Customer Reviews for

Burn Out (Sharon McCone Series #25)

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    Marcia Muller; Burn Out

    From the first time I picked up one of Ms Muller's books, I was ready for the next one. And some of those first books were about a quarter the size of the current offerings so it has been interesting to see how this author has grown in abilities. My only problem is that there can sometimes be a very long wait until her next book comes out. But i'll be waiting ofr it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sharon McCone is Multi-faceted

    Sharon McCone, the main character, doesn't really grow a lot until later in her life. She seems to drift their her life and control it and is quite successful as a businesswomen, but the more you read her, the more you see her growing as a women, human being, she's a much wiser soul now. I have read all 25 books and have just finished "Locked In" which goes in a direction that is shocking, but I suggest starting from the beginning and get to her know her. She is very much like us, good and bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    Muller's 'Burn Out'

    Fans of Marcia Muller's Sharon McCone series will like how this book ties up the lose ends left by her last book. Was Sharon going to leave the business she loved? Was the violence and nastiness she faces going to be her undoing. Where was her relationship with Hy going?
    These questions were answered and we saw a new side of McCone. The characters were developed well and it kept me reading right through to the end. Thank you again Marcia Muller for a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    Page turner...

    Marcia Muller<BR/>Grand Central Publishing, 2008<BR/>ISBN: 0446581070<BR/>Reviewed by Debra Gaynor for ReviewYourBook.com, 11/08<BR/>5 stars<BR/><BR/>Burn Out was the perfect sequel to Ever Running Man. However, Burn Out does stand well alone. Marcia Muller has a talent for developing characters and keeping them sharp. <BR/>Sharon McCone was a strong woman that needed rest. Following her brush with death, she retired to her husband¿s ranch to recoup. After her ordeal in Ever Running Man, she is considering closing her practice and retiring. We cannot have that happen. We would miss our favorite detective. <BR/>The change of scenery must have been good for Sharon, because right away she was drawn into another investigation. One of the ranch manager¿s nieces was found murdered, and the other is missing along with her mother. Sharon is determined to find the missing girl. The investigation takes Sharon into the Nevada desert. Before the story ends, she is searching her Shoshone roots. Marcia Muller never disappoints her readers. Her plot is plausible and captured my interest. I kept turning the pages, eagerly await the next bit of story. Fans of mystery will enjoy Burn Out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Muller Hits Another Home with Sharon McCone

    BURN OUT<BR/>Marcia Muller<BR/>Grand Central Publishing<BR/>Hachette Book Group<BR/>$24.99 ¿ Hardback<BR/>ISBN: 978-0-446-58107-3<BR/>309 pages<BR/>Reviewer: Annie Slessman<BR/><BR/>Sharon McCone, the main character of BURN OUT by Marcia Muller owns a private investigation service and has worked one to many cases. She is burned out and needs a break. She takes that break at a ranch she owns in California¿s high desert country. <BR/><BR/>Determined not to do another investigation, her resolve is softened when her ranch manager¿s niece is murdered and another niece is missing. McCone¿s friendship with her ranch manager and his wife draws her into a commitment to both find the murderer of his niece and to find the missing child. During her investigation, she also finds her drive to once again engage the work she is meant to do.<BR/><BR/>The storyline is a good one....the characterizations, vivid and believable. One feels an interactive quality while reading the story and the want to continually turn the page is ever present.<BR/><BR/>The character of Sharon McCone is not a new one. She first appeared in 1977 has lead to THE EVER-RUNNING MAN, Muller¿s 25th novel which was quoted in The Chicago Tribune as ¿one of the treasurers of the genre.¿ <BR/><BR/>For the mystery readers out there, this one would be considered a must read. For those who just like a good story, well told, this is your book as well.<BR/><BR/>In addition to the Sharon McCone novels, Muller is the author of three novels set in the fictional Soledad County, a remote stretch of the northern California coast. The Washington Post has cited Muller¿s work, Cape Perdido as one of the best mysteries of 2005. Muller lives with her husband, mystery writer Bill Pronzini, in northern California.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2008

    perfect follow up to the excellent Ever Running Man

    Still struggling from her harrowing experience (see THE EVER RUNNING MAN), depressed San Francisco based private investigator Sharon McCone decides to get some R&R at her Yosemite ranch while musing about her future. McCone wonders if perhaps it is time to quit the field operations sleuthing business and become a 100 percent executive desk potato she knows she is fortunate to be alive as she suffers from post traumatic stress disorder. However, the ranch quickly proves tedious especially after the adrenaline higher than Nob Hill war she just fought. She soon gets involved in the case of her ranch manager Ramon Perez¿s nieces and their mother. One niece Haley was murdered while the other Amy and their alcoholic mother Miri vanished. McCone looks at the dysfunctional interrelationships between the family, but soon looks wider when two more murders and an apparent suicide seemingly but loosely related occur. --- BURN OUT is a perfect follow up to the excellent EVER RUNNING MAN especially enlightening is McCone¿s inner thoughts re field work as she remains shook up from the recent traumatic events. Her spouse Hy Ripinsky, who feels guilt over what he put his wife through in the EVER RUNNING MAN, assists her though he would prefer she retire her Shoshone family also helps on the case as the story line turns into a solid whodunit while McCone remains hesitant between desk and field. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1