Customer Reviews for

The Burn Journals

Average Rating 4
( 184 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(105)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful book, must read!

The Burn Journals by Brent Runyon was an incredible book. All 325 pages of the book were so important, they were bits of his life. This book is unique, I feel like it gives people an inside to what people with depression go through and how they deal with it. I really en...
The Burn Journals by Brent Runyon was an incredible book. All 325 pages of the book were so important, they were bits of his life. This book is unique, I feel like it gives people an inside to what people with depression go through and how they deal with it. I really enjoyed that the author told it as it is, he didn't try and cover it with frosting. He told the true story and that takes a lot of courage. I don't think the author did anything to stray from the subject. I liked this book a lot, it opened up my eyes to I guess something that most people judge on, and I think it made me understand and be more open minded. I would say this book is appropriate for reading to people who are mature, it's not a light matter and you have to be ready for that. Parts of the book get a bit gruesome, so be prepared for that, but overall it's great!

posted by Igordova on March 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

This is an incredible book! You have to read it!!!!!

The Burn Journals
By Brent Runyon

My Book Rating: B-

When Brent Runyon, a fourteen year old boy, sets himself on fire for a reason he cannot even remember, his whole life is changed forever. He must go through many different kinds of hospitals in order to attem...
The Burn Journals
By Brent Runyon

My Book Rating: B-

When Brent Runyon, a fourteen year old boy, sets himself on fire for a reason he cannot even remember, his whole life is changed forever. He must go through many different kinds of hospitals in order to attempt to get his life back. Although Brent knows he will never be the same mentally, he must believe that he can restore himself physically. Through Brent's long and painful journey, he finally realizes that he is and had always been loved and needed by his family and friends.

In The Burn Journal, Brent Runyon is able to write an incredibly true story about the most painful point in his life. He wrote about his suicide attempt and how he overcame it. Brent's purpose for writing this book is to help show and explain how horrible and pointless suicide is. He wants his readers to know and understand that the people in their life love and care for them.

The author, Brent Runyon, has a very important goal for this book and himself. He hoped that by writing this book he could explain, even if only to himself, how and why his depression and recovery worked the way they did. He wanted to finally put it all at rest and to never have to worry and stress about it again.

The Burn Journals is extremely different compared to others on the subject. The Burn Journals is much more detailed than many other books on the same topic. Many times books about suicide do not go into too much detail because they do not want to scare their audience. The Burn Journals is different because it is so well revealed and the story is so well written that the reader feels as if they were actually witnessing the story live. The Burn Journals allows for it's audience to feel the pain Brent had to go through and understand the reasoning behind it.

I rated this book a B- because although it teaches a major lesson, it is also a little strange at certain parts. For example, Brent uses a lot of foul language in his vocabulary. Usually I can take a little curse words in the books I read, but The Burn Journals just has way too many. Other than that, the book is a very interesting read. I definitely enjoyed reading The Burn Journals.

The Burn Journals is an incredible book that everyone should read. It teaches the reader so much, which should always be an author's goal. When the reader puts down the book, they will walk away full of useful knowledge. I would definitely recommend this book to someone else because of the immense power and strength that radiates off the book. The Burn Journals is an extremely powerful novel that teaches some of the most important things about life.

posted by kk1234 on January 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful book, must read!

    The Burn Journals by Brent Runyon was an incredible book. All 325 pages of the book were so important, they were bits of his life. This book is unique, I feel like it gives people an inside to what people with depression go through and how they deal with it. I really enjoyed that the author told it as it is, he didn't try and cover it with frosting. He told the true story and that takes a lot of courage. I don't think the author did anything to stray from the subject. I liked this book a lot, it opened up my eyes to I guess something that most people judge on, and I think it made me understand and be more open minded. I would say this book is appropriate for reading to people who are mature, it's not a light matter and you have to be ready for that. Parts of the book get a bit gruesome, so be prepared for that, but overall it's great!

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Wow

    This book was on my nook under the heading "teen "angst". I had not seen that particular selection before and decided to check out tge selectiohs. I'm glad i did.
    This book is written in the first person and follows a teenage boy who tries to kill himself with fire. What a frightening thought! I can't imagine the pain of the fire and the pain of reliving it in the words written on these pages.
    As a mom, it scares me to think that such a thing is possible. That such a talented child would think that death was the only option.
    It was heartbreaking to feel the pain in Brent's words; to imagine the pain his parents suffered watching him go through recovery.
    My only reason for not giving this book 5 stars is because of the frequent f-bombs. This book was both easy to read and hard to read at the same time. Sad, scary.....impossible to put down.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    The book The Burn Journals by Brent Runyon that I would recommen

    The book The Burn Journals by Brent Runyon that I would recommend to male teens over 14 years of age. I think that has  very good descriptions of what a teenage boy thinks about suicide and outside situations that may be uncomfortable for female reader. I give this book a 4/5   




    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    The Burn Journals by Brent Runyon is very personal book.  This b

    The Burn Journals by Brent Runyon is very personal book.  This book shows a lot of his emotions, but are more negative emotions.   What I really liked about this book is that it teaches young teenagers about what thoughts/actions about suicide can do to you.  It helps readers, such as teenagers who are struggling with self-doubt.  Suicide can affect the people around you, it takes a lot of recovery processes to go through.  There was some parts in particular that was very inappropriate and uncomfortable if you are a girl reading this book because he is a teenage boy he goes deep into parts.  This inspires me to help people who have suicidal problems.  This book will leave you with different outlooks on life after done reading Burn Journals by Brent Runyon especially if you are struggling in life.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    The Burn journals by Brent Runyon was good because Runyon gives

    The Burn journals by Brent Runyon was good because Runyon gives you detail of what he went through in recovering from his attempted suicide. Maybe Runyon shouldn't have put too much detail in his book. I recommend this book not to be read by girls, I guess for everyone else its okay because he’s a teenage boy. Oh, and also not for boys under 10 years old maybe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    How can I?

    I have considered suicide so many times. I have scars from cutting myself. Cutting myself just somehow made me feel better about myself. Soon I realized I was bisexual. I knew my parents could never accept me if I told them. They don't understand the way I feel. I can't help if I think girls are cute. I just don't know what to do. I'm considering overdose.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    There¿s thick black smoke in the air. The burning gasoline all o

    There’s thick black smoke in the air. The burning gasoline all over my body. It hurts so badly. This is where it all begins. The Burn Journals by Brent Runyan is about a boy who has all these depressing feelings and is always trying to kill himself. And one day he decided to dose his bathrobe in gasoline and set him on fire. Once he realized what he was doing was stupid he called for help and his brother Craig called 911. He was in treatment at the Children’s Hospital for about 5 months and then moved to a different hospital for therapy for four months. After he got released he started having a tutor and in the end started going to regular high school. Throughout the whole book he tells the reader with a sarcastic, but angry tone: his happy memories, his regrets, and why he decided to set himself on fire. Which starts creating the theme of the book. When people are having all these feelings they shouldn't keep it to themselves and bottle it up: they should open the bottle and let it all out and tell someone. I enjoyed this book because there was a lot of tension whether he was going to get better or not. I would recommend this book for teenage boys because it shows if they ever decided to do anything like Brent did how to get through it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Emily

    I cant lend you book unless i know your full information(last name email etc)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    The Burning Memoir

    In this thought-provoking memoir by Brent Runyon a true story is told through grim details and the mindset of a fourteen-year-old boy. The Burn Journals is written in the first-person view of Brent, as he struggles to recover from an attempted suicide, after he sets himself on fire in 1991. He endures a long journey of rehabilitation physically and mentally. Along the way, every little triumph is a huge victory in his battle. His struggle ends with hope and a new beginning. Brent Runyon’s story is written in a way that is moving to anyone who may come across it.

    One of the most important aspects of the book is the unique way it is written. Even though Brent does not write about his tragedy until he is much older, he rebuilds his thoughts from when he was fourteen. There is some missing information because of this. However, it really allows the reader to understand Brent’s feelings and reasoning. Unfortunately, we are unable to see the author’s current feelings while writing the book. We are also most likely missing certain details from his memory at the time. But these things are blocked out by the strange feeling that occurs when you read this book. It is almost like you are Brent. Another important feature in The Burn Journals is that Brent does not censor his feelings in his writing. This allows for a more emotional and moving story. Every time he feels pain, sorrow, happiness, or confusion, the reader will know. Brent Runyon makes his emotions clear in The Burn Journals.

    In conclusion, The Burn Journals shows the consequences of suicide and desolation like no other book does. Brent Runyon’s story of survival shows strength and courage. It is also a good read for teens because they can relate to Brent’s fourteen-year-old thoughts. If someone were looking for a truly moving memoir, I would certainly recommend The Burn Journals because of its unique style of writing, intense emotional experience, and informative portrayal of suicide. B+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A way to help you find your way

    This was a wonderful book that helps us understand that no matter how hard our life feels, we must always keep in mind that it really isn't that hard. Always think things through, no matter what your motivation is. Brent learned that the hard way. He helped me see that even though we believe that our lives are hard, they really aren't. We always have to look ahead and try our hardest. He helped me put my life into perspective. I loved this book and i recommend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    The Burn Journals

    ¿The Burn Journals¿ ¿ Brent Runyon<BR/>I got The Burn Journals by accident. I picked it up, read the first page and threw it in my book bag. That same day I got bored, started reading and did not stop until I got to page 97. I don¿t usually read past 10 pages of a book at a time but Burn Journals is an extremely quick read. After the first few pages I was hooked. It only took me two days to finish it. The book leaves you wanting more, wanting to know what is next in Brent¿s life. This book takes you so deep into one kids state of depression and life that you feel for him as if he was a friend. Reading this book is like making a new friend. You will never forget it. <BR/>The Burn Journals is an autobiography of eighth grader Brent Runyon. Brent is a particularly smart kid living a normal suburbia live, .. .. it would seem. To most everyone around him Brent is a normal and happy kid, but to himself, Brent is a depressed boy who just wants to ¿go to sleep and not wake up¿. Multiple suicide attempts leave him feeling even more stupid and worthless. <BR/>After a series of events, Brent makes his decision.. ..<BR/>From liking the same girl that his best friend does, being too smart and failing , to a stupid prank at school, he decides he ahs no other choice but to end his misery. Brent makes his journey home from school planning his escape in his head. <BR/>On page 16 Brent drenches his black bathrobe in gasoline, steps into his shower, slides it on and touches the lit match to the sleeve. He suffers #rd degree burns on 85% of his body. <BR/>From page 16 the book reads of his journey to his new mind and new life. Through months of recovery, making lifelong friends, celebrities learning of his story, pompous physiologists rehab, therapy, puberty and life lessons, Brent tells you his story from his own journal and head.<BR/>The Burn Journals is written exactly as a journal would be. Dated entries. Day to day. Paragraphs covering 3 pages to only a solemn one word thought. <BR/>Runyon writes just as a teenage boy would write, think and speak. Throughout the book he uses slang, incomplete and random thoughts, along with a longing self search. Descriptions of Brent¿s injuries are not gruesome, for the faint minded, but vivid enough for you to experience the pain and progress. <BR/>If you fell in love with The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Running with Scissors, Impulse, Crank you will most definitely develop a love for this one too. <BR/><BR/> <BR/>JD

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    What Happened to me!!!

    The story of a Brent Runyon is not your average story but a story that makes you truly beieve in what you have. Brent life is like any other kid, goes to school, home and back again but what makes it so much more different. Brent obviously has problem and decided to end his life by burning himself. When I first read the back of the book, I wasn't really prepared for what was to come. But as I began to read and get more and more into the book it made me see all the things I have to look forward to. This book is rated a 4 to me but will advise anyone who wants a true base story to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2008

    Good, But Not Good For My Classroom

    I recently purchased The Burn Journals for my classroom library. However, after reading this book, I will not be putting it on the shelves for my students to read. While Runyon's compelling story of his depression, attempted suicide, and recovery was powerful and honest, it's too mature for my junior high classroom. If The Burn Journals were a movie, it would probably be given an R rating for its language and sexual content. Also, it would be very interesting to hear this story from Craig's perspective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2008

    Burn Journals!!

    okay, so im reading this book right now with my friend kevin and im a faster reader than he is, so I'm reading this a little faster but its soo soo good and i really love it and the character is hillariouss

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2008

    The Burn Journals

    Brent Runyon, a boy who has everything friends and family that love him. But there is one thing that keeps messing his life up, and that¿s getting in trouble. He hangs out with the wrong people and that gets him in trouble, trouble that he doesn¿t want his parents to find out about. Brent is so adamant about his parents not finding out about him stealing school supplies out of a locker that he is willing to go to extreme levels, extreme enough that he could die. He comes home from school one day and nobody is home except for his brother. Perfect he thinks, now is the time. He goes up to his room puts his bathrobe on, goes in the shower, pours gasoline all over himself and then he lights the match. His goal is to actually die. He can¿t take it anymore so he turns on the shower, the fire goes out and he runs to get his brother, who calls the paramedics. They come and take him to the hospital, where he recovers for 3 months.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2007

    Good read

    His description of his time with the nurses made me laugh at times. Felt sympathy for the guy. Interesting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2007

    Totally awesome!!!

    OMG i thought this book was oustandingly good! Although he tended to repeat hiself soooo mant times in the book but it was really good i just started high school 9th grade to be exact and we had to read that book for my lit and comp class and it is really good im actually doing a project on it now and i would highly reccomend this book to anyone i actually reccommended my friend to read and she did and she is also enjoying it i dont understand though why u would want to set yourself on fire but i guess it was deep depression issues but with the physciatric help im glad he got better i give 4 stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2007

    Enthralling, difficult to put down novel

    This book is a fantastically tragic read. It really gets down to the heart of the epidemic of teenage suicide. I couldn't put it down and read it from start to finish in one sitting. Runyon details a year in his life from the time he decides to set himself on fire until he is ready to head back into the real world. I would recommend this book for teenagers, parents, and teachers alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2006

    Man Looses Wife By Freak Accident

    The book that I¿m reading is a fiction book. The title of the book is called The Dogs of Babel. The author of this book is Carolyn Parkhurst. The book is about a couple who was torn apart by a freak accident. The accident occurs on a warm and sunny day, Lexy Ransome climbed to the top of the apple tree. She plumed to her death. There were no witnesses around to hear her or see her, except their dog {Lorelei}. Lorelei was barking differently. Their neighbor Jim Perasso heard the dog barking in a different way than usually. He was the one that discovered the body. When Paul called his house to see how his wife was. To his surprise a strange voice answered their home phone. He said to the voice on the other line if he could speak with Lexy his wife. Then the stranger told him ¿who is this¿ Paul answered this is her husband. Then the stranger told him his name, Detective Anthony Stack and that he should come home quickly because there has been a terrible accident. When he got home there were police officers and detectives around his house investigating. He finally met the detective that answered his house phone. The detective told Paul that they receive a called from their neighbor Jim Perasso stating that he heard their dog {Lorelei} barking. That¿s how they discovered Lexy¿s body lying on the ground. He wonders what really happened that day, whether it was a really a desires for apples that led his sweet wife to climb the top of that tree. Lorelei the dog is the only witness, not just to Lexy¿s death itself but to all the leading up to it. Through this journey you will learn the answered or the key that Paul will use to open it¿s their ¿dog Lorelei¿. What I like about this novel is that it is mysterious, and it tells the story in such a way that is easy to identify with the character. This novel also describes how this man deals with the loss of his wife. The novel also gives the descriptions of how he remembers how much he loved her, and the different moments that he spent with her. This book portrays how Paul Iverson is determined to find the key to solve this freak accident by making experiments on Lorelei their dog. Just looking at his determination lets you, the reader see that he believes that these experiments will work. I would recommend this novel to anyone who might be interested in reading Fictional books. I think this fictional novel brings the reader some sort curiosity to your mind.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2005

    great read!

    a great read, rather than the author telling why he set himself on fire, he lets us take a look at his personal recovery from his days at the burn care unit until his first days in high school. he shares his own thoughts with pure honesty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2