucky. Just sayin.........

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Where was the story

    Having read the first two books I was looking forward to Ash's story; in particular understanding his family backstory since it's a recurring theme in the others. What a disappointment. There was no story line, no time spent on developing the characters, even the sex was boring. The dialogue was badly written/edited. I don't understand how any editor or successful author could have released this mess. Maya should have taken an extra couple of months and written a proper story.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2013

    The writing is always great, but I guess I expected a better sto

    The writing is always great, but I guess I expected a better story. I enjoyed reading about all three guys, but the best of this trilogy was Gabe and Mia's story.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Lit 101

    What a disappointment! I pre-ordered and waited only to be let down by Banks. I expected more character development, better vocabulary (if Josie "whispered" one more time I thought I'd scream) and sentence structure, and a more interesting story line.

    I, too, felt as if Banks may have not written this book. Too much was off. What happened to Bethany? She went from a character with backbone to a whimp!

    I wouldn't mind Brittany's story but wouldn't pre-order. I'll wait for reviews before purchasing less than 300 pages of drivel.


    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    I can't say I loved the first two, but I bought this because I w

    I can't say I loved the first two, but I bought this because I wanted to see how it ended. I wish I hadn't. I will make a point not to buy any more of Maya Banks' books to try to counter act the money a wasted on this. She could have done so much better with very little effort. 

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    meh

    This book is way below par. Both characters had no depth this was money wasted .

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    I missed....

    I liked the book but where was the super flirty Ash with the quick wit? I missed the cute, light heartedness from him. I miss some of the feel of the characters from the first book and i feel like this was rushed a bit too. But i do like the girls nights out and the other characters like Brit and Caro.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 471 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24