Customer Reviews for

Burn (Anna Pigeon Series #16)

Average Rating 3.5
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Neveda Barr is at her sparkling best with this enthralling whodunit.

Leaving her spouse behind at home working, National Park Ranger Anna Pigeon is visiting a friend Geneva in New Orleans. Anna is taken aback when someone places a hex on her using a dead pigeon with arcane etchings on it. She assumes Geneva's tenant Jordan is behind th...
Leaving her spouse behind at home working, National Park Ranger Anna Pigeon is visiting a friend Geneva in New Orleans. Anna is taken aback when someone places a hex on her using a dead pigeon with arcane etchings on it. She assumes Geneva's tenant Jordan is behind the dark magic attempt, but though he is a peculiar unfriendly sort, she has done nothing to him to warrant such a spell.

Not one to lay back having solved many homicides and other crime mysteries at the parks around the country, Anna investigates who tried to hex her and why, and to learn more about Jordon. As she navigates the dark mumbo jumbo urban jungle of the Big Easy, Anna refuses to be anyone's pigeon though she was not expecting a mundane murder to occur rather than mumbo jumbo mojo magic.

Taking Anna out of the National Park scenes of homicides in every park adds a freshness to her investigations as she is a fish out of water, especially having her hexed in New Orleans. Fast-paced as always, fans will enjoy Anna working the urban jungle rather than the parks as her inqury spins out of control. Neveda Barr is at her sparkling best with this enthralling whodunit.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on June 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Long time Nevada Barr Reader is Disappointed

I usually love Nevada Barr/Anna Pigeon, but this book really was lacking for me. I like Outdoors/National Park Anna, not Urban Anna. The whole situation was just contrived and the subject matter was very disturbing to read. Put her back in the outdoors and national park...
I usually love Nevada Barr/Anna Pigeon, but this book really was lacking for me. I like Outdoors/National Park Anna, not Urban Anna. The whole situation was just contrived and the subject matter was very disturbing to read. Put her back in the outdoors and national parks so she can be the character we've come to love.

posted by MaggzyMay on August 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 31, 2010

    Long time Nevada Barr Reader is Disappointed

    I usually love Nevada Barr/Anna Pigeon, but this book really was lacking for me. I like Outdoors/National Park Anna, not Urban Anna. The whole situation was just contrived and the subject matter was very disturbing to read. Put her back in the outdoors and national parks so she can be the character we've come to love.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Neveda Barr is at her sparkling best with this enthralling whodunit.

    Leaving her spouse behind at home working, National Park Ranger Anna Pigeon is visiting a friend Geneva in New Orleans. Anna is taken aback when someone places a hex on her using a dead pigeon with arcane etchings on it. She assumes Geneva's tenant Jordan is behind the dark magic attempt, but though he is a peculiar unfriendly sort, she has done nothing to him to warrant such a spell.

    Not one to lay back having solved many homicides and other crime mysteries at the parks around the country, Anna investigates who tried to hex her and why, and to learn more about Jordon. As she navigates the dark mumbo jumbo urban jungle of the Big Easy, Anna refuses to be anyone's pigeon though she was not expecting a mundane murder to occur rather than mumbo jumbo mojo magic.

    Taking Anna out of the National Park scenes of homicides in every park adds a freshness to her investigations as she is a fish out of water, especially having her hexed in New Orleans. Fast-paced as always, fans will enjoy Anna working the urban jungle rather than the parks as her inqury spins out of control. Neveda Barr is at her sparkling best with this enthralling whodunit.

    Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good

    Well worth the price. I enjoyed reading this book on my breaks.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Burn, a Scary Good Read

    Burn is a compelling novel, dark, truly scary and frightening. A great story, I read it in less than two days. With her husband busy catching up at work after their eventful vacation, National Park Ranger Anna Pigeon had too much time on her hands and too much drive not to keep busy. So she went to New Orleans to visit an old friend, Geneva, a blind singer at the New Orleans Jazz National Historic Park. Even though she is blind, Geneva knew that her boarder Jordan was a woman. Anna thought she was a he and a pedophile creep and began surveillance. Anna follows Jordan to a strip club where he was working behind the bar. Even the girls there thought Jordan was a creep and a pedophile, but Jordan had a mission. She was really Claire Sullivan, an actress wanted in Seattle for the murder of her husband, her husband's mistress and the girls' nanny, and their two girls. When she found her daughters missing after returning from the drug store with cough medicine and dialing 911, her house went up in flames. In the ensuing chaos, she overheard two men with New Orleans accents talking about taking the children to the Bourbon Street Nursery and saying the name of the nanny's child Aisha. Her acting skills allowed her to survive and make her way to New Orleans, and by the time she met Anna, she had some leads to the location of the Nursery. With Anna's help, the search moves quickly, and the plot races to the climax and an explosively burning conclusion.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2010

    Yes, it's darker than most, but still worthy.

    When I started Burn, I wasn't too excited by the plot because I read the reviews of it here. I love the parks and I enjoy Anna's adventures. I just finished reading and I couldn't disagree more with those of you that found this book awful. I enjoyed this book immensely. Yes, it's a dark story, it takes place in a city (as Liberty Falling did) and it's a gutsy, refreshing change of pace from the high drama of the back country. How many times can Anna get beaten to a pulp in the woods without it getting trite and obvious? Even I have to admit, as a huge fan, it was getting a bit formulaic for me. I think Nevada has done a great job of moving the story of Anna's life along through the series. I appreciate that Anna is growing older, and perhaps slightly less selfish with Paul. I commend Nevada for attempting to share the importance of all of the parks in her novels, not just the big Western ones. Sadly, I feel most people forget about the urban parks... Golden Gate, Independence, pretty much all of D.C. As far as Anna's future, I can see how the author may be trying to wind the character down. She has to retire at some point and I think the past few books are heading in that direction. A long distance marriage, administrative leave, will Anna have one more adventure before she leaves the park service to be with Paul or will she even have that opportunity after Paul's chilly silence at the end of Burn? All of the haters may get their wish soon... no more Anna. I hope I am dead wrong.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    Disturbing and disappointing!

    I have read all of Nevada Barr's books. I found Burn disturbing and not up to par with her other novels. I hope she gets on track with her next novel and puts Anna Pigeon back out in the National Parks and not in the dark side of New Orleans.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2010

    VERY DISAPPOINTING!

    Waited not too patiently for Nevada Barr's new book. What a disappointment! We have read and reread all of her books. Not any more. She's off our list of authors. My husband couldn't even make it half way through this book, "Burn." I finished it because I like to know about the recurring characters. I'm as up-to-date as I'll ever get; I miss them already. Oh well, off to find another favorite author. PS: I know this is hard to believe. If I hadn't read the book, I wouldn't believe it either. If you have to find out for yourself, I recommend getting the book from the Library before you spend your money on it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2010

    Was this a ghost writer??

    As much as I've loved all of the Anna Pigeon series, this was one of the worst books I've ever attempted to read. Never mind the dark subject matter, the sentence syntax didn't even make sense. Surely she sluffed this off on someone else to write because it was really, really bad or perhaps it's her new editors. Hopefully Nevada Barr will get back to the open spaces and national parks she knows best. I've come to expect so much better from her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    Difficult read because of subject

    I really like Nevada Barr's books and particularly her character, Anna Pigeon. Anna seems very real in her feelings and emotions. I thought this plot was particularly intriguing because of the interplay between the three main characters but difficult to read because of the child pornography aspect. Nevada Barr doesn't seem to hold back in describing what happens (not knowing much about child pornography it's difficult to say if she holds back or not, but I found it very disturbing) which is good because the more subjects like this are brought into the light, the better we can fight them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    i enjoyed this

    But it was dark and definately not the usual Anna Pigeon. I really prefer the ones set in the national parks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Couldn't put it down!

    I love Nevada Barr and I love Anna Pidgion. Yes, the suject matter of this novel is dark and creepy, but this suthor has always mined the nastier elements of human nature...one of the reasons her work is so intriguing. I too love Anna in the wilds of nature, but the wilds of New Orleans are wonderfully atmospheric, and Ms. Barr brings the sleazy Big Easy to life as effectively as she does the forests, deserts and caves in which Anna has been in peril in the past. Navada Barr is currently living in New Orleans. It would be unimaginable that she not use that sureal tapestry as a fictional setting. I love how Anna is evolving. She is aging and married, but still fiesty, independant and willing to take on anyone who would harm creatures of any species. Some mystery series protagonists never evolve. Eventually the author and readers get bored with them. Anna gets more and more interesting. Thank you, Nevada Barr, please keep 'em coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    A story that stays with you

    I love anna pigeon but to truthful, once i finish one, I only remember a little about the plots. This one was totally different. Maybe it is because child abuse and explotation is such a real thing and an uncomfortable thing, but this story is a gutsy and well written story. The true hero of the story is not Anna but Claire. It is a haunting story that is maybe a little too real for all the people who gave it a bad review. If you are looking for a fluffy who done it, this is not for you. If you are looking for a good gritty mystery, please give it a read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Didn't care for this one

    I read all of the Anna Pidgeon series, but this one was a little too weird for me. Maybe the topic was a little off

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    There are times Barr gets hideously intense and it is very diffi

    There are times Barr gets hideously intense and it is very difficult to keep reading (Winter Study is a case in point). This one is a bit different. In this case, the depravity of the situation Anna faces is apallling and downright revolting. I don't know if it has a real life counterpart, although I'm afraid it probably does in the dark recesses of some of our cities. But yet, there is one thing about this book that is absolutely incredible and that is the Claire Sullivan character. You have to get well into the book to appreciate Claire as anything but a very strange person, but once you get far enough, you find that Barr has created a rather exquisitely-drawn character. After it starts to come together who she is and why she is doing what she is doing, then you find you have to finish because she simply has to prevail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Sick!

    This is a very sick, sick story! Don't go there!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This was a excellent story. It took me a little while to get into it, as she cut the characters stories into two different stories and then merged them together. But, it is a must read! I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    A Disappointment

    Having read most of the Anna Pigeon series, I have always enjoyed the National Park settings of the stories. However, this story was too dark for me and frankly I stopped reading. If Anna returns to the parks, maybe I will too, but voodoo, underage sex acts by minors in dark seedy New Orleans bars, etc just turned me off. Anna, get back to work where you belong!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    Barr's writing continues to grow

    Like Barr's novel 13 1/2 this Anna Pigeon mystery is set in Post Katrina New Orleans. It is unusual for AP mysteries to change POV but it works here. Another great adventure for our favorite park ranger.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    Not the usual Anna Pigeon

    I've read every book by Nevada Barr. Some I've liked more than others, but the subject matter of Burn was way too dark. While well written, it didn't need to be so specific regarding the exploitation of children. It literally made me sick. I will look closer at the next book to make sure that the subject matter is what I will enjoy. Hopefully Nevada Barr hasn't alienated her many fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    Abilene

    Enjoyed this book; characters good, NO setting always fun and was a fast read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5