Customer Reviews for

The Burn Journals

Average Rating 4
( 184 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(105)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful book, must read!

The Burn Journals by Brent Runyon was an incredible book. All 325 pages of the book were so important, they were bits of his life. This book is unique, I feel like it gives people an inside to what people with depression go through and how they deal with it. I really en...
The Burn Journals by Brent Runyon was an incredible book. All 325 pages of the book were so important, they were bits of his life. This book is unique, I feel like it gives people an inside to what people with depression go through and how they deal with it. I really enjoyed that the author told it as it is, he didn't try and cover it with frosting. He told the true story and that takes a lot of courage. I don't think the author did anything to stray from the subject. I liked this book a lot, it opened up my eyes to I guess something that most people judge on, and I think it made me understand and be more open minded. I would say this book is appropriate for reading to people who are mature, it's not a light matter and you have to be ready for that. Parts of the book get a bit gruesome, so be prepared for that, but overall it's great!

posted by Igordova on March 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

This is an incredible book! You have to read it!!!!!

The Burn Journals
By Brent Runyon

My Book Rating: B-

When Brent Runyon, a fourteen year old boy, sets himself on fire for a reason he cannot even remember, his whole life is changed forever. He must go through many different kinds of hospitals in order to attem...
The Burn Journals
By Brent Runyon

My Book Rating: B-

When Brent Runyon, a fourteen year old boy, sets himself on fire for a reason he cannot even remember, his whole life is changed forever. He must go through many different kinds of hospitals in order to attempt to get his life back. Although Brent knows he will never be the same mentally, he must believe that he can restore himself physically. Through Brent's long and painful journey, he finally realizes that he is and had always been loved and needed by his family and friends.

In The Burn Journal, Brent Runyon is able to write an incredibly true story about the most painful point in his life. He wrote about his suicide attempt and how he overcame it. Brent's purpose for writing this book is to help show and explain how horrible and pointless suicide is. He wants his readers to know and understand that the people in their life love and care for them.

The author, Brent Runyon, has a very important goal for this book and himself. He hoped that by writing this book he could explain, even if only to himself, how and why his depression and recovery worked the way they did. He wanted to finally put it all at rest and to never have to worry and stress about it again.

The Burn Journals is extremely different compared to others on the subject. The Burn Journals is much more detailed than many other books on the same topic. Many times books about suicide do not go into too much detail because they do not want to scare their audience. The Burn Journals is different because it is so well revealed and the story is so well written that the reader feels as if they were actually witnessing the story live. The Burn Journals allows for it's audience to feel the pain Brent had to go through and understand the reasoning behind it.

I rated this book a B- because although it teaches a major lesson, it is also a little strange at certain parts. For example, Brent uses a lot of foul language in his vocabulary. Usually I can take a little curse words in the books I read, but The Burn Journals just has way too many. Other than that, the book is a very interesting read. I definitely enjoyed reading The Burn Journals.

The Burn Journals is an incredible book that everyone should read. It teaches the reader so much, which should always be an author's goal. When the reader puts down the book, they will walk away full of useful knowledge. I would definitely recommend this book to someone else because of the immense power and strength that radiates off the book. The Burn Journals is an extremely powerful novel that teaches some of the most important things about life.

posted by kk1234 on January 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    This is an incredible book! You have to read it!!!!!

    The Burn Journals
    By Brent Runyon

    My Book Rating: B-

    When Brent Runyon, a fourteen year old boy, sets himself on fire for a reason he cannot even remember, his whole life is changed forever. He must go through many different kinds of hospitals in order to attempt to get his life back. Although Brent knows he will never be the same mentally, he must believe that he can restore himself physically. Through Brent's long and painful journey, he finally realizes that he is and had always been loved and needed by his family and friends.

    In The Burn Journal, Brent Runyon is able to write an incredibly true story about the most painful point in his life. He wrote about his suicide attempt and how he overcame it. Brent's purpose for writing this book is to help show and explain how horrible and pointless suicide is. He wants his readers to know and understand that the people in their life love and care for them.

    The author, Brent Runyon, has a very important goal for this book and himself. He hoped that by writing this book he could explain, even if only to himself, how and why his depression and recovery worked the way they did. He wanted to finally put it all at rest and to never have to worry and stress about it again.

    The Burn Journals is extremely different compared to others on the subject. The Burn Journals is much more detailed than many other books on the same topic. Many times books about suicide do not go into too much detail because they do not want to scare their audience. The Burn Journals is different because it is so well revealed and the story is so well written that the reader feels as if they were actually witnessing the story live. The Burn Journals allows for it's audience to feel the pain Brent had to go through and understand the reasoning behind it.

    I rated this book a B- because although it teaches a major lesson, it is also a little strange at certain parts. For example, Brent uses a lot of foul language in his vocabulary. Usually I can take a little curse words in the books I read, but The Burn Journals just has way too many. Other than that, the book is a very interesting read. I definitely enjoyed reading The Burn Journals.

    The Burn Journals is an incredible book that everyone should read. It teaches the reader so much, which should always be an author's goal. When the reader puts down the book, they will walk away full of useful knowledge. I would definitely recommend this book to someone else because of the immense power and strength that radiates off the book. The Burn Journals is an extremely powerful novel that teaches some of the most important things about life.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    The book The Burn Journal by Brent Runyon is absolutely a book f

    The book The Burn Journal by Brent Runyon is absolutely a book for teenage boys. I found that the author was very immature and never really took into consideration the effect his actions had on his family and friends. I do not think it was a very well written book and I would prefer the book if the author was a little more sensitive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Have you ever considered committing suicide before. The book The

    Have you ever considered committing suicide before. The book The Burn Journals by Brent Runyon is about him trying to kill himself by burning himself. One day at school he lit a pack of matches on fire in the locker room, and started a shirt on fire. Then a teacher found out, and called Brent's parents and his life would be over. So instead of his parents hurting him, he wanted to hurt himself. Brent went home from school that day, drenched his bathrobe in gasoline, put it on and lit a match, but it hurt him so much he turned on the shower because he was in the bathtub. When he woke up he was laying in a hospital bed with third-degree burns over 85 percent of his body. He spent every day recovering in rehab facilities and hospitals for seven months. Everyday he’d get up, and lay there all day. Then once removed from the hospital he goes back home to his normal life. The theme of this book is expressed through the tone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Imagine of being so guilty of something, you light yourself on f

    Imagine of being so guilty of something, you light yourself on fire. The Burn Journals by Brent Runyon is sad and funny. This is a true story about a boy who has tried to kill himself by just the flick of a match. The main characters name is Brent and he is also the author of the book. The book is about Brent recovering in the hospital and all of the new friends he made. He is falling in love with one of the nurses that take care of him. This author has a very unique way of writing. If you are going through a rough time don’t take it out on yourself, tell someone. I enjoyed this book because it was kind of a mystery about if he is going to live after what happened and how will he recover. I would recommend this book for teenage girls/boys because I think they would enjoy the suspense.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    He wakes up and sees that he is covered in burns, some of his sk

    He wakes up and sees that he is covered in burns, some of his skin is even burned off. Having to deal with the burns, the pain, serious surgery... all because he didn’t want to be here anymore. Brent Runyon went into his bathroom, put on a bathrobe and pour gasoline all over his body and lit himself on fire. Runyon realizes the pain he caused himself and his family and he thinks “Why would I even think of doing this to myself?” I enjoyed this book because it goes into great detail about his experience and really shows that you need to think before you do something so irrational. Any type or gender in their teen-aged years would enjoy this book because a lot could relate to the authors feelings. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    To below

    That is so sad. It is common to feel like that though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Burn journal

    I had read the sample only but i lo e it so far

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Is it scary??

    Is it really scart or is it just scary that sombody eould kill tgem self?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Burn Journals

    A little repeatitive, a little bland, but having been in an accident myself and having to have skin grafting, it was very relatable and true. It didn't seem that the author made any progress though in his experience. It never clarifies why he was so unhappy (even if he didn't know) and I think that resolution would have added to the meaning and story overall. Good book though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Hmm

    This is really good book but thr end is horrible. I feel like its missing a chapter. ):

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    Taking Survival to a Whole New Level

    Have you ever cheated death before? Brent Runyon author of The Burn Journals knows exactly what it is like. The main issue that Brent is presenting in this book is that Brent attempts to commit suicide by lighting himself on fire because he has so many school and personal problems. Miraculously, he survives. His book is showing his experience by emotionally and physically overcoming his conditions.
    This book is written as a memoir and the style is written almost like a journal (hence the title). Brent’s purpose for writing this is not to make the reader feel sad or sorry for him but to show you can overcome anything, even death. Brent is approaching this topic as a journalist writing as much detail as he can about his experience. Teens that are enduring hardships is the audience for this book. As a reader, I see the author relate to a struggling teen very well.
    Details and feelings are clearly shown in this book. He is making you feel like you are dealing with this tragedy. The author achieves his goal by improving emotionally and physically, but also performing a normal life again. On page sixteen Brent is proving how easy it is to let life slip away from just a few bumps on the road. “I have this guilt feeling all over me, like oil on one of those birds in Alaska.” Brent is proving that he learning his lesson slowly. Compared to other books this particular one has a very deep and complex feeling to it. I love the detail and how the author reaches the reader heart-to-heart. However, I do not like how the author includes unnecessary thoughts that have nothing to do with the main point.
    I noticed that while I was reading the afterword of the book he talks about his life now as an adult and how he still has minor depression from time to time. He says that he has thought about suicide again which proves that even with all the counselors and medical treatment, he still has not fully recovered mentally. The theme in the afterword and throughout the book is to look before you fall which means to think about what you’re doing before you do because it could change and impact your entire life. It also shows how powerful the mind is when you go through an experience like this and has the ability to haunt you and stay by you forever no matter how much help you get.

    In conclusion, I believe this dark; in depth book will leave you feeling heartbroken but at the same time, strong because you have seen, based on evidence, that you can achieve anything with just a little hope and faith. I encourage everyone to read this book when it seems as if you have lost everything or you are going through a tough phase or depression. It will make you realize that you are not alone and there is a better path to choose than killing yourself and taking yourself from the world, because it is not your life to take. God has given you a gift of life and your gift back to Him is the choices you make on how you live it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    Great Book!!!

    In Brent Runyon’s memoir The Burn Journals he tells his true recollection of the faithless afternoon he ignites himself into flames, the only true escape. He has burned most of his body and Runyon shares the pain and suffering he went through to recover from his mistake. Also he shares what it is like to actually want to kill yourself and what happens once you decide to do it.
    This truly is an inspiring book of one boy’s mistake and the many challenges he faces to fix it. It is one I will never forget, an uprising recollection of the will to live and the effects suicide can have on himself, friends, family and peers around him.
    The part of the book I liked the best was the message and emotion behind it all, along with the recount of a boy’s will to live and recovery. The part of the book I liked the least was the reaction of the characters and the main character’s (Runyon) emotions toward other people. I feel that even if this was a true story that there must have been more emotions and feelings that occurred in the real situation then he actually cared to share in his book. Also while reading I found many of his actions to be quite distasteful and I do not understand why he chose to do such things. For example in the hospital during recovery, he did many things that were not needed. He cares only for whether he looks okay or that he can still do this with a girl, he uses foul language every chance he gets, and shared some very personal actions that I do not think the rest of the world needed to hear. Many of the things he did focused on the demands of the male gender and were not appropriate for a younger audience. Why wouldn’t he be focused on his recovery? Instead he focused on disgusting things/actions that should have not mattered to him at the time.
    Brent Runyon was able to capture an amazing recount of a true story that occurred to him so many years ago of a recovered suicide. I hope to see other stories from this fulfilling author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2008

    its a good book

    Burn Journals<BR/><BR/> Brent Runyon is a graduate of Ithaca Collage. He is a regular contributor to public radio programs, including this American life, where portions of this story first appeared. He lives on Cape Cod, Massachusetts, and is at work on his first novel. <BR/> Brent Runyon is smart boy when he was young. But he hates school, loves his friends who is girls and boy. Came home form his school, doused his bathrobe in gasoline, put it on, and lit a mach. After that he went to the hospital to do some surgery because he suffered third degree burns over 85 percent of his body. He did the surgery very well. He did a lot of party with friends such as his birthday and he meet magic Jansen. Finally he went back to his school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book is a memoir of Brent Runyon during his final attempt at suicide and his journey to recovery. Brent¿s parents had high expectations of him since he was in a program for smart and talented students, but as he progressed into middle school his life changed, and problems seemed to get worse. Brent `s first two suicides consisted of overdosing on everyday pain killers and another incident included slitting his wrist and hoping he would die bleeding to death, but unfortunately wasn¿t able to succeed. One day Brent accidently burned a t-shirt in the locker-room gym of his school and knows he will eventually be suspended once caught. After school Brent decides to pour gasoline all over his body and light a match. His goal in doing this is to DIE quickly hoping to rid his life of life¿s everyday pain. He also decides by lighting himself on fire he won¿t be able to undo it, until he realizes how much it hurts and then tries to undo the fire. The book then goes into great detail about his recovery, where he learns that people really do care for him and is thankful he survived. 85% of Brent¿s body was severely burnt. I¿ve heard great reviews about this book and had high expectations but sadly it disappointed me, however, I do not recommend this book to anybody under the age of 12 for its maturity level.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book is about a 13 year old boy named Brent. In the beginning of this book Brent explains through his thoughts that he is kind of like the 'black sheep' in his family. He also tells us that he was once popular until he dropped out of a program for real smart kids. One day he was in his gym class and one boy had brought a box of matches to school and was lighting the matches. He took the box of matches and wanted to know what would happen if you light the matches up all at the same time. So he did it. While the box was burning he tosses it into a locker quickly and it catches fire to a t-shirt that is in the locker. After the shirt burns the fire goes out. A few days later he was called to the principal's office and is questioned. He lies about the locker situation and says that he doesn¿t know anything about it. That same day when he was going home he tells a girl that he is going to kill himself. When he gets home he goes into the garage and gets gasoline and goes upstairs to his room. He puts on bath robe and these boxer with glow-in-the-dark lips on them goes into the bathroom pours the gasoline on him self and lights himself on fire.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1